We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site
Ranked #84 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
suffolk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent site”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The site was a little tricky to find when coming from the East as the caravan club only give directions from the west for some reason. Sue was very welcoming and the site was excellent. Surprisingly quiet, plenty of space and excellent clean facilities. Fairly easy to get in and out of Central London by public transport. Highly recommended. We paid £20 a night for caravan and two people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a surprisingly quiet site given its close proximity to London.

It only just makes it into the very good category because in parts it is like a car park with no clear demarcation between the pitches.

The wardens are very helpful and helped me to solve my internet access problem despite them clearly not being IT experts.

The No 3 Bus takes you straight into Oxford Circus. The site is adjacent to the park. Our satnav was playing up and the site can be difficult to find.

On my personal scoring system very good is from 60/100 to 80/100 and I score the site a 63.

Room Tip: Don't arrive Friday afternoon as the traffic was abysmal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon girl
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A long weekend stay in our camper was our first time here. We arrived late in the evening but Tony was more than welcoming and helpful in getting us settled and recommending a place for supper. Campsite was great. Gravel pitches were ideal for the mixed weather conditions, we only have a small van so pitch size wasn't a problem.
Shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water although you might find it a bit stretched in summer. A large park is next door and there are shops and restaurants a short walk away. We travelled into London by train from Crystal Palace station which is a 10 minute walk away, and back by bus, all very convenient as the bus number 3 turns into nightbus N3 and runs throughout the night. We've been camping for years and have friends in London and yet this was our first visit? Great place to stay and excellent value for money. It was, however, busy,so book in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with four children and we were not disappointed.In total only spent sleeping hours in our trailer,as out and about in London.
Had reviews of poor cleanliness,but we found it to be perfectly adequate.Very small pitches,however served the purpose well.Staff were friendly and as helpful as you could wish.
Would use again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Late arrival was no problem to the wardens, first class service (did keep them informed en route). Site is well connected transport wise to central London. Booking essential for peak times, it gets very full. We took grandchildren. Park adjacent is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumps147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have just returned from my stay here, we had a Motorhome and 5 family members stay. The site was nice clean and very well presented. This site was a nice 'getaway' from the surrounding area.

The majority of pitches are on gravel as I am assuming they are all year pitches. Toilet and shower block were 'ok' needed a little updating to be honest. But apart from that it was well worth the money and in a central location to shops, trains etc...

I would say - Be vigilent going around the surrounding area, especially at night as there were signs saying people will attack you for your phone etc etc..

Room Tip: A few grass pitches, most gravel therefore bring comfy groundsheets if you intend to have a tent/car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burg1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have just travelled back after visiting this site for the 2nd time. The wardens are extremely friendly and helpful. The park is situated in a corner of the crystal palace park, a beautiful peaceful corner of London. The number 3 bus takes you into central London but with the starts and stops can take up to an hour. You can cut across the park which will take around 15 mins and you can catch the train into clapham junction. The pitches are a good size, the facilities spotless and an excellent location. My only criticism would be that it would be nice if there was an on site shop selling basics like milk and bread, but there's a garage shop only 5 minutes away. Will definiterly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
2.3 mi away
Leigham Court Hotel
Leigham Court Hotel
#550 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melrose House
Melrose House
#90 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#3 of 4 in Parkend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.0 mi away
Via Lewisham
Via Lewisham
#421 of 824 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Property: Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site
Address: Crystal Palace Parade, London SE19 1UF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site is ideally placed for visitors who are keen to visit London and all its attractions. The number 3 bus near the caravan park departs regularly and goes into London via Brixton, Lambeth Bridge, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus and terminates on Oxford Street. The bus operates all through the night so late night theatre goers need not worry about returning to site. As well as London itself the site is ideally situated for annual events such as the Ideal Home Exhibition, the London to Brighton mini run, the London Marathon, the Chelsea Flower show, Wimbledon and of course Christmas and New Year events. Crystal Palace welcomes tent campers and has tent pitches available to both members and non-members. Pitches can be booked online or by phone - ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing