We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely service”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From reservation through check-out we had a wonderful experience during our 2-night stay at Arosfa. The staff (Nicholas, Allison) were attentive and accommodating to our needs, questions and requests both prior to and upon our arrival. The hotel was easy to access from the airport and is located within walking distance of several tube stations and sites. The common areas and room were beautifully decorated and spotless. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Thank you for making our first days in London unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlinaMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We liked this hotel as it is in a good location near transport and shops and museums. The only down side were the stairs and perhaps if I was 40 years younger it would not have been a problem. However the staff were very helpful and carried our bags up to the room. Breakfast was adequate, we did not go for the cooked breakfast. The room was small but we were only using the room to sleep in. Pricewise for London it was good value for money. If you are here and London is having one of those rare hot days, then it may be uncomfortable as there is no air conditioning. Wifi was variable, in our room generally only 2 bars were showing but downstairs in the lounge room it was up to 4 bars. I would not recommend the hotel for overweight people or those with breathing difficulties as we met met one lady slowly making her way up the stairs and she was in some distress with breathing.
Otherwise it is a good hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great location near buses and tubes. Excellent breakfast with various choices. Staff was helpful and room, although small, was clean. Good value for money, would recommend this place to visitors around this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xerin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel at perfect location (close to 2 tube stations) Very friendly and warm staff. Excellent breakfast with lots of options. We stayed in the family room. Decent size room and newly renovated bathroom. We felt like home on a holiday!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jonasken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great price but small rooms. If you are out all day who cares. Free breakfast, but do not get the hot one, 15 pounds is too much. Wonderful staff, helpful and very peasant. Location is excellent, near the tube and bus stops. British Museum right down the street. You cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Garden room is better that street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good value for money. Quiet location little bit off of main streets and attractions, but there's a bus stop nearby from where quite a few lines run. There'a a tube station within 10 mins walk but we loved using busses as you see the city much better there. Versatile and tasty breakfast. Only minus comes from bathroom's ventilation which seemed almost non-existing. Still, warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This little hotel is right in the middle of things: 10 minute walk from Leicester Square, three blocks from the British museum, and two blocks from Tottenham Court Road. You really can't beat that.

Goodge station is the closest; about a 5 minute walk. They film BBC Sherlock just up the street.

The decor is quite nice; a bit modern but lovely and clean. Like all hotels in London (except perhaps the very very expensive) the rooms are small and the bathrooms tiny. However limited the space, the amenities are all you require (TV, Shower, Kettle, hangers, etc.).

We had two rooms. The double had a proper bathroom with a small shower (if you aren't skinny, there will be a bit of yoga involved to get a proper wash) and the single had a tiny airplane-type bathroom. These rooms were on the top floor. There is no lift (elevator). Keep this in mind if lugging heavy cases or traipsing up and down stairs during the day is not your cup of tea.

The breakfast was very good and an improvement since my last visit (and it was good then). There is the option of a cooked breakfast (minimal variation) and a buffet of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, breads, cheese, meat etc. Very nice.

The proprietors are lovely. Can't do enough for you and willing to help out.

The downsides of this hotel is there is no air conditioning and no elevator. Since we were staying during a heat wave this was a bit of an issue for us (especially being used to much cooler temperatures at night). However we managed. I think air conditioning is not a common option at this price range.

Overall, despite the little inconveniences, this is a superb little hotel.

Room Tip: face the back of the building (quieter) and a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#136 of 1,081 in London
1,300 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,081 in London
1,781 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#47 of 1,081 in London
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hide London
#60 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#548 of 1,081 in London
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#65 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £102 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing