We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink261 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clink261 Hostel
Ranked #57 of 803 Speciality Lodging in London
london
1 review
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

hey !! ashlee house is the best hostel to stay in london !!
you meet a lot a diferent people from diferent countries!!!
also Lucie , the receptionist is one of the great girl i met, she is always here to give you advice and stuff !!!!!
hope i'll enjoy this place too! !!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vianoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    246
    137
    53
    44
See reviews for
25
58
223
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

Welcome to Ashlee! I was glad I picked this hostel as location was so convenient for me, it couldn't been better.
Originally I booked 4-bedded dorm room, but met some nice folks and changed to 16 bedded dorm.
It was good to have some open minded people around with who to go out and have a blast lol:).
Room was okay, not the biggest I have been, but clean. Linen is provided and it's free of charge so don't bother to take your own. For the towel you will be charged though (£1.00). Had a nice breakfast served by funny Irish guy who makes some nice jokes early in the morning.
They also have xbox if you feel tired and prefer to stay in and watch a movie. All and all good enough.
Staff was fabulous, especially girls:).

I have booked already for my next visit and don't want to go to any other place, Ashlee is just perfect for teh guy like me who is not fussy.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank koyotees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

I liked a place and staff. Hostel is located very close to King's Cross station and is within reachable distance from all major places to visit.
Staff is really nice and helpfull, even if they don't know for sure, they are trying to find out all the information in order to help you out.
Rooms are small, but what else do you need apart from bed and breakfast?
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktrge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

Bad from the start!
i rocked up at reception [off my airport shuttle after 24+ hours of flying/travelling from Oz] i was pretty shattered and had heavy bags. The sudanese/african receptionist was incredibly rude to me..no greeting or introduction or orientation or anything..just " its too early nothing is open yet (even tho the sign says reception is open 24hrs) you cant check in until 2:30pm..and you cant have the free breakfast cos you didnt sleep here last night" " that was that!
...i was expecting something like " you cant check in til 2:30 but heres the key to the luggage storage room so you can lock your bags away..theres a nice coffee place down the road or you can sit in the lounge which is downstairs.
i asked about internet and phone and got an abrupt "Theyre not working" (there was a great little internet cafe + pub phone a few doors down for half the price they were offering)
So thats what the staff were like!

The 16bed mixed bunkbed dorm was a nightmare. i shared it with a bunch of rowdy french/german teenagers.. sooooo cramped..there was no space to put luggage or basically do anything but lie in bed. Toilets/bathrooms were not very pleasant.. holes in the ceiling, doors almost falling off their hinges...hairs all over the shower recesses..gross!!!!!.A girl i met at breakfast that morning said while she was showering she heard people in the cubicle next door having sex. (incomplete partition between male and female bathrooms) Also no hooks or shelves or anything to avoid your stuff getting wet. WISH i had brought flip flops for the showers.
In the brochure they boast about the facillities: ie self catering kitchen but when i tried to use it to make myself some arvo tea they told me to go out cos the kitchen was closed!!!!! They reckon there is a stylish lounge but its very shabby and dingy..basically its a basement with a few old hard armchairs! No TV or games or magazines.

The price is cheap and nasty and thats exactly what i got...not
having stayed in a hostel before, i relied on my travel agent.
If this is what all hostels are like...i will never ever be using one again!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — service, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kt__078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Filthy place. I was put in a mixed-sex room despite asking for single sex. When I returened to recpetion to ask for the single sex room, they rudely remarked there was no space. It was cold, damp and dirty and the windows (on the ceiling, so well, well out of anyone's reach) were left wide open overnight, freezing cold draughts came in. Some of the users were up every night, shouting and being drunk and rowdy, the showers were cold. The place stank. Never again

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

It's a very dirty, disgusting place. We booked a three bed room and got a cramped a bunk bed room with a queen size bed and a tiny single bed on top. The place is depressive and boring; it was empty on we arrived on Friday. The staff is rude. I can't think of one good thing to say about this hostel. Never again!!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everything. the place is a shack
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jessie_lowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

This hostel is located in Kings Cross, and has easy access to Kings Cross Tube station, from which you can hop on most of the tube lines.

Although we did not pay much to stay here, I still would have expected slightly better. The 4 bed dorm room was incredibly cramped and was not particularly clean. It was also very noisy throughout the night, as it faced onto one of the main streets in Kings Cross. There was also no hot water in both the male and female bathrooms.

The breakfast in the morning was good by hostel standards, and the male staff member serving it was great entertainment.

I only stayed here a night, and most definately could not have stayed any longer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold Showers
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#72 of 803 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#67 of 560 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink261 Hostel

Property: Clink261 Hostel
Address: 261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 803 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clink261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing