We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice. Serves it's purpose affably.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #184 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Over a large pub bar. Basic but clean and adequate rooms. Looks more I treating from the outside but that hardly matters. Friendly helpful staff. Not a bad position for South Bank antics. Parking not easy round here. Would come back. Breakfast was OK but there are other places close by to grab the first meal of the day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Chose to stay here based on reviews and we were satisfied overall with our 2 night stay. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful in helping us plan our day. Very close to the Blackfriars station and Southwark station. Walking distance to the Tate modern museum. We stayed Wednesday and Thursday night so we could hear clubbing music from nearby but it didn't bother us as we watched tv or slept. All the drinks and biscuits were complimentary as well (still/sparkling water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate) and there was a kettle in the room. Internet connection was very spotty but it may have just been our room on the third floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblaze168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

2nd stay at the Mad Hatter. Room was nice, very clean and had all the facilities you would expect. Location is superb for a london visit.

All of the staff, both hotel and in the bar, were really friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The room was large, very spacious and nicely decorated. I stumbled upon this hotel by accident and was pleased with it overall.
Only issue was there was no air con, they had a fan on the floor but this wasn't an issue for me.
I was by myself so the room seemed a bit too much for me.

I'm a huge fan of Alice in wonderland and loved the theme of this hotel.

The only negative thing I would say is the price is very high but I'm assuming it was high for me as I am thinking in terms of Australian dollars and as you know, the currency rate isn't that great.

Nice hotel and nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaaaabbbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I went to the Mad Hatter quite by accident, I was recommended by friends to try a Fuller's pub and this was the nearest one. Had the Sunday lunch and must say that the beef was some if the tenderest I have eaten, plenty of veg and gravy. Friends had the "Pork Pippin pie" and the "Mad Hatter Pie" which I had to try and were FABULOUS. Staff friendly, reasonable prices and a beautiful pub. Would thoroughly recommend if you are in the area, if not then go find it. Will return

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time family have stayed here and again it was lovely. The room was clean and quiet. We ended up after a long day just having dinner in the pub and apart from a small problem ( that was dealt with quickly and with no fuss) it was lovely. The staff are all so nice and friendly and are a real credit not only to the management but to Fullers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank emmac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Always comfortable, and always great service- never disappoints;
Great service from all the staff, comfortable room- with ground coffee, and a great breakfast - even had pancakes on the specials board.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedCatSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#273 of 1,076 in London
3,488 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#305 of 1,076 in London
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#96 of 1,076 in London
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Family Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
#307 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing