We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

2nd stay at the Mad Hatter. Room was nice, very clean and had all the facilities you would expect. Location is superb for a london visit.

All of the staff, both hotel and in the bar, were really friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    418
    100
    19
    9
See reviews for
140
367
46
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The room was large, very spacious and nicely decorated. I stumbled upon this hotel by accident and was pleased with it overall.
Only issue was there was no air con, they had a fan on the floor but this wasn't an issue for me.
I was by myself so the room seemed a bit too much for me.

I'm a huge fan of Alice in wonderland and loved the theme of this hotel.

The only negative thing I would say is the price is very high but I'm assuming it was high for me as I am thinking in terms of Australian dollars and as you know, the currency rate isn't that great.

Nice hotel and nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaabbbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I went to the Mad Hatter quite by accident, I was recommended by friends to try a Fuller's pub and this was the nearest one. Had the Sunday lunch and must say that the beef was some if the tenderest I have eaten, plenty of veg and gravy. Friends had the "Pork Pippin pie" and the "Mad Hatter Pie" which I had to try and were FABULOUS. Staff friendly, reasonable prices and a beautiful pub. Would thoroughly recommend if you are in the area, if not then go find it. Will return

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time family have stayed here and again it was lovely. The room was clean and quiet. We ended up after a long day just having dinner in the pub and apart from a small problem ( that was dealt with quickly and with no fuss) it was lovely. The staff are all so nice and friendly and are a real credit not only to the management but to Fullers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank emmac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Always comfortable, and always great service- never disappoints;
Great service from all the staff, comfortable room- with ground coffee, and a great breakfast - even had pancakes on the specials board.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCatSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Via Hotels.com, we were able to get a great rate for a good quality hotel in a convenient location. The room was clean and spacious by London standards and had a large, comfortable bed. This was an important feature because I've found that most hotels in Europe have really hard and uncomfortable mattresses. The room included complimentary tea, coffee, and hot chocolate, and complimentary still and sparkling water. The water pressure in the shower was good and the bathroom was clean and modern-looking. There were only about 15 TV channels to choose from with hardly any programming worth watching, but that wasn't a big issue for us since we were out late. While our room was located over the bar/restaurant and the music coming from the bar was quite loud, when I called the front desk to let them know the music was disturbing our sleep, they immediately had the music volume turned down to our satisfaction. The Mad Hatter is a short walk from the Tube and from the National Theater and Royal Festival Hall. Overall, it was a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Mad Hatter again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Mad Hatter Hotel is located in Southwark near the Thames, where you can go for a very pleasant stroll. The view there is wonderful and the path along the water is specially designed for pedestrians only, along many pubs and restaurants, Tate Museum and The Globe.
There is a bus stop just around the corner of the hotel and the nearest tube station is Blackfriars. We didn't like the walk from the hotel towards Waterloo station because you have to cross some difficult roads or walk underground. According to the hotel Waterloo is the closest tube station, but in my opinion it is Blackfriars. You just cross the bridge and you are there.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although they promised us an umbrella for temporary use, which was never delivered in our room. The evening we arrived our strong umbrella (that survived some heavy showers in Belgium) completely bent due to an English storm.
The room was clean and cosy. It was a bit cold, but you could manage the heating yourself so that was good. There was complimentary water, still and sparkling, tea and coffee. There was an iron and a hair dryer as well. There was a TV, but no sky TV...only the sky sports channel and about 4 other channels and that's it. But we weren't in London to watch TV...
The bathroom was clean and had shampoo and soap and so on.
The only thing that annoyed us, was the lack of space in the bedroom. There was no place (a bench or something) to put your suitcase on. The bedroom was too small to put your suitcase open on the floor. This was a bit of a problem because there was no closet you put your clothes in. You had to use the few drawers the desk had, which is not enough when you are with 2 staying in the room. Next to the door there were a few coat hangers, but again not enough and not enough space.
Downstairs was a Fullers pub. English breakfast was served there at the cost of about 13 pounds. We had our breakfast along the water because of the fantastic view there and a wider variety of breakfast with several prices, varying from 4 pounds to 11 pounds for full English breakfast.

All in all it is a good hotel and we'd be happy to stay there again because the staff is so friendly and the location is superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#241 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#181 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Wellington Hotel
#509 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Property: The Mad Hatter Hotel
Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#297 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing