We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked a night's stay in this hotel as a birthday gift for my mum. She and my dad said the place was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, the location was great and they really enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittystubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    522
    80
    23
    17
See reviews for
455
416
327
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I just spent three nights at this hotel.
Everything has been perfect.
The room was perfect size for London, we had a triple room and we still had space for light luggage and to move around the room.
The hotel is a walking distance to Oxford St and Soho and if don't feel like walking there are buses running just outside the hotel and the Underground is a 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
The staff is very nice and gentle.
The breakfast room is quite small but ok. The breakfast itself was very good with a good choice of sweets and hot dishes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel prides itself on its service, and rightly so. The staff are lovely, attentive, nothing is too much for them. As one of the cheaper options in central London that is enough to make it worth staying there - it comes recommended from us.
We had two rooms: a triple which was large, and a twin which was tiny. But hey, we didn't mind that. Ingeniously small en suites.
If you're looking for anonymous, sameness, a large breakfast room, lifts, bars, swimming pools etc then this hotel is not for you. If you want friendly service at a good price, and don't mind little quirks (a curtain rail which creaked ominously, dodgy plug sockets, squishy beds, cereal running out at breakfast, queuing for the dinky buffet table, sitting sideways on the loo to stop your knees bashing into the sink), then this is for you. We didn't mind the quirks, but there were just a few too many to give it the top rating.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 14 (a twin) if you can - it's dinky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for just one night in a triple room. The room was very pleasant and larger than I thought it would be. The bathroom was a reasonable size and everything was vey clean. We were made to feel extremely welcome and the breakfast was very good, Cooked to order plus a large cold selection and fresh juices. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as being reasonable and in a excellent location fir walking to oxford street ect. Our room faced the street , there is a little traffic noise so kept the window shut overnight. But otherwise a nice quiet location . Would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Arosfa on NYE, arrived around lunchtime and were welcomed by a lovely man (I think it must have been Ralph) who took us up to Room 16 on the top floor. We went straight out, not returning until 1 am, the front door is locked at 10.30 pm but you are given a front door key so it doesn't matter what time you arrive back. The room is perfectly adequate and what you expect in London size wise and was well furnished. The only thing I would mention is that our mattress wasn't very comfortable and pillows aren't that expensive, one each meant a cricked neck in the morning so more would be welcome please! However I would stay again and just ask for extra pillows when I book! Breakfast was lovely and more than a lot of London hotels offer these days. A great NYE, Happy 2014 and thank you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family of 5 stayed 4 nights with Arosfa. We had pre booked day tours that needed to be at pickup point by 7am ( 10 min away from Arosfa). We were unable to have breakfast as it only starts serving at 7.30am. After discussion, Alison and Ralfph offered to serve us eariler but without cooked food as the cook only comes after 7. I was surprised but appreciated the gesture they offer which made us feel warm in winter season. Thank you Alison and Ralfph for the extra mile and will definite go back Arosfa if we travel back to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great stay at the Arosfa...close to everything and very affordable! Allison and Raoul greeted us with mince pies and mulled wine. They were so accommodating and ensured all of our needs were met. The breakfast was always good and the coffee was delicious. Thanks for making our stay in London so grand!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMartin1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#531 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing