We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #59 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Brian, the concierge, was like an old friend every night waiting for us when we came home. He gave us great suggestions, helped us with our reservations, and always had a smile on his face. Maria in the restaurant was so helpful in getting my lactaid-free milk and greeted me daily by my name. Louise at the front desk explained the bill to me and was so helpful--what a place. It's worth every penny. The hotel room was clean and bright with nice amenities. Great location--we went to the theatre two nights we were there and it's all within walking distance, and the British Museum is in the next block. If you're going for fish and chips, a few blocks away is Rock and Soul--yummy! If we go back to London, why would I stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hallway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiKomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and that both Maria and Brian made your stay special.
Our location is wonderful to easily reach Covent Garden, Soho, Holborn, The British Museum and many of London’s main attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,387 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fantastic hotel very welcoming ,Concierge go above and beyond ,reception staff lovely check in and out very quick offered towels, refreshments. Rooms very comfortable and spotless beds turned down every night and chocolates .Dressing gown ,slippers , Nespresso provided .Towels changed daily and rooms cleaned .Joel the bar men in Landseer bar is one of the nicest people you could every meet service excellent a true gentlemen and a credit to the Bloomsbury. Breakfast is quality and nothing is to much trouble always addressed by our full names nice touch in my eyes that they take the time to remember guests thank you Maria for looking after us would not hesitate in recommending this hotel best hotel I have ever stayed at and look forward to going back next year . Kind regards Mr & Mrs Cavener

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Cavener,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and that Joel made such a fantastic impression. I will be sure to share and recognise the exceptional service with Joel and Maria.

We have really thought about our breakfast offering, I am delighted you could enjoy it throughout your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Bloomsbury Hotel for two nights and we could not have enjoyed our stay more: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, The room was really spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious, very nicely decorated and stocked with shower gel and body lotion etc which were lovely to use. We were also impressed that there was not only a kettle in the room for making tea but an espresso machine for real coffee.
The breakfast is fabulous: The pastries are as good as the best French patisserie, there is fresh fruit and excellent yogurt along with an extensive menu of cooked dishes and the healthy options are a fantastic idea.
As for the location: It could not be better: Incredibly central but in a neighbourhood of character.
The fact that this hotel was designed by the famous architect Lutyens was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room on the 6th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boswell1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review.

It is a real pleasure to hear of your experience, all the small details like the Nespresso Machine, Patisserie at breakfast and the Super foods are very important to us. It is these details that make the difference, I am so pleased you could enjoy in this fabulously restored Luytens building.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is just a fantastic hotel. Rooms are large and really clean the staff are very helpful. Location is amazing right in the heart of theatre land. Food service was slow but food good when it did arrive! We will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very pleased that you will be returning to The Bloomsbury London! Your comments are a delight to read and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, excellent staff, best location possible for seeing London. It's right near a tube stop, but we never used it because almost everything is in walking distance. The room is very nice, with a great shower. It is small, but more than adequate for 2 people. Definitely will stay here again when we come back to London.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hkon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We too share your enthusiasm for our location, it is almost unbeatable, we are very fortunate to be located in London’s most central point.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury Hotel and London.

Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent hotel, welcomed in from heavy rain and Porter took cases from us and showed us to the reception desk to allow us to check in where we were given hot, wet cloths to freshen up! Room on 7th floor, adequate sized, lovely decor, clean bathroom with toiletries which were replaced during our 3 night stay. Well stocked tea tray with Nespresso machine, although we didn't use it as we weren't sure how to! Didn't see instructions however they may have been there and we just didn't see them. Bed turned down and dressing gown placed on bed with slippers on first night along with 2 chocolates! Bed turned down every other night and chocolates appeared again! Free Bottles of water were replaced daily
Breakfast was fabulous with a large continental buffet and hot options available. The staff were very welcoming and friendly especially Maria and Espelita who were very attentive and always asked if we would like more toast and coffee etc!
When we were leaving the friendly porter who we had spoken to a couple of times in the lift took my case to the front door for me and My husband was offered a couple of small bottles of water for the flight home.
All in all a lovely hotel, pricey but in a great location. Would certainly go back again and recommend to anyone
NB if you are coming from Heathrow, don't do what we did and get off the tube at Holburn as it's quite a walk with luggage. Change at Leicester Square and head for Tottenham Ct Rd and it's just round the corner!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our hotel.

It is music to my ears to know how well we looked after you both, although I am sorry that the Nespresso machine was not easy to use, we are addressing this with a small card which we hope will allay future concerns.

I must say Maria and Estelita are truly unique ambassadors of the hotel, they epitomize our service ethic and demonstrate what we look for in all of our team members. It will give me great pleasure sharing this with them both.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bloomsbury Hotel and London.
Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good Hotel the location is excellent; the hotel is pretty much in walking distance of many London attractions including the British museum which is up the street from the hotel. The staff is courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,077 in London
2,358 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,663 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,484 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £164 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing