We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff, cute rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mad Hatter Hotel
Ranked #197 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff, cute rooms”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is very well located for exploring all of the top London tourist destinations, by foot or by underground. The staff is very helpful, and even let us use their computer and hotel phone when our international flight was delayed. The breakfast, although a little pricey, is convenient and tasty. To add to that, the rooms are all individually decorated and very unique! The bed was the best we had in our whole Europe trip, and the heated towel rack with warm towels is a nice touch. They also provide shampoo, body lotion, manicure set, shower cap, etc. We got a good price on hotels.com rather than booking directly through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 656meagank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    474
    105
    22
    11
See reviews for
157
434
54
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed as guest of my organisation Good very comfortable bed with spotless towels and mini bottles of shower gel, lotion and shampoo. Toilet was little tight but very clean and excellent fire signage.
Aspect was not good for my room 110, overlooking a derelict and rather scruffy courtyard but the breakfast was first class and of the highest quality with good attention to detail.
TV provided but limited choices to watch but on account of the price which was about 160 for a double bedroom I felt it was value for money although not exactly close to any tube , the nearest being Blackfriars across the bridge, which on a bad weather day would be tiresome so bring a brolly
Quaint decor with reference to Alice TTLG and the milners trade, no surprises there, and had an iron in my room , and board plus copious tea and coffee and you own cafetierre. Nice touches

Room Tip: I suggest you not pay for room a view as this aspect is very limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was not my first choice but at almost £100 cheaper than the others i was persuaded the second reason was slightly more nostalgic as i used to work directly opposite many years ago.
I was amazed to find a spacious room comfortable bed spotlessly clean with lovely added extras like ground coffee. the bar is 24/7 but I wouldn't be put off by that as this is a quiet Area after 8pm
It is close to the underground some amazing bars and restaurants Isabella st (under the railway arches) and positioned well for a morning stroll along the Thames.

we will definitely be staying again

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room at the rear we stayed in 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jooleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Mad Hatter at the end of May and was very impressed with their rooms. Very comfortable beds and a good sized room that was very quiet despite being near Blackfriars Road. Ideally located on the south bank between the Eye and The Globe. Great staff and a great pub, highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank selcuktheharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Clean Tidy and well presented Old English Pub in spot on Central location near Blackfriars Bridge , discount value deals available , great staff very friendly . Breakfast was excellent with a very good variety of choices. Will for sure be back in the near future. What more can I say

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this from my hotel room.Totally delighted with my room and location of hotel. I have a lovely large double room and nice big bathroom with lots of hot water for a long soak. The tea and coffee tray is fab, with a real filter coffee and hot chocolate and shortbread. The room is nicely decorated and every essential you need is on hand. Looking forward to breakfast tomorrow! P.S. WIFI is fab!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel was definately a great find. It is nicely renovated with everything you need. Big enough room with nice bathroom. The Alice and Wonderland theme is cool and not over the top.
The' on the run' breakfast idea is a great one. This way you can eat and on the way when you have lots to fit into your days. The fact that it is over a bar is awesome as its always a nice way to end the day. It is a relativlely close walk to Waterloo Tube station and you can actually walk to the London eye quite easily. There is also a bus right outside the hotel that can take you easily to Kings Cross station. All in all, I LOVE THIS PLACE. We will stay there again if we get the chance and recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,264 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#177 of 1,068 in London
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Wellington Hotel
#508 of 1,068 in London
508 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mad Hatter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mad Hatter Hotel

Property: The Mad Hatter Hotel
Address: 3-7 Stamford Street | South Bank, London SE1 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#297 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Hatter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mad Hatter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter London
Hotel Mad Hatter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing