We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unless you're desperate go somewhere else.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink261 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clink261 Hostel
Ranked #60 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
England
1 review
“Unless you're desperate go somewhere else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I rang up beforehand as I am a 16 year old girl, to make sure I was in a single sex dorm. After meeting very unfriendly staff in reception, I went up to my dorm to discover I had been put in with mainly middle aged men.
The staff forgot to give us our bed sheets and room code.
It was incredibly dirty, the bathroom was in a disgusting condition and the toilets had not been cleaned. The whole building also smelt incredibly bad.
I did not sleep at all owing to uncomfy bedding, noisy guests, and the fact it is right on an incredibly noisy main road and opposite a rowdy pub.
To sum it up, the staff were unfriendly, I didn't feel safe and it was an incredibly dirty place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    246
    137
    53
    44
See reviews for
25
58
222
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hobart,indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Ashlee House itself was OK. We stayed in a private room which was real small just enough room for a bunk bed so no where to hang out in room but were there just to sleep. Bathrooms were Ok as well they werent the nicest but were Ok. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was great very close to train station so easy to get around london on the tube. It would prolly be a good hostel for backpackers to meet other backpackers but i was with my fiance so we do our own thing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willystyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling aussie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

went i flew into london from athens i found that my credit card had been stolen somewhere in between. when i arrived at Ashlee house, the staff member (i think her name was Lucy, if remember correctly) helped me out so much. allowing me to use the phone to cancel my card, and organise myself. she even gave me some money from her own pocket so i could buy some lunch - i'm forever grateful to her. it wasn't just lucy that was helpful. i found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
even though i was in an uncomfortable situation (not having money for a few days) i had a really enjoyable stay at Ashlee house. i would, without doubt, stay there again and recommended Ashlee house to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

front entrance is nice but the rest doesn't look too flash, but it doesnt need to. cheap dorm room, get what you pay, breakfast is good and there is a nice kind of communal feeling down there for breakfast compared to some hostels iv stayed in the past.
would hapily stay there again, close enough to kings cross/st pancras station. friendly people. all good :)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

hey !! ashlee house is the best hostel to stay in london !!
you meet a lot a diferent people from diferent countries!!!
also Lucie , the receptionist is one of the great girl i met, she is always here to give you advice and stuff !!!!!
hope i'll enjoy this place too! !!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vianoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

Welcome to Ashlee! I was glad I picked this hostel as location was so convenient for me, it couldn't been better.
Originally I booked 4-bedded dorm room, but met some nice folks and changed to 16 bedded dorm.
It was good to have some open minded people around with who to go out and have a blast lol:).
Room was okay, not the biggest I have been, but clean. Linen is provided and it's free of charge so don't bother to take your own. For the towel you will be charged though (£1.00). Had a nice breakfast served by funny Irish guy who makes some nice jokes early in the morning.
They also have xbox if you feel tired and prefer to stay in and watch a movie. All and all good enough.
Staff was fabulous, especially girls:).

I have booked already for my next visit and don't want to go to any other place, Ashlee is just perfect for teh guy like me who is not fussy.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank koyotees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

I liked a place and staff. Hostel is located very close to King's Cross station and is within reachable distance from all major places to visit.
Staff is really nice and helpfull, even if they don't know for sure, they are trying to find out all the information in order to help you out.
Rooms are small, but what else do you need apart from bed and breakfast?
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktrge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#74 of 802 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#68 of 560 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink261 Hostel

Property: Clink261 Hostel
Address: 261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, SpeedyBooker.com, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Clink261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing