We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Small but Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
California, US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value, Small but Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here the first three nights of our two week England trip and it was a very decent hotel. We were prepared for small rooms/bathrooms so weren't surprised. Although we were located in a room street-side, the noise was not terrible and did not keep us awake. The breakfast was good, the room was clean, and although the door of the bathroom hit our knees each time we were on the loo, it was manageable. The community-use computer and free internet access were very helpful, and the location was great for our needs: namely, visiting the British Museum just a short walk away. The tube is close as are various restaurants and groceries, as it is a college community. We recommend the Marlborough Arms, just around the corner for good food and beers. No elevator. Overall, would stay again, and would recommend to a friend. Nice location for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowing_Orbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    511
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
443
406
323
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Staff is anxious to please, very helpful. A generous complimentary full breakfast compliments the reasonable cost. Room was quaint and furnishings adequate. We expected bath to be small and were not disappointed. Location is distant from town center (Big Ben, Palace, Theaters, etc) and metro (underground) was 3 blocks away; but don't let that discourage, we found navigating the metro an easy task.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mage_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

The hotel was very enjoyable, with free internet facilities, nice breakfast and friendly staff. The location is wonderful for having trips in and around London. The only remark we make is related with the size of the familiar room, which was a little small for a family with 3 adults and 1 adolescent...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maduq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

I stayed twice at the Arosfa in July. This hotel continues to provide excellent value for visitors to London. It is a short walk from the hotel to the British Museum, the British Library and other attractions. The owner and the managers try very hard to please their guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I enjoyed a fantastic 5 nights in this excellent B&B hotel. I had a single room, which was tiny, but very well laid out so that I had everything I needed. Exceptionally clean and well run with a good breakfast every morning to set me up for a full day out in London. The location was ideal as you can easily walk from the hotel to many of the main sites or use the Tube. What made it really special was the helpfulness and concern of the staff - I really felt well taken care of at all times. One word of caution, though. Some of the walls are quite thin partitions and late one night I could hear every word of a discussion in the next room as 2 guests complained bitterly about the friends they were on holiday with and who were also staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at Arosfa Hotel from 2 August till 9 August 2009, and we really enjoyed to stay in this nice hotel. We' re four friends who love London and for our forth time in the capital we' ve chosen Arosfa. Good choice! Arosfa will be our hotel in London. The rooms are small, but it doesn't matter, people comes to London to live the city and not to stay in rooms. I said small rooms but they're very comfortable and clean as well.The hotel's staff is very gentle and kind. I recommend Arosfa Hotel because Arosfa feels like home.
-Arosfa, you miss us yet-

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank settanta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Our stay in the family room (for the 4 of us, 2 adults & 2 early teens) was excellent. The location is just a short walk to tube station and many restaurant choices. Staff were very helpful for our few requests. The rooms, and stairs, were small - but adequate for us. We don't need a large suite. 1 double & 2 twin beds filled up most of the room. But fine for us. Tiny but fine toilet/sing/shower (no bath - but then, how often do folks take baths?). Standard breakfast.
Excellent for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#245 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#550 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing