We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wrong most definitely righted”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #64 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our latest stay here was a complimentary night due to a bit of a fiasco this time last year where we were treated a little shoddily (that review is on here further down). I’ll say one thing for the Bloomsbury Hotel, if they’ve wronged you and you let them know about it, they certainly try their utmost to put it right. They didn’t need to put us in a suite, and they didn’t need to provide full cooked breakfast, but they did and it was much appreciated. The suite was superb: spacious and luxurious. The quality of the breakfast constituents was quite exceptional for a large hotel. The Bloomsbury is a lovely hotel and the staff are (aforementioned fiasco aside) brilliant. It is again my first choice for accommodation in Bloomsbury (but without a pools win, not a suite unfortunately).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,764 - 2,770 of 3,354 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

got a small room but got a larger one only when i requested. location is great. service and staff are friendly and helpful. there are no ramps in the outside for easy access but there is a lift on the side. housekeeping is poor. i stayed for 8 nights and the room was not vacuumed once! bed covers rarely changed.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Lovely public areas and helpful staff but we had a very small room with a bed that was impossible for two people to sleep in. You roll into the middle instantly and spend all night gripping on to the edge like you're on a ship! Don't go in room 518! They did lend us an umbrella though!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkFirstimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just got home from an amazing and relaxing stay at the Bloomsbury Hotel. The location of the hotel is just perfect, within walking distance from the British Museum, Oxford Street, Covent Garden, the west end theatres and so on. The Staff here were all so friendly, helpful, warm and approachable! Nothing was too much trouble, and all the staff made sure that we had the perfect stay. Our room was beautiful, and the largest that we have stayed in, and our bathroom was perfect, with a bathtub and a wet room style shower. It was cleaned regularly, and each we can back from being out it had been tidied and we had fresh towels each day, which was a perfect touch. The restaurant was brilliant, the food and service were above and beyond anything we have experienced before. We didn't want to leave! Thank you Bloomsbury Hotel for giving us the perfect city break!! We will be coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Outstanding hotel, stay he regularly for work. Very central, walking distance to lots of nightlife, beautifully decorated, and just altogether much better now that Doyles have taken it over from Jury's.

If it was to provide any form of constructive criticism, I would much rather have a buffet breakfast than have to wait on my order being cooked. That is so old fashioned.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sg17463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The staff and the rooms really are first class. The bathrooms are particularly impressive with underfloor heating and the whole hotel is just great. It is however expensive and breakfast is certainly not worth the extra £21 !

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandauForte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I had a fantastic 6-night stay at the Bloomsbury Hotel last week. The room was spacious & quiet; well appointed with comfy bed, robe/slippers and nice amenities. Free wi-fi and a US-style electrical socket were huge bonuses. Very convenient location one block from the British Museum & quieter end of Bloomsbury Street in one direction; in the other direction, just around the corner from the bustle of Tottenham Court Road and Oxford St, with a Sainsburys, Boots, and Caffe Nero within a block. Very close to the Tube as well.

But the best part was absolutely the people who work there. Every person at reception was so friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff were lovely and the concierges/doormen were fantastic. A special thanks to Adnan on the front door, who made me feel so welcome - he was really above and beyond.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CushmanGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,077 in London
2,328 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,077 in London
3,443 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,645 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#61 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £173 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing