We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel !!”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Bloomsbury hotel has a very good location in London. Quiet area but still close to Soho and Covent garden. Shopping, pubs and clubs nearby. Friendly staff, fantastic facilities and really nice rooms with very comfy beds. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gassen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Gassen2014

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review.

It is a pleasure to receive such kind comments, I am delighted that you had a great experience with us.

If there is anything I can assist with for future bookings please do let me know at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,290)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,941 - 1,947 of 3,290 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Bloomsbury combines traditional charm with a contemporary twist. The staff are exceptionally polite, service is discrete and efficient. The rooms whilst not large are very comfortable with high quality fixtures and fittings. There's free wi-fi and nice touches like welcoming chocolate or pastries. A great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Greg T

Thank you for taking the time to publish a review.

It is fantastic to read that your stay was so enjoyable. It is important to us that we make it easy for our guests to enjoy The Bloomsbury, I am glad that through the welcome amenities, wi-fi and the staff that you encountered echoed that philosophy.

If there is anything I can do to assist you with future reservations please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With best wishes

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I really enjoy my stay in that beautiful hotel in the center of London near Oxford Street to do shopping and near the British Museum by foot... Food was good. Very nice people, a very good staff. Room very quiet and confortable. very good bed.

Room Tip: corner room is quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelatInt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear RelatInt F

I would like to thank you for your review of The Bloomsbury London.

Your comfort and enjoyment is a our primary goal, I am delighted that we got this right for you.

I hope your journey back to Paris was pleasant, and I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on your return to the capital.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Comfortable beds, helpful staff, clean and tidy. They were happy to keep our cases for the day after we checked out so we could enjoy London for the day before catching the train home. Fabulous location, tube station just around the corner. Excellent and recommended to all, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h3ll13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear h3ll13

Thank you very much for your review of The Bloomsbury London, it wonderful to share with the team that guests enjoy our offering and service. It is both gratifying and motivating.

I hope you had a pleasant train journey home, and if I can be of any assistance to you please do let me know at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stay in December staff where helpful from the first phone conversation to checking in and out. Hotel in good location couldn't fault anything. Well done Bloomsbury sure we will be back again. Breakfast was good beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Bridget P

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Bloomsbury London.

It makes for wonderful reading and of great comfort to know we will see you again. If there is anything I or my team can do to assist you with your next reservation please do contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best wishes

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A travel agent recommended the Bloomsbury as her favorite boutique hotel in London, and I can certainly see why. Elegant, accommodating of all our needs, well-situated..this hotel has it all. My husband and I had previously stayed in another hotel in the Doyle group (the Marylebone) which provided excellent service, but which was not as well-located and simply not as, well, pretty! The concierge was helpful at all times, as were all the staff members. We enjoyed the breakfast as it enabled us to see the sights all day before becoming hungry enough to seek out a late afternoon pub meal. Don't miss the Bloomsbury Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loki611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Loki611

Thank your first and foremost for choosing to return to The Doyle Collection. I am delighted we had the opportunity to look after you during your time in London.

The Bloomsbury London is steeped in architectural history and makes for a wonderful escape in a listed building, we take great care in maintaining the original features.

Great to hear that breakfast was fulfilling and gave you a start to a day in this wonderful city.

I very much hope to see you again in the near future at The Bloomsbury Hotel London.

Kind Regards

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Bloomsbury is an outstanding hotel. Great location, quiet, comfortable, modern but in a building with real charm and character.

London has many great places to stay, but the one thing that made this hotel so enjoyable, was the staff. Everyone was so genuinely welcoming and kind that it made such a real difference.

Sleep comfort was outstanding as was breakfast with a good buffet selection, with hot food prepared to order.

Close to all the important parts of town and just 60 seconds from The Underground, this is where I would choose to stay in London every time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPH0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear CPH0_0

Thank you very much for your kind review! I am genuinely warmed to know that our team made such a positive impact on your experience. This coupled with your sleep comfort and enjoyment of the local area and convenience in staying with us is fantastic to read.

I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Healey

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,072 in London
2,265 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,072 in London
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £179 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing