We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential understated English style”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #68 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for 1st time here on a recent Sat nite out in London. Having stayed in more central London hotels over the years than I care to recall, finally we've found one which I'd be more than happy to return to (without having to spend excessively)
Lovely welcoming lobby area decorated in rich warm reds, & immediately makes you feel as though you're staying somewhere really rather special. We had a well appointed room with high quality furnishings, spotlessly clean & very light due to huge windows, which appear to be present in almost every room.
Really excellent staff, especially the ever friendly concierge's where nothing was too much trouble.
Slick check-in & check-out - really like the invoice-under-the-door on morning of checkout - allows you to check over your bill at your leisure rather than hurriedly checking it over at reception - nice touch, & simple but good idea to simplify your stay.
Didn't eat at hotel as we had restaurant reservation with friends.
Taxi's always available right outside the hotel, & great location for short walk to Tottenham Court Rd Tube station, & Tottenham Court Rd car park too where a hotel-sponsored discount is available.
All in all - really very good - will definitely be back when we're next in central London again.
Well done The Bloomsbury !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were especially impressed by the levels of service and the interior decoration throughout the hotel. Our owner takes great pride in the design, look and touch of our hotels. It gives me great pleasure to commend the concierge and front desk team owing to your review – thank you.

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 3,464 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Bloomsbury Hotel is in an excellent location, we did not have to use the public transport at all as everything was within walking distance, The service at the hotel was second to none, friendly staff always happy to help. We were greeted with lovely smiles from the moment we walked through the doors,nothing was too much trouble. I loved the smell of the hotel, they had perfumed candles burning throuhout the hotel lobby and the decor was beautiful. In our room we had nice little touches, dressing gowns and slippers plus amazingly an umberella which is always good in our lovely English Weather.. A nice little touch when checking out we were offered a bottle of water and they offered to look after our bags whilst we finished our sightseeing of the area. I truly think this hotel should be a 5 star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were especially impressed by the levels of service, extensive variety of amenities and our bespoke candles, commissioned just for The Bloomsbury Hotel, they are popular with our guests!

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A wonderful hotel in the heart of London's Theatre Land. A warm welcome from the reception with a welcome healthy drink from the 'juicery'. Some of the most attentive and courteous staff I have encountered. Spotlessly clean hotel, quiet, excellent food, enormous bed, TV with all channels,nice touches, even a large umbrella had it been raining. An expresso machine in the room and adequate tea/coffee making facilities. WIFI,room service, in store fridge,safe,hairdryer etc. Yes I would return to this hotel without any doubt.Very handy for the British Museum and all the theatres . An abundance of bars, restaurants and a London Red Bus every minute to the whole of London and railway stations and the underrground. Yes ,a perfect hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellitasitis213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were especially impressed by the levels of service, extensive variety of amenities and our recently launched ‘The Juicery’, which is proving very popular with our guests!

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Bloomsbury Hotel should be a 5 star. From the moment you walk through the doors and are greeted by the concierge you are aware that this is not just another hotel.
This is a unique and individual experience with excellent food and service and attention to detail. The hotel staff are very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the room was excellent. We only stayed one night but left wishing we could stay longer.
You must try this wonderful hotel.
We will definitely be back again!
Jan and James Honey (Cornwall)

Room Tip: You do not need any tips, all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhoney50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were especially impressed by the levels of service, location and understated luxury in the heart of London, we aspire to offer a 5 star experience!

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked the Bloomsbury when visiting London for a friend's birthday and were very impressed by both it's splendour (to us provincials it seemed VERY swanky) and its warm welcome. Literally a stone's throw from Tottenham Court Road at one end of the street and the British Museum at the other, if you are doing touristy London it's very happily situated. We arrived on a sunny Saturday afternoon in March having nabbed a bargain deal on the internet so were very pleasantly surprised to find a quality hotel with unerringly polite and helpful door and desk staff. We were on a budget so didn't check out the cocktail bar (although the voucher for a free cocktail was a nice touch) and headed up to our room - closely followed by the doorman with our bags. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We were located up on the sixth floor in a compact but well-appointed room. Tasteful decoration, lovely modern bathroom, and the usual TV, tea and coffee making facilities as well as a nice view of the Centre Point Tower (no, really - we thought it was cool) meant we were happy bunnies. We slept in a very comfortable bed and despite the hotel being busy, weren't disturbed at all by other guests coming and going. We didn't stop for breakfast as we'd spied an attractive looking diner opposite and headed there (VQ - also recommended) but having stayed once I would most definitely choose this hotel again - it's not often that you experience such a quality hotel in this price range in the capital, and this one is well worth a return visit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful and kind comments. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were especially impressed by the levels of service, location and understated luxury in the heart of London.

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thank you to The Bloomsbury Hotel for a lovely stay and for making my husband's special birthday even more so! We didn't get a free upgrade when I asked but they sent two glasses of bubbly and a desert with 'happy birthday' written on the plate to our room a few minutes after our arrival- fab!

The location is great especially for shows. The hotel staff are polite and accommodating and the hotel itself is clean, elegant and very comfortable. The Rooms are well decorated, it's a nice boutique hotel with no 'chain' feel to it. There are also nice touches like espresso coffee maker. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent celebration with us and felt the service and comfort levels were first class throughout, we are very grateful for the recommendation as a Boutique hotel in London - The Doyle Collection offers understated luxury in a warm, personal and genuine environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Superb hotel which I've had the pleasure of staying at on business many times over the last 3 years. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms contemporary and the food excellent. Malaka - the duty night manager is the bar to which every hotel manager should be assessed and Maria who manages the Restaurant provides excellent service with a smile, even at 7am!!

If your considering the hotel for a business or private function the George V suite at the end of the corridor is by far the best!

Highly Recommend this hotel

P.s It also smells great - You'll understand what I mean when you go there!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and felt the service and comfort levels were first class throughout, we are very grateful for the recommendation.

Thank you also for taking the time to highlight Maria and Malaka, they are both delighted to be mentioned and I was pleased to be able to recognize them personally as a result of your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#71 of 1,081 in London
3,742 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#43 of 1,081 in London
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,081 in London
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#64 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £185 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing