We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Campsite in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site
Ranked #89 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Campsite in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just left this excellent campsite after a 5 night stay in London. Staff were very helpful. The site itself is on the edge of crystal palace park with an overground service into central London which in the Olympic build up took around 90 minutes. There are many foreign guests staying here and a lot of motorhomes. Very pretty site was pleasantly surprised. The showers and toilets were spotless. Some of the pitches are shaded ask for a sunny pitch if like us you prefer to be in the sun. I would probably ask the staff to play BBC radio London in the shower block as I think this would be helpful to visitors for journey planning etc. will definitely return to the site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    25
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have stayed at this site many times. However, our recent visit may well be our last due to the attitudes of the assistant wardens within the same day, (and un-aware of any connection) He managed to be so rude 1st. To a visiting friend who is a very mild mannered 65 year old, church going lady, he actually made her cry. 2nd. he was later so rude to my wife, she has now refused to ever stay at this site again. We all pay a lot of money to stay at Caravan Club sites, that are meant to be a place of rest and enjoyment. However, I believe the Caravan Club should strongly review their training tactics in regards to manners and customer relations, as a lot of them believe they are far superior to the clients and tourists that pay for their employment. They can be absolutely tactless and ill-manered to beyond belief. All the time the caravan club allow this behaviour it will continue to run their bussiness down and spoil the pleasure of camping for a lot of people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Lilly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, Somerset
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Me and my family took are motorhome up to London to go and see some west end shows, we picked Crystal Palace Cavavan Club Site to stay at. The location of the site was excellent! Being only a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Railway station and a small town area.

The site was excellent! Nothing to fault at all! The washing facilities were excellent and very clean! though a little dated, the pitches were excellent and the staff on site were amazing! Its amazing how this great caravan club site can be in the middle of London!

Would recommend if you have a caravan or tent! to visit to London! An absolute must!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyLeo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

In December we stayed at this site which is really convenient for London. A great site with superb shower/wc/washing facilities which was lovely and warm.. and it needed to be in December !! We had four nights there so 'did the Christmas thing'.. Borough Market, Covent Garden, the London Lights and all within a bus ride away. We shall certainly do it again ! As pensioners with bus passes - a great way to see London.

Room Tip: If you have a caravan.. take it and enjoy a London break !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Second visit to this site - last trip was October 2010. The caravan site is fine, everything you would expect, spacious pitches, very clean toilets etc. The main/only reason for visiting this site is to explore and enjoy London so its location is excellent. However, the reason I'm writing this review is to tell you about the first class service from the warden. When booking in she gave me the lowdown on the site and started to explain the public transport services. I asked about the Oyster travel cards and how they worked. To my surprise she offered me two Oyster cards that she would not need for a while and explained that they would require a top up from the local news agent. On topping them up I was told that each card had several pounds on them and all I needed was to put on what I thought I might spend over the holiday. The most you can spend on London Transport is £4 per day so it was quite easy calculate.

I am not a member of the Caravan Club but this sort of service is what makes one want to join. A really nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmer
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Contrary to some of the other reviews, my experience has been positive on the various occasions that I have stayed here.

Clean, helpful wardens and easy access to London (Number 3 bus to the heart of the city).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Having not been camping for a long time and having a restricted budget, we though we would give this place a go. At nearly £30 a night for a tent, I hoped that it would be worth it. £120 for four night spitching with use of toilet/shower facilities is ok, but it's the same price for a camper van in comparison.

The site was easy to find in Crystal Palace park and an easy 10 minute walk from Crystal Palace centre ( 15 mins from the train station by foot) . The number 3 bus, direct into central London (the first tube stop being Brixton) is a five minute walk from the site, has a night bus that runs all night and is very convenient.

A good welcome was given, a double check from the host to make sure we we happy with the site and we dutifully paid. A good level site was given for our tent. There is a food preparation and dish washing area, a hairdryer/sink area, showers and toilets (accessible by code) all in one easy to reach walk in one block. The shower's weren't perfect, some a little weak and occasional interment hot/coldness but they did the job. All areas were cleaned frequently during the day and bins were emptied at least four times a day.

Some noise does come from the adjoining road but wasn't an issue - it was more likely to the person sleeping in the tent next door that kept me awake! There is a secure gate at the front with pedestrian access 24 hours.

Overall I can honestly say I would stay here again. The hosts were polite and maintain a very good information room with very well written advice, on slips of paper that you can take away with you, to find all the great sites london has to offer.

Clean, well maintained by good staff, good facilities for a campsite with excellent access into London. Enjoy!

Room Tip: You can't book in advance for tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkthinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Leigham Court Hotel
#535 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melrose House
#97 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
East End / East London
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Property: Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site
Address: Crystal Palace Parade, London SE19 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site is ideally placed for visitors who are keen to visit London and all its attractions. The number 3 bus near the caravan park departs regularly and goes into London via Brixton, Lambeth Bridge, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus and terminates on Oxford Street. The bus operates all through the night so late night theatre goers need not worry about returning to site. As well as London itself the site is ideally situated for annual events such as the Ideal Home Exhibition, the London to Brighton mini run, the London Marathon, the Chelsea Flower show, Wimbledon and of course Christmas and New Year events. Crystal Palace welcomes tent campers and has tent pitches available to both members and non-members. Pitches can be booked online or by phone - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing