We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Its a lovely building. Rock and roll location. The interior is really something else. Its lavish but warm and welcoming. The room are small but cosey and you dont feel cramped. Its a special place to stay. Good beds, quiet for sleeping. A classy classic. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and to know the interior design was appreciated as ‘classy’.

Thank you !

Best Regards

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,136
    729
    163
    44
    16
See reviews for
409
1,507
160
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Bloomsbury Hotel in London, UK. It was very nice and clean. The people were very friendly. It was located to local shops and restaurants. The British museum was within walking distance. Also, you could walk to Soho, Picadilly Circus, and Leceister Square. The only thing that I did not like about the hotel is that we saw a mouse in the hotel lobby. Also, the rooms are very small but are ver clean. We informed staff and they took care of it. Other than that, we had a great time. The breakfast was good. The hotel is convenient to the subway station as well. Overall, the stay was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaSonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us. I am delighted with how your stay with us went, especially breakfast and the feeling you left us with.

I must say, that your comment in regards to your sighting is of concern to me, and I would be very grateful for the opportunity to discuss – please contact me at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed just for one night for and to see a show. Really excellent hotel.Had hot towels and drink at reception.Lovely room with air conditioning, very quiet with a turn down service..Great location near to tube and West End. Excellent breakfast and attentive staff.Really felt this was a very special hotel. Really the best hotel in the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us. I am delighted with how your stay with us went, especially breakfast and the feeling you left us with.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to London.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent hotel that I would be happy to recommend for a trip to London. Superb location for all types of visitors. Staff extremely friendly in general and were very pleasant and efficient in particular at reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us. I am grateful that you have singled out our reception team, I look forward to thanking them personally for the efforts in making your stay an excellent experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to London.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed on business last October and was not disappointed. In fact the disappointing thing was that I had to check out and leave.

Good points:
Location to Oxford street & West end theaters
Beautiful boutique hotel
Would prefer over both Raddisson hotels which are 60 second walk away
Quiet location - which is ironic given its location to Oxford street
Service service and service - this is how it is done, from receptionists, restaurant staff to porters
Room size is good for central London
5 minute walk to Tottenham Court road tube station
Very nice breakfast


Bad points:
I had to leave
Couldn't fault it on this trip,

I am due to stay here again in July so I will be interested to see if the hotel has maintained its standards since my last trip.

I stay in this part of London regularly and this hotel can be pricey relative to the 2 Radisson hotels which as I mentioned above are extremely close however if you are not price sensitive, or an a personal trip, then I would choose this one every time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OllieR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us. We are delighted that the experience made you feel special, and that our team could contribute to an overall exceptional experience. I will be sure to share this review with them all at our next team gathering.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to London.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just had 2 wonderful nights at The Bloomsbury. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel special and when they found out it was my wife's birthday and our anniversary they lavished us with little extras. The room was comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff were so attentive and friendly. It's position just off Tottenham Court Road and 2 minutes from Oxford Street is so handy. Next trip London this will be the hotel of our choice. Never got to use the fitness centre so cannot comment. Criticism, the usual one, the room lighting is inadequate. Why do all the hotels forget that women need to do their hair and put on their make up

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience. A belated congratulations for your recent celebrations! I also appreciate the very helpful comments in regards to room lighting.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next return to London.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Of course wherever one stays depends so much on one's needs and this hotel fit well with adding a touch of indulgence to a business trip. The location provides easy access to reasonable eating, shopping, and of course the British Museum is right there. But if you are comfortable walking in London and open to exploring it's a great spot. Easy access to trains and busses too. But the staff is what really makes Bloomsbury shine. Every single one took excellent time and attention to help the guests. Thanks to all!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience in London and of course with us. We are delighted that the experience made you feel special, and that our team could contribute that little extra ‘shine’. I will be sure to share this review with them all at our next tam gathering.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next return to London.

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing