We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean, but some small dissapointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #25 of 853 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central, clean, but some small dissapointments”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed there twice. Very welcoming staff. Rooms a little bit warm we need to open the window. Shared bathrooms are not very nice. The showers on our floor had no showercurtain or something else. I hadn't used it anyway because with a curtain you can't see anything in the shower cabin. So the bathrooms are normally wet in the mornings. Don't forget your slippers. And there isn't a place where you could store your clothes (socks and underwear) properly. A stool would be nice. The breakfast was ok but there wasn't enough room for everyone and having breakfast on a bar stool or a sofa is not much fun. The YHA has a low price storage room with high security. Very good, better than in many hotels. I like the location very much. A lot of restaurants nearby (Pret- a-manger for those who don't want to have breakfast at the YHA) and a bus stop for buses from the west end (great for musical visitors). For one or two nights it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilkeM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    333
    113
    36
    10
See reviews for
143
67
242
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viña del Mar
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This YHA has a wonderful location, two blocks away the Kings Cross-St Pancras metro stop, at the Picadilly Line, that connects you with Heathrow Airport. Is very easy to find from the airport, and it takes a 1 hour journey.

The rooms are very clean, we stayed at one 4 beds room, and it was plenty of shared bathrooms at the floor. There were 9 rooms, and 4 bathrooms, showers included.

The Breakfast is very good, there are 3 kind of: Meal Deal (4.95 GBP), Cereal Deal (3.95), and Kids Meal (2.95). Every one includes non limited tea-milk-juice, and to eat, it depends on the price you paid, but is really worthy.

The restaurant also, is very convenient, you have pizza+beer, or sandwiches with soft drinks, for four people, and that cost around 24 GBP, that is cheap in London.

They have internet, 1 GBP every 20 minutes.
They can rent you a towel, it is 2 GBP each towel, plus 5GBP as guarantee (they refund yoy at check out time).
Luggage lockers, 2GBP the little, 3GBP the big ones, non refundable.

The best: In fron of St Pancras Station, wooooonderful building, also has many stores, to see around, and to buy and eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irenita_vina_del_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wanted a convenient location to visit friends and family in London without breaking the bank. The rooms were quite and very clean. There bar area was relaxed and clean and had a good selection. The best aspect of this hostel is its location, it is a stone's throw from King's Cross/St Pancras which puts you in close proximity to all of the top sites via the underground. It is just one stop from Camden or Angel for a decent night out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed in a 4 beds room and it was quite big. The noise from Euston road is not too bad on the 5th floor. The bathrooms did not feel very clean and things were in need of repair (paper dispensers, soap dispensers..). The showers are not nice if you're short like me: aiming straight at your face!
I had good memories of this place 5 years ago, with a great breakfast buffet. But things have changed and the breakfast is quite expensive for just one piece of bread OR croissant OR pain au chocolat (not even very good).
The location is the only perfect thing about this hostel. There is a TV lounge, but no place to make a cup of tea, as they sell it at the bar.
The London Central YHA is much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here one night between coming in from Paris on Eurostar & flying out of Heathrow 28 hrs later. The location was great for that. Easy & cheap to leave luggage in a locker until check-in time. Family room with 4 bunks & bathroom also had table & chairs, bedding provided. Pay for wifi (5GBP/24hrs), rent towels. Cheap breakfast available, food was ok. Close to British Library & British Museum. Great pub dinner nearby at the Skinners Arms. We stayed in a street-side room on 2nd floor & did not have too much noise, though we did not open the windows. For the money this was really a good place to stay. Better than I expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here overnight on Saturday, as we were attending a concert at Hyde Park.I spoke to the hostel before we arrived in London, to ask if we could possibly drop some bags off, so we didn't have to lug them with us. Despite the fact that check-in isn't until 2pm, and we were arriving at 11am, they said that we could come and use the locker facilites at the hostel.

So, upon arrival from York into Kings Cross, we found the hostel (a mere 5 mins walk from the station) and dumped our heavy overnight bags.This proved very handy, and VERY cheap, as we fitted two large holdalls in one locker and it cost just £2. We spoke to the reception desk and informed them that we would be late checking in properly, as we didn't expect to arrive back from the gig until gone midnight. Again, they were very accomodating and said that was absolutely fine.

When we eventually did arrive back at the hostel at 1am, check-in was very quick and efficient, and we were soon into our room. Basic, but clean, Just what we expected. My mum and I had booked a 2 bedded room with private bathroom and it was quite spacious. There were lockers in there too, and if we were staying for a longer period of time and leaving items there during the day, we definitely would have used this facility. Room was nice and cool (with individually controlled air conditioning unit) and the bunk beds were unexpectedly very comfortable! Despite what I had previously read in reviews of this hostel, and despite the fact that we were in a room overlooking the very busy Euston Road/St.Pancras Residential hotel, it was very very quiet. We were on the 5th floor, and were slightly deafened by loud music, but nontheless, the noise was minimal really.

After a good night's sleep, we ventured downstairs to find somewhere to have breakfast, and after seeing what was on offer in the hostel, we chose to eat there. If you are after a cooked breakfast, then apparently the Irish bar next door to the hostel (O'Neil's) is very goodI However, the YHA provide an extremely fresh continental breakfast and I recommend this highly. We opted for a 'breakfast basket' each, which we then filled with a choice of items.This was a choice of a variety of cereals, a pastry (croissants, pain au chocolat or Danish pastry) a piece of fruit (banana, apple, kiwi or orange) and a choice of different flavoured yogurts. We could help ourselves to as much fruit juice (apple, orange or cranberry) or iced water as we wanted, and the same was true of the coffee and tea. All of this for the price of £3.95 each!!!! IN London!!!! Absolutely fantastioc value. It was all really fresh too, and milk jugs on tables were constantly being topped up with fresh (not long life) , as were the coffee pots and juice jugs. The young man on the breakfast counter was very courteous and extremely efficient.

On departure, we were advised that we could still take advantage of the left luggage lockers downstairs in the basement, so we put everything we didn't need until our journey home in there for the day, so we just had our handbags with us for a day of sightseeing in London. We collected these on our way back to Kings Cross Station at 7pm. Very handy and SO MUCH CHEAPER than the £10+ per day for a locker at the station.

All in all we had a great stay at this hostel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors are no doubt quieter. We were on the 5th floor and we could hardly hear the traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoDivaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First, we change the booking and no problem with that, the staff was very nice. Then the room was very clean, with bathroom and toilets in it.
Sheets on beds, clean too.
The staff is very helpful and you can eat in the small restaurant in the first floor when you arrive.
There are a very safety room for luggage (but you have to pay 2 pounds for that)
The only bad point : the noise with the street... Impossible to sleep with the window opened, but you are in London so it's no shocking...
Not too expensive and 5min by foot from St Pancras station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongsetsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,404 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 853 in London
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
YHA London Oxford Street
YHA London Oxford Street
#14 of 853 in London
603 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#48 of 853 in London
552 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Property: YHA London St Pancras
Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 853 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA will be carrying out improvement works to provide better facilities for our customers which involves extending the reception and café bar, refurbishing the public and DDA toilets and creating a new hostel entrance, Works commence 5 June and will complete by 30 July. We apologise for any inconvenience whilst we carry out the refurbishment but guests will be able to check in/out as normal and meals will be served in the lounge on the 1st floor. The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing