We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice staff & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA London St Pancras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London St Pancras
Ranked #25 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice staff & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

First,the staff are really nice. They greet you when you pass by the reception, And they are really helpful if you have any problem. Once, they helped me booked the ticket for MAMMA MIA. Second, the location is fantastic, it's near the King's cross station which is a "transportation centre", you can go anywhere in a super easy way. Third, the room I stayed for a week is big (maybe it's a room for the disabled?) But if you are a light sleeper, you might feel not that well as it's near the road where cars passing by all the time.And the bad thing is that you have to pay everything if you are not a YHA member, for example, Wi-Fi. Anyway, the hostel is fantastic, and I would stay there if I travel London again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    307
    108
    33
    10
See reviews for
129
64
226
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

St. Pancras YHA is strategically located...almost near to everything in terms of transport, there are train stations (Kings Cross, St. Pancras and Euston) and bus stops as well...British Library is in front of YHA, British Museum is just 30 mins. away (leisurely walk), SOHO just as close...nice facilities - small restaurant, storage facilities, nice lounge area, accommodating staff...price is reasonably inexpensive...

Room Tip: always choose the lower bunk bed unless you are not an early riser, bring a portable lock for the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tozansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Firstly - you've to pay for everything extra - none of which is made clear when you're booking.

Secondly, in the lounge area, a fight broke out (verbal) over a tv remote and reception had to be called and a lot of yelling was the result. Then there was a guy in the commons area facetiming his friend who was making 'hash'. This guy proceeded to show the video of making hash to another random in commons. As a girl traveling with just another girl - it made me feel very unsafe. I decided to leave the hostel three days early.

Although the location is quite good - the area is not.
Also the toilet was very unhygienic and didn't flush properly.

Room Tip: Do not ever ever get a shared room with randoms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bananna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Being yha, you have to pay for everything additional to the bed if you are not a member - wifi, left luggage, breakfast etc. This isn't made clear when booking which it definitely should be. The beds are very narrow and the duvets are equally narrow, making a good nights sleep near impossible. Being so huge there is almost no atmosphere and the wobbly lockers in the rooms do not offer adequate security. The en suite bathroom could do with a good clean and a shower curtain.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely cafe within this hostel. Internet facility's available & laundry. No kitchen. Staff were very helpful. A lot of activities available to book through them. Good location, right across the road from kings cross train station. Rooms are good, only 4 beds in ours, the room felt very homely & bathroom in room too which is handy! However there was a pongy smell we said about a few times but nothing was done about it. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

First time in this hostel although we have stayed at others in central London (St Pauls and Central). The rooms were the best we had stayed in but the other 2 have better locations. We stayed for 4 nights in a family room, which was basic but clean. We were on the 7th floor facing the road and the traffic noise at night wasn't too bad, and it didn't disturb your sleep too much. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. We never had any problem with the servicing - the bathroom was adequate and cleaned very day. Bins were emptied daily. We just used the hostel as a base and didn't use any of the other facilities apart from the luggage store on our last day as checkout was at 10. Lockers were large enough for 3 medium cases (£3 for locker). Seemed to be mainly families staying (but it was school holidays). Location - handy for St Pancras or Euston tubes and several pubs/restaurants/coffee bars within walking distance. Great place for a cheap base and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - it is noisy with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good location and very friendly helpful staff. We had a private room with ensuite which whilst looking a bit tired was comfortable and was cleaned and serviced daily. There were two lounge areas and food was available at a good price - the breakfasts were good value at 4 pounds and included a pastry, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea/coffee and juice. The only negative was the laundry which only had two washing machines, one of which was out of order. We did however find a laundromat around the corner so all was not lost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at YHA London St Pancras, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear you felt the room was tired. We do plan to give some of the rooms a fresh coat of paint to freshen them up. I'd be grateful if you could e-mail me at stpancrasdeputy@yha.org.uk to tell me which room you stayed in so I can make sure that this happens. I am pleased to report that we have now had the broken washing machine fixed! I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

James
Deputy Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 827 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#65 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#45 of 827 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pancras

Property: YHA London St Pancras
Address: 79-81 Euston Road | King's Cross, London NW1 2QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London St Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel makes a fantastic base for weekends away, budget family breaks and sightseeing holidays. Please note, we do not have a self-catering kitchen available for guests at this hostel, but meals and snacks are available in our cafe-bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA London St Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pancras Hotel London
London Pancras St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing