We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #23 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hostel is in such a wonderful location and offers truly great value for moneywith 24 hour reception
The young staff being so helpful, friendly and very obliging.
Breakfasts and meals served either downstairs or in the lounge offered good value. We ate breakfast as well as a couple of evening meals and found the food to be very good.
We have stayed on four occasions now from Australia and recommend it to our friends.
We had our own bathroom with toilet
Having a lift is a bonus as is the laundry and luggage storage area in the basement.
This time we had a front room on the second floor and on a couple of occasions it was a bit noisy early in the evening but didn't affect our sleeping.
A really great establishment

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Brilliantly useful place to stay for catching early trains but it really is just a clean place to lay your head. Excellent value for the budget conscience especially for central London but don't expect any atmosphere. Staff were helpful but business like. There is secure storage in the rooms but annoyingly they don't tell you to bring your own lock (I've been to a lot of hostels, not all in the UK) and this was irritating. Bathrooms clean but really need updating. I would use this hostel again but only because the location and price are very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesser_zadkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at the YHA for about 10 or 11 nights in early March. It is really inexpensive for its location--it is a two minute walk from the tube, 15-20 minute walk to the British Museum--but not much is included in the price. The cafe is okay for breakfast, but I would not recommend eating there if you are looking for a substantial dinner. The lounge is nice and very comfortable to bring take-out into and watch tv or something if you feel like staying in for dinner. Internet is really expensive, but the British library is right across the street where there is free wifi ( although if you want to access the internet after 5pm your options are pretty limited). Although the YHA St Pancras served me well for my first trip to London, I would definitely stay somewhere else if I am able to travel there again. It seems that there are many more similar-quality hostels that offer more for a similar price. What you pay for is the location. It is a great base for exploring the city. Staff are friendly but seemed a little impatient with guests at times. Not a big emphasis on hospitality. Next time, I would without a doubt look for somewhere that has FREE internet, a community kitchen, or at least more helpful/friendly staff. Quite a bit of older people staying at the hostel. Was apprehensive about traveling alone, but met a lot of nice people!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The best hostel i've ever been. I recommend it to everybody.Clean, nice, really helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlgirl194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at YHA St Pancras for 1 night in a 4 bed ensuite (private) room. There were 2 couples in our travelling group. We booked online through the YHA website. The cost of accommodation in London is very expensive, this includes the hostels. We paid close to £100 for the night. This is on the expensive side for a hostel, but fairly reasonable for London.

The location of the hostel is excellent. It's directly opposite St Pancras International and Kings Cross Stations, which is ideal for travellers. We caught the Eurostar to Paris early in the morning, so it was only a short walk with our suitcases to the station. It also means that the hostel is convenient and ideally placed to easily get around London.

As we arrived early in the morning, we couldn't check in, but the hostel allowed us to store our luggage, at a small cost. They also gave us tourist ideas to fill in time and were able to offer us discounts and bookings for a number of local attractions. To fill in time, we spent a few hours at London Zoo (don't bother, it wasn't worth it).

The 4 bed private room was small for 4 people, considering each of us had a large suitcase, but for an overnight stay it was manageable. There are 2 sets of bunk beds in the room, a toilet, shower and sink. There was also storage cupboards in the room, which aren't terribly big so they couldn't fit alot in them. The rooms however were very clean.

Not all linen is provided. We had to pay for towels.

If I had to make any criticisms, it would be that the rooms were small, the mattresses on the beds were paper thin and the shower was hard to use. I'm quite tall so I found the shower head too low and you have to keep pushing a button for the water to run. It's a pain, but I can understand it is to conserve water.

There is a cafe/bar downstairs and food and drinks are served at very reasonable prices, especially when compared to other places closeby. They also have a TV in the bar area, which is good for late night sport!

To get from Heathrow, we found it quicker and easier to book a private car. It cost £60 for 4 people and we got collected at the airport, and dropped outside the hostel. It made it alot easier and convenient for us, especially after travelling for 22 hours from Australia!

All in all, a great place to stay in London. It's location makes the rest of London very easily accessible.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Instead of being a comfortable and enjoyable highlight of our 7 day trip to London, our experience at this hostel was so bad, we dread coming back to the hostel at night, after a long day of sightseeing.

The four of us were staying at a ensuite room with private bathroom facilities. We encountered major problems with the bathroom facilities

On our first night there, there was no hot water for the entire building. The staff at YHA couldn't do anything about it because this "discovery" was made late at night. This is understandable and to their credit, this issue was fixed the next day and did not recur during our stay there.

However, starting from our third night there, the bathroom lights flickered and died. Again, the staff at YHA couldn't do anything about it because there were no bulbs in the store to replace the one which died/spoilt in our private bathroom. That's fine, if not for the fact that for the subsequent nights, no effort was made to rectify this issue, neither were we given solutions e.g. change of room, giving us a torch or to use in the bathroom etc. The staff possibly could also just go to the nearest store to get a bulb if their order for bulbs from a supplier require some time to be delivered.

To make things worse, the ladies/bathroom on our floor was under renovation.

We had to use the bathroom in the dark for the rest of our stay. This made our stay very unpleasant. Also, the staff did not offer a single word of apology for our experience there.

The ONLY redeeming factor was the hostel's location. It's just a short 3-5 minute walk away to the St Pancras/ KingCross station.

Travellers who want to meet other people, do note that this hostel is not exactly the kind where you "hang out" at, the ambience was really functional, it is a place where you sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HuiMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

St Pancras YHA is in a great location in central London and easy one train ride from Gatwick to then only carry a heavy backpack across the road to the hostel. Beaut rooms with lots of floor space. Lockers in each room are too small for backpacks. Room bathroom needs to change shower nozzle so it can be directioned for people of all sizes. Biggest downside is no communal kitchen so you cant even make a cuppa and you have to pay for internet which I hadnt done for 5 months whilst staying in hostels throughout Europe which seemed expensive. No reason why internet cant be free like it is everywhere else, it really helps travellers plan their adventure. Location was excellent. Bed and quilt was super comfortable.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing Euston Road arent that noisy with traffic so no need to ask for room that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie1967_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 908 in London
1,199 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#50 of 908 in London
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA will be carrying out improvement works to provide better facilities for our customers which involves extending the reception and café bar, refurbishing the public and DDA toilets and creating a new hostel entrance, Works commence 5 June and will complete by 30 July. We apologise for any inconvenience whilst we carry out the refurbishment but guests will be able to check in/out as normal and meals will be served in the lounge on the 1st floor. The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing