We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mad Hatter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #198 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A good hotel with nice clean rooms. The attached pub is excellent with a good atmosphere. Well positioned for the London Eye, Southbank, Tower Bridge etc. The best bit is it is so easy to get to from Waterloo Station, on foot.
The downside was it was a little expensive and the view from the room was of a derelict building. All in All though, a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Pompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    400
    99
    17
    9
See reviews for
132
350
45
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

excellant value close to city room was spotless and a good sie with a good range of tea coffee and biscuits bathroom also spotless
good range of ales in the bar which we made a point of sampling and the staff were very friendly and helpfull

Breakfast was very good brought to you quickly and hot plenty of buffet items toast and coffee

a definate to return later in the year thanks to all mr & mrs D

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for the 2nd time on New Years Eve because of its location just at the end of Southwark bridge. There's not too much to see just outside of the hotel, but you are just a few minutes walk to the South Bank, and the nearby attractions.
The service is a little erratic, and don't expect a quick breakfast, but everybody is generally friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, tidy and well maintained.
The quality of the food is typical chain pub grub, but not a problem for just a night or 2, and of course there's plenty of other restaurants & choice nearby,

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 1st or 2nd floor, as there is an infrequent intermittent noise on the 3rd floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clojou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Room was a good size, was very clean and my partner (who notices these things) found the bed linen very much to her liking! Bathroom was a bit 'worn' but clean nonetheless, a good room overall. We also decided to eat here and found the food very good indeed, typical pub fare but well cooked and very well priced... All in all, we were both very happy with the Mad Hatter and would have no problem in staying here again and also recommending the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubya2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Amazing location for walking along the South Bank, Tate Modern a stones throw. Hotel reception was the shabbiest part of the hotel, rooms and bar in excellent order. If you like a hotel with character book the Mad Hatter. Good pub food, nice, helpful staff and lovely Victorian pub. Will definately come again for a London trip and would recommend for a bargain price London hotel. Maybe not in the smartest part of town but easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Let's see... Room was pretty nice... It was fairly large, especially for city center standards. Clean, nice comfy bed. Bathroom was pretty nice as well. Enjoyed my sleep. No noise or anybody bothering me.

Price, I think, was average for London standards, perhaps even on the cheap side.
The hotel is not THAT well located. I mean it sure is in the middle of London, but it's about 5-10 mins of a walk from the closest underground station. Not a huge deal for most, probably, but should be noted.

Service was a bit lackluster. They do things in a weird way... They had some weird system for checking in your luggage if you got there a bit early (I mean, I got there at 1:50 for a 2 o'clock check in or something, but OK what's fair is fair); I would expect them to be more organized for such situations.

I was also told that if I returned after 11 or something the front door would be lock and I'd have to ring for somebody to come open it or something along those lines? I don't know what's up with that, I've never seen that in a hotel - I'd expect it at a b+b maybe, but not in a hotel, let alone a hotel in the middle of London. You gotta at least let me come and go whenever I want.

Lady at the reception was smiley and nice, but despite her good intentions (I like to think) could not provide too much help. She also said something that could be interpreted as offensive, but she probably didn't mean it like that.

Overall I had a pleasant stay. The positives of a nice, spatious room were countered by the slightly hiccup-y service and the not-so-ideal-after-all location, resulting in an average rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had a gig in London and wanted to be close to work without the commute. I paid £77 for the night and had very low expectations. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. The room I had was huge, great facilities (decent toiletries, good tea coffee making facilities - including herbal teas and biscuits). Much more than you would get at a travel lodge but cheaper.

If I was being picky I would say that the bathroom was a bit dated, but it was very clean and the shower was very powerful.

All in all excellent value for money and I would stay again if I could get that price again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back, it is not the most inspiring view but it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyinbtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#240 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Wellington Hotel
#495 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#309 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Property: The Mad Hatter Hotel
Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#297 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing