We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff of the hotel goes out of there way to assist you and make your stay the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The staff of the hotel goes out of there way to assist you and make your stay the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Everything is very positive about the hotel, the breakfast, the room and the staff were excellent. The location is close to the British museum. It is a great place to land after a day of traveling and start experiencing London.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellowjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    514
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
451
409
324
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The proprietors were friendly and incredibly gracious. They went out of their way to insure that I was comfortable. I arrived early and for that, I was placed in a quiet room in the back of the hotel, which was appreciated as I'm a light sleeper. I have no dietary restrictions, but I overhead several conversations during breakfast where the proprietors made every effort to accommodate guests and their dietary needs. By the way, the breakfast was amazing!

The hotel is located relatively near a tube stop (Goodge St) as well as pubs, restaurants, cafes and drug stores. They keep the front door locked 24/7 so I never felt unsafe during my stay. They have a few internet connected PC's with printer access which makes printing up boarding passes, etc. very convenient. Wireless access worked fairly well around the hotel.

My room was a single and was small with a silly but functional "closet bathroom". This is typical for London, so nothing bad to report here. I found, for the price, the Arosfa to be an great value compared to other places in London that I've stayed. I wouldn't hesitate to return here for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper. Gower St. can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel and staff where great. We loved it. We're a family of 4 and we stayed in one room. Yes it was tight - that's London folks. We are definitely returning to the Arosfa. The price is right, the staff fantastic, breakfast great, the rooms adorable. Paul

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattensen b Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The single room on the second floor with the window to the backyard I had for two nights was very well kept, clean and felt and smelt "light". Although it was small, it was a room I liked to return to.
The service was very great. Even with my allergies to gluten I was served a luxurios breakfast. The staff was very nice, always giving you attention and eager to help.
The location for the price is fantastic. Two tube stations of two line just a short distance away. Fancy a walk? 15 minutes and you are on the Trafalgar Square.
My first choice for my next stay will be the Arosfa!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirocco_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is great value for money. We felt really welcomed when we arrived at the hotel and during our stay. Our room was lovely and clean with a view out onto the garden. Bathroom was compact, but all we needed and clean. Breakfast was also really nice (and included in price) continental and cooked breakfast available. Great location, can walk to Oxford street in under 10mins and close to several tubes - Euston Square and Goodge St closest. Nice and quiet at night. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Arosfa for 3 days at the end of June, and were more than satisfied with our choice to stay there.

To start, the location is great. It’s in a safe, clean, busy neighborhood, but not so busy as to be loud or crowded at night. It’s about a 10 minute walk (or less) to several subway stations, and a very short tube ride to the Westminster/St. James area attractions, and the theatre district. A short walk will take you to the British Museum.

Our room was compact, but certainly not very small or tiny as some of the rooms have been described. It was tastefully decorated, clean, and quiet at night. I’ll admit I did find the bathroom quite small, but it was very modern and clean with a good shower. We never had any trouble getting access to one of the two computers in the common area to use the internet.

What really sets this hotel apart, and made it one of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed at was the fantastic, personable service. Tessa greeted us warmly as soon as we arrived, and the great service continued throughout our stay. Tessa and the other staff always took time to assist us with any aspect or our trip – telling us which subway lines were best to take to get to a certain attraction, even letting us borrow an umbrella one day when it rained. The breakfast which is included was amazing – you can start with a continental breakfast, or have a full blown hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, beans, etc.

We felt we received way more than we paid for when selecting this hotel. There is no doubt in my mind that if we return to London again, we’ll stay at the Arosfa!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late_Harvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is the place to stay when visiting London. The rooms are awesome. The breakfast is wonderful. The property is immaculate. The best part of the stay is how helpful the staff is. They will do anything you ask and can answer most questions you may have about touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#539 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing