We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$239
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$492
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Langham Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
90
40
7
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
40
7
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from a 2 night-stay at Anne Marie and Jim's lovely house in Hampstead.
We are a french couple (30years old) who knows London very well and willing to try another area of London to stay.
Our stay was just amazing as the area is very pleasant, very green for long walks, a lot of people in the street, lots of restaurants and shops and safe.
The house itself is very charming in a quiet street just few meters away frol Hampstead high street and Hampstead Heath.
Anne Marie and Jim were so kind with us, provinding advices to visit their beloved area.

I would recommend their house for family, couples and even business people, do not hesitate.

Cyril and Audrey from France

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Hampstead Village Guesthouse is quite a find. Situated at the end of a quiet road off Rosslyn Hill, Hampstead, you will find the elegant and imposing Victorian house. It is the home of Annemarie van der Meer and Jim Conwell who offer their guests a warm welcome. Once a family home, the house has been tastefully reinvented to become a guest house with each room retaining its unique character and charm. Most rooms have their own bathroom apart from a single room where the bathroom is across the corridor.
I stayed at the Hampstead Village Guesthouse on two occasions and enjoyed each experience equally. The house is quiet, clean, warm, and comfortable. Breakfast is available but guests may also arrange breakfast in their room where there is a small fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as an adequate supply of crockery and cutlery. There is also wifi access throughout the premises and, if you are travelling by car, parking can be arranged with the owners.
Close to shops, public transport and within walking distance of Hampstead Heath, I found the Hampstead Village Guesthouse an ideal place to stay and a welcome retreat after the hustle and bustle of busy days in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed during the years many times at this romantic guesthouse in a charming old villa in artistic hampstead. The very friendly owners Annemarie and Jim have created a home away from home. It's the perfect place to stay in London because although you are in a very big city when back in Hampstead it's like being in the countryside in a beautiful old village. A quiet and perfect place to relax. Kenwood and the Heath are just a short walk to the east. In a few minutes you are in the fashionable High Street. Historic Hampstead has lot's of good pubs, restaurants, deli's and bakery's to have excellent breakfast. The underground is a 5 minute walk. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the Hampstead Village Guesthouse for two nights in one of their small rooms. It was cozy but comfortable, although the arrangements are simple and basic. Nevertheless, given the price, it was very reasonable and nicely done. However, if you are fussy about a big comfortable bed and lots of space then it is likely this is not for you. But if you are happy with a simple, clean and bright room then it is just fine.

The particular attraction of the HGH is its ideal location. Hampstead is a beautiful, historic area of London, with nice cafes, pubs and restaurants all nearby - and the Heath etc. It is very easy to get into central London - which is a short tube ride away on the Northern Line. It is relaxing to be able to return to the relative quiet and calm of Hampsteand and this guesthouse is a pleasant oasis. The owners and operators were very helpful and kind to me and make their guests feel welcome without fussing over them.

I would strongly recommend the HGH to any visitor who is not expecting luxury but rather looking for an attractive place with some real character, reasonable comfort and and ideal location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyrrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We lived in London for 4 years. So when it came time to revisit after 10 years away, we knew exactly where we wanted to stay; in the exact same location as where we used to live: Hampstead, North West London.
There is simply no better location in the city in terms of location (near the hampstead heath), easy access to the city (via the Northern Line), people watching on the High Street (main street) and getting away from all the crowds (as the guest house is right off the bustling hight street and is in a quiet neighborhood).
The guesthouse is a wonderful, authentic English experience. With gracious hosts, English landscaping, and a storied past. It is like walking out of this century into a Jane Austen novel. The real draw is the access to the Hampstead Heath. Known as the "lung of London" due to its miles of park land, it is a place that has inspired poets and artists throughout the centuries and is just minutes away from the guest house. We would recommend the Hampstead Village Guesthouse.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio, which is a private "villa" just next to the guesthouse. It was great for our family of 4.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews