We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location”
Review of Morgan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan Hotel
Ranked #81 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We've stayed here twice in the past four years and love it. We first stayed in a two bedroom apartment in the " annex", a couple of buildings down Bloomsbury Rd, and most recently stayed in a double room in the main building. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. John and his son David are great hosts, especially when talking you into extra bacon with your eggs at breakfast. The location is great, 5 minutes from Tottenham Court tube, virtually next to the British Museum, and surrounded by good pubs. Make sure you try the Malabar Indian restaurant nearby - it was fantastic!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank QueenJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    235
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
93
195
74
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our fourth stay at The Morgan Hotel, the last 3 times have been good mainly because of the Location, But this time the service has also come up a notch and we got a different room.
Normally I like to stay in the same room when we visit hotels more than once, the room we normally had was 203, very basic (bed, ensuite, tv cupboard) but for some reason I thought it was room 204 and when we arrived and got taken to room 204 we were like, great mistake, The room was similar to 203 but had a little sitting area and outside area (which is on camera in the office).
Since our last visit the rooms have been given a good makeover (from previous pictures on Tripadvisor), My sister and her family were also staying at The Morgan Hotel and we had booked a triple room, we were all dreading the stair climb, but they were put in the annex building a few doors down, their room was also great, very clean and had a little meals area and a fridge (something I miss in most hotels and b&b's), they had no problem with the short walk to breakfast, which was the busiest I've seen in all our stays there.
David was there a lot more this time and I found the service had improved greatly, right down to him going outside and getting us a taxi (last time took nearly an hour in peak time).
We only had two complaints about our room, the first night the shower would not warm up and we had rather cool showers and the other thing was the toilet would not flush properly, we complained about the shower and it was fixed that day, they were already aware of the toilet issue.
You can probably guess that we will be back for a fifth visit one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hippo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

With quiet neighbours like we had,nights were peaceful but beware if you are a light sleeper as walls are paper thin! you might not be so lucky!Basic,comfortable room with bottle of water,TV and everything needed for a weekend break.Staff friendly and cheerful.Breakfast is good but a bit on the meagre side:ONE egg,ONE half tomato,ONE slice of bacon etc,...suited my own small appetite but could be a bit minimalist for others- especially when you have a day of trekking around London ahead of you!
A bit reminiscent of childhood holidays in B&Bs by the sea in the 70's- which had their own charm.
All in all,a pleasant experience and certainly an excellent location for seeing Central London.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank catsnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I hate to give anything but a glowing review for Morgan House. We have thought of it as our home from home when in London, as we've stayed stayed there a couple of times in the past. Let me start with the really good things - Location! You can pretty much walk everywhere from the Bloomsbury location and if not, the bus stop is literally at the front door of the apartments, and the tube is about a 10 minute walk. We stayed (again) in one of the apartments, and it's lovely to have a whole flat to yourselves. Ours, this time, was on the ground floor with a lovely new bathroom, tiny but functioning kitchen, large bedroom with french doors to the private terrace - a treat, weather permitting - and a nice sized lounge with TV and sofa and chair and writing desk. The lounge is right on the street, but double or triple paned windows really block out the noise. So here's why only 3 stars - the bed is by far the most uncomfortble bed we had on our whole 3 week holiday. I think it must be a slab of stone with 1-inch cotton batting - at least that's what it felt like. It was a queen size, but neither of us had a decent night's sleep for 3 nights and it took a bit of time to work the kinks out after rising. Sorry - but when it's a B&B the B's are important. Breakfast is just average, but very convenient to those staying in the apartments, just a walk down the street to the hotel and in the cellar. So even tho there's terrific things about this shabby chic gem, if they don't replace the mattresses I'm sad to say we won't be returning. For over $300 a night (for an apartment), the bed should be comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ppw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Morgan hotel is beautifully located in the centre of London in the Bloomsbury area. There is a main hotel,and an annex. We were given a double and a single room in the annex. The double room was large, but as it was located in the basement it was dark. The room floors were dirty and there were no extras like shampoo. The single room was equally as dark and a long thin room with a very small bathroom. On the positive side the staff were wonderful and the breakfast filled you for a morning sightseeing. It is great value for money. My advice is to try and book in the main hotel in advance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my second stay at the Morgan Hotel and it was every bit as good as the last stay. We requested the same room as last year in the lower level of the annex. The room is very spacious, with a closet and an open wardrobe with plenty of hangars, a good size bathroom with lots of storage, a small table with two chairs, dishes, cutlery, and a small fridge. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and even though it faced Bloomsbury Street, it was very quiet. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, although not always reliable, and there is a computer with internet access for guest use in the lobby of the main building

Breakfasts are tasty and filling, with a choice of both hot and cold foods. Eggs (however you prefer them made), bacon, sausage, mushrooms, toast, and beans for the hot choices, and cereal, yogurt, juice, and fruit for the cold. John served us most mornings and was there to take our order and bring us juice almost before we sat down.

The Morgan is well situated for theatre, restaurants and exploring London. It is a very short walk from both the Holborn tube station (with direct access to Heathrow) and the Tottenham Court Road station on the Northern line. It is around the corner from the British Museum, and a short walk from Covent Garden.

This is definitely my go-to hotel in London and I hope to be back again really soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLKWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very economical hotel for being so close to everything - restaurants, shops, tube station, buses. This is not a luxurious hotel but clean, beds comfortable, drinking water supplied and staff very helpful. Nice breakfast room with many choices for food. If you have trouble climbing stairs, make sure you ask for a main floor room or it may be too difficult for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#547 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#85 of 1,068 in London
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#534 of 1,068 in London
342 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Property: Morgan Hotel
Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing