We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hampstead Village Guesthouse
Ranked #138 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Kamakura, Japan
1 review
“Unique place to visit”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I often came to Hampstead and stayed at Hampstead Village Guest House.
The each room has a special character. The owners are very thoughtful and helpful.
When I was very ill, Annemerie cooked a soup and gave me a medicine.

Room Tip: Blue room has an unique character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoko880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    40
    7
    9
    17
See reviews for
37
34
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice, individually shaped rooms, with a fancy bathtube! Quiet, even when window go out to the street. If you're planning to explore Hampstead and the Heath, the Guesthouse is highly recommended as for its adequate location. Friendly owners and a furry cat!
Unfortunately, the bathrooms can be quite small, in fact it is the smallest and narrowest bathroom I have ever seen - kind of an adventure.
A bit unusual is the fact that you can't lock your room whilst away - but with a little trust in the world it will do!
We will surely come back!

Room Tip: Room David is nice and blue. With bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you like it personal and individual, quiet and tasteful of its own kind - this is the right place. It is the opposite of the nomal all the same quick B&Bs - and the feeling is a bit like visiting friends who are familiy people but not modern - and thats the way you are treated by the hosts.
Its 3 minute walk to the "center" of hamstead heath.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of spending last weekend at the Hampstead Guesthouse. The experience was rewarding on many levels, and I’d certainly recommend the rustic, authentic, and characterful guesthouse to enrich your stay in this beautiful part of London. The rooms are clean and soulful, breakfast in the garden is a pleasure (weather permitting) and the location is ideal if spending time in the beautiful heath is a priority. I’ve been fortunate enough to be given the magical, dreamy and cleansing experience of swimming in one of the heath’s ponds, an essential element from now on if hopefully I make it back to Hampstead. Lastly, the tube trip turned out to be much shorter than I had expected, something to consider in the choice of where to stay in this vibrant, colorful metropolis if you cherish calmness.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyandOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in this wunderfull place for 5 days and can´t wait to come back again. It is an unique, personal, extraordinary place, wonderfull, old but clean furniture, and verry friendly hosts.

To refer to the post of Adele: In the confirmation-mail you are asked to pay on the first day. When arriving you are told about the fire-doors. If someone isn´t able to read his mails or listen to explanations it is not the fault of the hosts.

The room next to your room was also hired out for the whole week but we didn´t hear a single word from the neighbours.

Back to the positiv side of life. The hampstead guesthouse is only 15 minutes by foot and tube away from towncenter and what wakes you up in the morning? Not traffic, but some birds. When you open the eyes, you know immediately, where you are - not like in so many hotels where you can´t say what town you´re staying.

We loved the place, the house and hampstead!
Eva und Nicola from Munich, Germany

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Recommended in the lonely plantet so I did expect a decent quality accomodation but this was not the case. This BnB does not serve breakfast unless you pay an extra 10 pound per person on top of the expensive tariff. Very uncomfortable bed, shower that didnt work properly, no facility for tea/coffee in the room - only one tiny cup, no milk. Inadequate heating turned off early in the night. Advertised as having a fridge in the room but this didnt work. For the tariff this bed and no breakfast was the worst accomodation in London and we were in the area for 8 weeks. It is a lovely house from the outside but unfortunately the comfort of the guests inside is not important to the hosts. Was happy to leave after 1 night.

Room Tip: OUr room was so tiny we were unable to get clothes out adequately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yule2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in the detached studio converted from a carriage house. The studio was level and opened directly onto the sidewalk with no stairs, so luggage was easily moved about. However, we would not recommend it for handicapped or particularly large people since the bathroom was the tiniest we have experienced (do NOT drop your soap in the shower) - the equivalent of a very small closest and the kitchen area was the equivalent of a slightly larger closet. While we did not use the kitchen, we did see that it was well equipped as was the rest of the studio with the space often cleverly used. The room itself was very large with multiple convertible beds on one side and a round table near the kitchen incorporated into narrow table that ran the length of the room. The furnishings were basic and the storage area minimal. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating, including arranging transportation for us. And of course, the neighborhood could not be nicer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
#447 of 1,069 in London
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#605 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#624 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Boutique Hotel
Kings Boutique Hotel
#358 of 557 in London
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#33 of 557 in London
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haverstock Hotel
Haverstock Hotel
#163 of 557 in London
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampstead Village Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampstead Village Guesthouse

Property: Hampstead Village Guesthouse
Address: 2 Kemplay Road | Hampstead, London NW3 1SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hampstead Village Guesthouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing