We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good London hotel”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #55 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good London hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really nice hotel - stayed here for my husband's 40th. The room was on the small side but to be expected in London. It was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel had a great location and we were able to walk everywhere but in spite of this it was very quiet and we weren't disturbed by noise at all. The staff were all incredibly friendly, helpful and polite and dealt with a broken coffee machine immediately. We didn't have breakfast included as this seemed quite expensive and didn't eat at the hotel. Overall impressed by the general ambience and really good staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was very quiet and we weren't disturbed by noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    737
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
416
1,533
164
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a shambles of a stay.

The good? Great location. Rooms are decent.

The bad: checking in, the receptionist informed me that he couldn't make a transaction with my card. Next day I ring my back to find out that contrary to what the receptionist said, €366 euro was withdrawn from my account by the Bloomsbury!!!? Incompetence.

When I tried to settle the remaining outstanding balance I was met by a hotel receptionist manager who made a simple transaction as confusing as possible and delivered every reply in a most condescending tone. I will never know why some people choose a customer facing role!

At night when coming back to the hotel I discovered my card didn't work to gain access to my room. Again, back to reception I went. this time with the night staff to deal with. Different staff but same terrible attitude. The concierge sarcastically suggested he walk me to my room in a manner that suggested I wasn't bright enough to work the door! Thanks pal!


As for value for money, this place is a bit of a joke. Continental breakfast is something like 12 pounds for toast porridge and juice.

The jokers charged me for my complimentary paper on check out too.

Avoid.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank GaryandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback.

We are committed to listening to our guests and in the spirit of improving all aspects of our guest experience I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you, may I ask you contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Many thanks and renewed apologies
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having stayed in this hotel several times whilst on a weekend theatre break to London we found this hotel very comfortable. There is always clean linen the rooms are warm and there is always hot water. Breakfast is varied and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravellers3861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

nice sweet british hotel very well located near the British museum and close to Tottenham station in a quite area. Breakfast could be more complete with a larger choice of vegetables and more warm dishes like sausages and sunny up eggs in the continental buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is supposed to be a high end hotel in one of the best areas of London, and it is priced accordingly. Therefore you would not expect a room with a tiny window facing a wall just a couple of meters away, and a bathroom with a sink so small you can not even wash your hands comfortably (see photo, the size is the one of an airplane sink).
At breakfast you will find some frozen fruits, that are not yet unfrozen...
A lot of better alternatives in London!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frequentraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in and would recommend to anyone. I took my girlfriend here for valentines day and it was well worth the 1-2 hour trip. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive, e.g. helping me locate a nice restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is located perfectly, close range to Oxford Street for shopping during the day, with a lot of restaurants surrounding for the evening. The stay itself was incredible; the room was immaculate on arrival and in the morning you won't want to leave the bed due to the comfiness.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was delighted with this hotel when I spent a night there after a wearying sojourn in Africa. The staff gave me a warm welcome and allowed me to check into the room early, for which I was very grateful. The room was more spacious than I expected for a major city, and was very nicely appointed. The bathroom seemed quite luxurious, as well. The location, within easy walking distance of the British Museum and other central London attractions, was very convenient, allowing a person to return to stash packages or rest for a few minutes between destinations. Although I ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant mainly because I was too tired to go anywhere else, I was pleasantly surprised at the delicious food and the charming, candlelit atmosphere. My 6:15 wake-up call on the morning I left was followed by the delivery of a perfect cup of coffee, a very nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing