We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like home!”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Last month I spent 5 nights at the Arosfa Hotel. It was almost like home! The owners are really friendly and breakfast is fantastic. Besides, the tube station (Goodge Street) is nearby and so are several supermarkets. The room was rather small, which is typical for London, but very clean. Having my own bathroom was also great. The one and only negative point was the noise in the room above mine (walking around en moving furniture). Fortunately though, this didn't happen every evening/night, so I did get enough rest/sleep. Ralph and Alison, thanks for taking such good care of me!

Room Tip: Just ask what you need; Ralph and Alison will be happy to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blounty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Very good nice people very good food very nice room location near centre of city the people who own the hotel were very friendly and helpfull nice place to stay will definately stay again.we stayed fri sat has we were going to see billy elliott and the whole weekend was very nice thanks from geoff and heather also my grandaughter mia

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffR929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had the good fortune to be able to get in here over Easter. This is a lovely B&B, hosted by the equally affable Ralph and Alison. Ralph in particular did a superb job of feeding us up with a hearty breakfast, which kept us full of energy for sightseeing all day.

The location is great. A few blocks from the British Museum and walking distance to many of the major sites, including the theatre district. It is also close to many tube stations and walking distance from St. Pancras station. In addion, there are shops, supermarkets and eateries nearby.

The rooms are small, but no more so than I would have expected in central London. Our triple room was very clean with a good size bathroom (yay). My only quibble would be that for a triple room, we had trouble finding space for three suitcases.

Overall, it is a great place to stay, friendly and well located. We will stay here next time we're in London. Extra points awarded for the chocolate bunny that 'appeared' on my son's bed on Easter Sunday. Spoilt!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Arosfa Hotel at the beginning of a three-week trip to the UK. Everyone was friendly and attentive to our needs. The location of the hotel is great - near the Tube, car rentals (easy exit from London), restaurants and the delights of central London. The room was small (as you would expect in Bloomsbury) but fully made up for in the amenities, breakfasts and the attention of staff. Our stay at the Arosfa confirmed for us the positive reviews this hotel has received previously.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobandRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 8 nights at Hotel Arosfa and had a great time. Everyone was friendly and attentive to our needs. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is very central, only 15 mins walk to Covent Garden. There are heaps of restaurants within a 5 min walk. Only downside was the size of the bathroom.
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dchta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week in London and a 7 night stay at Arosfa Hotel. We expected a good experience based on the consistent positive reviews posted by previous (and many return) guests and we were most definitely not disappointed! Arosfa met all our needs and then some. Ralph, Alison, and Nicholas made us feel welcome with their genuine hospitality. Our room was ready on arrival at 11 am which was much appreciated after a long overnight flight. Since Arosfa was to be our base for the entire week, we booked a superior double room (#2 on the ground floor overlooking the rear walled-in garden) to have a little extra space. The room was wonderful; quiet, spacious, functional, and beautifully decorated. We could open the window to get fresh air and keep the room from being too warm. The bed was super comfy- one of the best we have had in our travels – and the bathroom was clean, modern, and adequately sized. The Wi-Fi connection and speeds were awesome. The breakfast offered by the hotel is top-notch. In addition to a satisfying array of buffet items (fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, quiche, breads, sliced meats, smoked salmon) and beverages, we were asked each day if we wanted a hot breakfast and then treated to cooked-to-order eggs, breakfast meats, and toast; a delightful start to our busy days enjoying London. We prefer staying in smaller, non-chain, family run hotels and have been very fortunate in all our experiences over the past 14 years. But we can honestly say that Arosfa Hotel ranks near the top in terms of the value we received for our tourist dollars. It is this type of experience that keeps us looking forward to future trips.
And if the quality of our stay is not reason enough to consider booking a room at Arosfa, we could not have been more pleased with the location in Bloomsbury just a few minutes’ walk from the British Museum. Several tube stations were available in about a 10 minute walk radius and when a two day strike pretty much shut down the Underground, we found that Gower Street offers up a number of buses at a stop nearly right outside the door of the hotel. How fortuitous! The area is lively and safe with lots of quality reasonable dining options, pubs, cafes’, grocery, and a terrific organic market around the corner on Torrington Place with yummy prepared foods for take away.

Room Tip: # 2 superior double on the ground floor overlooking the rear garden was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeLotusBleu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Arosfa Hotel at the beginning of a two-week trip around the UK and France. The location, in a lovely part of Bloomsbury and close to the Petrie museum, suited our trip perfectly. Our room, on the very top floor, was on the small side, but had a pretty dormer window and a nice view. It had been recently and very thoughtfully remodeled, with nice touches like recessed lighting along the molding near the ceiling, universal charging stations on the mantelpiece, and funky modern wallpaper. I liked the efficient use of space in the bath, which featured a giant overhead shower/hand shower combo, beautiful glass tile, a heated mirror, and real plants - a very nice touch. We were greeted each morning with a cooked-to-order breakfast as well as a copious buffet with cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, and even smoked salmon. The owners were friendly, welcoming, and very helpful with any questions. In all, it was the perfect base of operations for the London part of our stay, and I hope we'll get to stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,252 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,076 in London
1,642 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,076 in London
2,024 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#535 of 1,076 in London
354 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#59 of 1,076 in London
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing