We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and solid location. Great hosts!”
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable and solid location. Great hosts!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here by myself for two evenings in February 2013. I was looking for affordability but with a solid location. Room was small for sure, but that was expected given what I read online, and was fine because I was by myself.

Breakfast and host were great, I arrived at ~7:30am from the States and they let me leave my bags, freshen up, and even have a breakfast on the house even though my room wasn't ready.

This establishment was a great find given my needs!

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, perhaps ask for a room that is not Gower street side?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJKnoblauch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    522
    80
    23
    17
See reviews for
455
416
327
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on good Tripadvisor reviews and, on the whole, we agree with the positives: It was clean and cosy; has a great location in Bloomsbury - an easy stroll from the theatre district, eateries on Charlotte Street and, of course, shopping on Oxford Street; Breakfast was excellent with masses of choice including cooked; and the staff was very friendly. HOWEVER... we were given one of the tiniest rooms I have ever stayed in, with no warning! Even by single room standards it was tiny but with two beds crammed in it was, quite frankly, unacceptable! There wasn't space for a bedside table, not enough space for two people to stand and get dressed at the same time but the worst thing of all was the truly dreadful pod-style 'bathroom' which was the size of a small broom cupboard! Manoeuvring to use the loo was a challenge!!! My knees pressed against the door as I sat (I'm 5 foot 8). The narrowest of shower cubicles was separated from the toilet and tiny basin by a curtain to prevent splashing. This meant that if you tried to use the bathroom after someone else had showered, the wet shower curtain soaked your clothes! What my husband and I couldn't understand was why the hotel didn't include this information in the room description. What would happen, for example, if a large individual booked the room at a time when the hotel was full and then found he or she simply could not physically fit in the pod??!! BE WARNED!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 14. It is TINY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bclubleyprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After a gap of around 3 years we stayed here again recently. The hotel has had some refurbish & décor improvements since our last stay. Rooms are small but well appointed with everything you need. The hotel is in a good location only a few minutes walk from either Goodge St or Warren St tube stations & your only a few minutes walk from the Tottenham Court Road end of Oxford St. Breakfast is served in the basement area with a good choice of continental or cooked English breakfast. The hotel is very clean & has nice friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms are on multiple floors & there is no elevator so if you have any issues climbing stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairndow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

. London's idea of cheap is not mine. The cheapest of those recommended any where near town was £ 80 a night. But as there was little alternative I plumped for the Gower St area, where I had not been since my days at Uni. I remember the area as one of lovely, but grubby, houses, jazz dives, and university buildings. It is now clearly pretty trendy, with every other building a cafe or restaurant. there is a row of B&Bs. I went for the first available one that had an ensuite shower. a supposed double room was actually two twin beds right up against each wall with a few inches between each bed =no room to swing a kitten , let alone a cat. But as I was going to only sleep there it did not matter too much, and the people were charming. they apologized when I arrived, saying they were upgrading the room next to me, but that work would only be carried out during the day. I explained that I was a bit tired, and might need to sleep in the afternoon. They immediately said that I should tell them when I got back, and they would make sure that the builders kept quiet for me for a couple of hours - and they did! The breakfast spread was great, particularly for such a small place. Fresh strawberries, good pastries, and freshly cooked breakfast if you wanted it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room, which was small but as expected for London. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom however was very compact similar to an aeroplane bathroom - may prove cramped for anyone taller than average. There was no air con in the room and it got quite hot in the summer but cooled down at night with the windows open so only a minor issue. Breakfast was fresh with a huge variety plus an English breakfast can be made to order!

Arosfa is in a central location around the UCL and near a few tube stations so you can choose the one that most suits the line. There are a number of nice parks around the area and I actually preferred walking to taking the tube or bus.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank llyndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights at a room on ground level, asked for a room facing the back as I am sensitive to noise. You could still hear the traffic, but we never heard anything from other people there - even though our room was situated next to the entrance and lobby!
The room was very nice, recently renovated as far as we could tell. The bathroom was small as for most places in London, but with a nice shower (even though the pressure wasn't that good).
We didn't have any problems sleeping, I found the bed a bit hard but my fiance thought it was perfect.
At arrival we were welcomed and got information about the area and the hotel, and the carried the bags to our room immediately. A very nice welcome!
The breakfast buffet was nice, with smoked salmon, poached eggs, toast, croissants etc - and they also ask if you want anything cooked as well.
The area is very nice, with loads of nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent little hotel in Bloomsbury. Prices reasonable, great location, and the refurbished rooms are great. Very friendly owner and staff . Close to galleries, museums, the West End and Soho. I stay here every time I am in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuffyMoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#534 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing