We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is worth 10 stars!”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #54 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel is worth 10 stars!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I book this hotel twice a year for business to hold training classes, and from the time you are greeted at the front door until the time you step into a cab to return home, the staff at the Bloomsbury Hotel give 150% to their customers. From my first encounter with Ana Silva in booking my training rooms, to the wonderful Husain (not sure if I have his name spelled right) who sets up our training room (I swear he can read my mind!), to the wonderful concierge staff who do all the little things for me, this hotel goes above and beyond the definition of quality customer service.

The front desk staff are helpful with any room requirements and no matter who you see at the Bloomsbury hotel, they have a smile on their face. I was sitting in the lobby waiting for a client and just observing everything, and this hotel has so much charm and elegance. You see the doorman not only open the door for the guests, but also for the staff, truly a sign of professionalism. I have nothing but good things to say about everyone and everything at the Bloomsbury Hotel.

The food is wonderful and the bar staff are amazing. I’m not sure how many people actually work here at the hotel, but they come from all over the world and it’s wonderful to talk to all of them. I already have my dates booked for 2014 and we are customers for life!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMooreKingwoodTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear MMooreKingwoodTX

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure looking after you again, and a pleasure to meet you.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Ana also sends her regards!

Best wishes

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,208
    740
    168
    44
    16
See reviews for
428
1,553
165
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here mid october for one night to go and see a west end show. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant , including the gentleman who shared our lift on his way to unblock a sink!
Our room was 620 and was spotlessly clean. On our return in the afternoon they had turned down the bed, replenished the bottled water we drunk and re tidied the room. The only Niggel we had was The mattress was ready for replacing as we found our selves rolling together in the middle , and we are only average build , our sleep was disturbed because of this. The breakfast servis was also a little slow , but The quality of the food was worth the wait.
All in all excellent location , lovely decor , and good value for money.
We defiantly will recommend and return again.

Room Tip: Any floor is a good choice as this is a very quite location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil1965jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear neil1965jo

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, and thank you for your comments about the mattress, it is very helpful.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you both again, on your next trip to London.

Best wishes

Daniel

Deputy General Manager, The Bloomsbury London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had stayed at this hotel several years ago before it was taken over by the Doyle Collection and were impressed by the dramatic changes made to the decor of the hotel. The lobby has an exotic touch with Moroccon chandliers and furnishings. The rooms are beautifully outfitted with luxury amenties. There was a very high staff to guest ratio. On checkin we were given a room with a closet but no chest of drawers. They quickly offered us some other options with more storage. One amenity that was not listed on their website which we used several times was their modern gym. The hotel is located about a block from the Tube and the British museum. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a chest of drawers since not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygirl_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear luckygirl_2011

It is an absolute delight that we could welcome you back.

It has to be one of the best locations to stay in London - minutes from the British Museum, Oxford Street, Covent Garden, Soho and many other London attractions.

We all hope you had a safe journey home, and very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Daniel

Deputy General Manager, The Bloomsbury London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff here are incredibly friendly. The front desk staff that helped us were Mikel and Rickey. They both were terrific. Very honest and kind. Great guys. Helped us with everything. Genuinely cared a lot about making sure we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88elysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Elyse D

I am delighted to read your comments about Mikel and Ricky, both fabulous team members.

We are all very proud to work for the Doyle Collection, it is great to hear that members of our team really made a difference to your experience with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Daniel

Deputy General Manager, The Bloomsbury London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altdorf, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

_We stayed there with 9 family members. Our overall experience was excellent. The location is ideal in the heart of London. As it was in a quiet area we could sleep with the window open. The lobby welcomed us with friendly stuff and beatiful flowers and many little lit candles beautifully arranged. We were very surprised about the range of breakfast choices. Ms Estelita and her team was very friendly and helpful. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Esther S,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are so pleased to hear your comments about the flowers and hotel scent.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Daniel

Deputy General Manager, The Bloomsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Everything is nice about this hotel. The lobby with its original shape and decor is a must if you enjoy the style of the 30ties. You feel very welcomed as soon as you enter the front door and it is most certainly value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Thomas62_10

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is nice to see you enjoyed the design of the building, by Edwin Luytens.

We hope to see you both very soon.

Kind Regards

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The staff were all very helpful (thankyou Kashif). The hotel has a small boutique atmosphere, a lovely foyer and very comfortable rooms. The location is great. Very close(about 10 mins walk) to Oxford Street and Soho. Bathroom very small but would stay again as rest of room very comfortable. Complimentary tea & coffee service lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Jo A,

On behalf of Kashif and the team - thank you! I very much enjoyed reading your review and personally congratulating Kashif.

We both look forward to your return to The Bloomsbury London, on your next trip to London

Best wishes

Daniel

Daniel Healey, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,067 in London
1,494 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,461 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing