We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“this was very friendly and nice hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink261 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clink261 Hostel
Ranked #56 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
manchester
1 review
“this was very friendly and nice hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I liked the hostel, it was close to St Pancras, easy to find when I arrived. Reception staff was great and we even went out for a dinner and for clubbing.
Rooms were small but it's London and I didn't expect anything more for the money I paid.
British museum was just 10 min away and Camden Town was the best place ever - go there! I walked from hostel as it's close enough.
Coming back in a few months and definetely will stay in Ashlee Houser again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frog059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    246
    137
    53
    44
See reviews for
25
58
223
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIdlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I stayed at the Ashlee JHouse for one night (I am glad of that) there were 8 of us in our party and we slept in two rooms of four next to each other on floor 2.

On arrival the reception area was dirty and the seating area was all ripped and was in total need of decoration.

Opposite our rooms room 22 and 23 was the ladies shower room where an extractor fan made an awful noise all night long and kept you awake - it was quite impossible to sleep and you could not turn the fan off. Hotel staff could not rectify this problem.

The doors to the room tend to slam so you also have the noise of others on the same floor adding to the noise pollution, there is an extremely busy road outside where you can also hear the traffic/sirens etc.

Beds are not made up for you - you are given sheets at reception to make your own - I did not really mind so much as the sheets were clean.

The chill out room - well it was a disgrace you would not chill out in there maybe a dungeon would be more appropriate?

The kitchen area was probably the best but beware it does say there is a self catering kitchen this is ok as long as you can work in others peoples left over washing up and you do not need an oven or a toaster as there are not any - there are 2 microwaves to us and a hob but that is it - one of the microwaves does not work - there is also a kettle.

the seating area in the kitchen is ok as long as there are not too many people in there.

The toilets are a disgrace - use santitory towels scattered about overflowing bins.

The hostel is close to kings cross station which makes easy access to the tube.

I would not recommed this hotel its not nice at all and needs a lot of attention.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

England
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

I rang up beforehand as I am a 16 year old girl, to make sure I was in a single sex dorm. After meeting very unfriendly staff in reception, I went up to my dorm to discover I had been put in with mainly middle aged men.
The staff forgot to give us our bed sheets and room code.
It was incredibly dirty, the bathroom was in a disgusting condition and the toilets had not been cleaned. The whole building also smelt incredibly bad.
I did not sleep at all owing to uncomfy bedding, noisy guests, and the fact it is right on an incredibly noisy main road and opposite a rowdy pub.
To sum it up, the staff were unfriendly, I didn't feel safe and it was an incredibly dirty place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart,indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Ashlee House itself was OK. We stayed in a private room which was real small just enough room for a bunk bed so no where to hang out in room but were there just to sleep. Bathrooms were Ok as well they werent the nicest but were Ok. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was great very close to train station so easy to get around london on the tube. It would prolly be a good hostel for backpackers to meet other backpackers but i was with my fiance so we do our own thing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willystyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling aussie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

went i flew into london from athens i found that my credit card had been stolen somewhere in between. when i arrived at Ashlee house, the staff member (i think her name was Lucy, if remember correctly) helped me out so much. allowing me to use the phone to cancel my card, and organise myself. she even gave me some money from her own pocket so i could buy some lunch - i'm forever grateful to her. it wasn't just lucy that was helpful. i found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
even though i was in an uncomfortable situation (not having money for a few days) i had a really enjoyable stay at Ashlee house. i would, without doubt, stay there again and recommended Ashlee house to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

front entrance is nice but the rest doesn't look too flash, but it doesnt need to. cheap dorm room, get what you pay, breakfast is good and there is a nice kind of communal feeling down there for breakfast compared to some hostels iv stayed in the past.
would hapily stay there again, close enough to kings cross/st pancras station. friendly people. all good :)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

hey !! ashlee house is the best hostel to stay in london !!
you meet a lot a diferent people from diferent countries!!!
also Lucie , the receptionist is one of the great girl i met, she is always here to give you advice and stuff !!!!!
hope i'll enjoy this place too! !!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vianoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#73 of 802 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#64 of 560 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink261 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink261 Hostel

Property: Clink261 Hostel
Address: 261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink261 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- - FREE continental buffet breakfast.- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE movies on big screen every night- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Female only rooms- Lounge Area: play Wii or kick back and relax in our lounge area with its huge plasma TV- Chic internet room: write emails, talk via skype or share your thoughts on Facebook and Twitter!- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Clink261 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink261 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing