We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and a nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #25 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location and a nice hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I have found that YHA hostels are generally very good quallity, so St Pancras was no exception. You get what you pay for - clean bed sheets and a secure room and building. Very convienient location to St Pancras/Kings X station.
Staff were friendly enough, although at times it felt like and looked like they wanted to be somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    314
    109
    34
    10
See reviews for
134
64
230
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Friendly staff, great location, modern facility, and good family rooms. Clean. Perfect choice for famlies who want a safe and clean room at a great price.

Room Tip: Book months ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsmart95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Dust, stains on the walls, dirty stained carpets are my thoughts of my stay...I'm sure the cleaning staff only empty the garbage cans and change the sheets and then move on. The public areas looked cleaner than the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGorchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Room was booked in light of extortionate costs of accommodation in and around Central London.

Paid £71 for double room in advance. Last double room available for the Saturday night we wanted to book for in May.

Check in was late afternoon, very quick with two friendly guys manning the reception area. Great location, less than 10 minutes from Euston rail station and probably a couple of minutes less walk to Kings Cross/St Pancras.

Lobby area was spacious, and although we didn't use the facilities on offer, seemed clean from a distance, bright and airy.

Our double room was basic - very basic. Obviously the focus is on affordability (don't expect, TV's tea/coffee making facilities here. Duvet was thin but functional, with an old rickety metal frame bed. We had a room facing onto the main Euston Road (overlooking Kings Cross). The road is very busy, and the double glazing is not quite 100% soundproof so if you're a light sleeper, I'd suggest taking your earplugs with you. There was some storage space in the form of some old cupboards with some hangers.

Air-conditioning unit was set to automatic with no override available. The temperature in London wasn't particular warm when we visited so we found the cold air preset that the air conditioning was set to was uncomfortable (if you turned it off - the noise of the traffic was even louder so not the best of options available. I'm a light sleeper, so I didn't particularly sleep well . If you are a good sleeper, you won't really notice

Bathroom was small, basic (think of a dorm style bathroom on a far smaller scale.

We forgot to take towels, which are available to buy from reception at a cost of £4 (basic cotton towels - don;t expect plush luxuries)

Masses of information if you're on a budget, such as a free guided walking tour of London (pick ups in the morning from the hostel).

We checked out too early to take advantage of breakfasts (served from 7.30 in the cafe area next to reception).

Overall - it does what it says in th tin, but next time, I may fork out that extra money for some comforts at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxystoat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Date of stay: April 14-15, 2011.
Duration of stay: 2 nights.
Type of room: Ensuite Family room
My family and I we are fully satisfied of our 2-nigths stay on this hostel. Good location, breakfast and easy internet access. Helpful staff. Clean room, toilets and showers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Overall a nice place to stay. Good location. Very close to major transport links.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dparrish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed at YHA London St Pancras for three nights over New Years. It is very conveniently located near King's Cross St Pancras station, and its staff are friendly and switched-on. The facilities are great - internet, cafe, laundry, breakfast. Despite such a busy time of year, it still maintained a relaxed vibe and we had plenty of privacy. A big thank you to the staff for giving us advice about going to see the fireworks, and for your cheery smiles when we checked out at 3.30am!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_and_Jox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#65 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#45 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Property: YHA London St Pancras
Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing