We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bloomsbury

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ketton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Arrived and found I had booked the following night, my mistake but reception could not have reacted better. I sat in a comfortable sofa with a complimentary drink near by whilst it was sorted. I was even upgraded for my inconvenience. Fanstatic given it was my mistake!! The rooms are to a high standard and the facilities were great. Location was great for my business needs the next day and its only a short work to Oxford Street or the Theatres. Will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Bob E

I am delighted that we could find a solution to the mix up in dates, we encourage our team to be both sensitive and considerate to the needs of our guests. It is fantastic they we could offer you this upgrade.

We very much hope to welcome you both back to The Bloomsbury London soon!

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,106
    720
    161
    43
    16
See reviews for
399
1,487
157
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed 1 night recently for a charity ball. We've stayed several times previously and it never fails to disappoint. From the moment we arrived to when we left we received personal service. The hotel has a particularly welcoming atmosphere, creating the perfect ambience, with friendly staff, well designed rooms with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenMurtagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear StephenMurtagh

Thank you very much for taking time to contribute a review Mr Murtagh.

It is great to know that you enjoy the hotel, staff and ambiance we deliver, moreover it is wonderful to know that we will be seeing you again.

If there is anything I can do in advance of your next stay with us, please do let me know at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Spent last weekend at The Bloomsbury and had an excellent stay. Suite 312 was large, well equipped and very comfy. The roll top bath was a lovely touch. Did not eat at the hotel but had drinks in the bar. Staff extremely professional and polite. Check in and out was swift and well organised. One slight hitch with our bill was promptly corrected and apologised for. Will definitely book to stay again in the new year for our next London trip as the location of The Bloomsbury is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartbeat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear AMP1471

I am delighted your stay was so enjoyable.

Thank you for the notation in regards to your bill, this is very helpful to know.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury London.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed 1 night last weekend as a special pre-xmas treat and was not disappointed. It's a beautiful, cosy, stylish, traditional hotel with fantastic service. The rooms have been modernised and decorated to a high standard. The location was perfect, within walking distance of Oxford street and Soho. I was impressed with the small touches that made a difference such as the cold hand towels at check -in and the refreshing jugs of cucumber water in the reception area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Alan F

Thank you for your incredible review, words such as beautiful, stylish and fantastic service are lovely to hear, the team are very humbled by the kind comments left on TripAdvisor.

The cold or warm towels are testament to our attention to detail, as well as the touches along the way such as cucumber water.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel, and if there is anything I can do to assist you, please feel free to contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinasloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Bloomsbury Hotel we were pampered.The staff were friendly and welcoming, couldn't ask for better. One member of staff, Brian, was an absolute star. We were having a problem sourcing a gift for our granddaughter , Brian got it for us on his day off - what service. We were upgraded in our room as it was a belated wedding anniversary trip to London,the hotel gave us a card plus a bottle of champayne. All in all a very enjoyable stay. would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Paul S

Thank you for your glowing review.

It is incredibly gratifying to see that one of our team members made this experience for you so memorable. Brian is a fantastic individual, and he as truly shone in this instance. I will personally ensure your kind words are received by Brian.

With Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Visiting London for a Carol Service, 3rd stay at the hotel. Due to a problem during our last stay we were upgraded to Superior Room with breakfast. Checked in early and left luggage as attending Church Service and came back at 1500hrs to be given our room. On entering room on the 3rd floor there was a "booming" /disco noise underneath and I rang Reception asking if we were under the bar? They dealt with the problem as last stay was disrupted due to noise. The Guest Manager upgraded us to a Suite on the 7th floor and also gave us Complimentary dinner.
We only had time for a quick meal in the restaurant due to attenting the Military Tattoo in the evening. Staff at the Bloomsbury Hotel make your stay, they go out of their way to be courteous and make each individual feel welcome at the hotel.
Will stay again.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carola59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear carola59

Thank you very much for your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, in particular the team who responded to the noise complaints you had to ensure a peaceful nights sleep.

I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Bloomsbury London in th near future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My job force me to travel all over the world so I take the hotel experience very personal and for me The Bloomsbury hotel was a great surprise because I find such a beautiful hotel with rooms carefully desing to add space style and comfort in a tight London. Really loved it

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Palaider

Thank you so much for your review!

For a guest of ours to state they 'really loved it'' is music to our ears, I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel to that extent, it is precisely what we set out to achieve and wonderful motivation for us all at the hotel.

With best wishes

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing