We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, accommodating staff”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here overnight after seeing a show, the hotel is ideally located for the a Westend.

The staff were welcoming on arrival and very polite.

The downside is that the room was very small for a superior room, but it was clean and had everything you would need.

Breakfast was good with a variety of choice and again efficient staff

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I appreciate that room size is very important, particularly if you are travelling with a partner. May I suggest for future visits you consider one of the higher room categories? Our rooms vary in size as you would appreciate from our standard room, through Superior, Deluxe and Studio Suites.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,290)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 3,290 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 15th August and was very impressed. Our room was amazing and staff were so very friendly, could not do enough for us. Brian the concierge was very welcoming with a great knowledge of the area. Giles was brilliant in the Bar, he kept the Bar area clean at all times and he did fantastic cocktails. Louise was also very friendly and so helpful. When we arrived in the afternoon we saw some people having afternoon tea and the cakes looked absolutely mouth watering.So pleased with our experience, would definitely recommend this to anyone an cannot wait to return, will difficultly be having afternoon tea soon. Thank you to ALL the staff for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It gives me immense pleasure in congratulating Joel and Louise for providing outstanding service, and indeed the entire team. Your comments really are the perfect tonic for motivation and going that extra mile.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Love this hotel have stayed their twice in the past few months and my second visit was just as great as my first. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome from the concierge`s at the door to the lovely receptionists checking you in, during our stay not once did we meet a staff member who was not smiling and extremely helpful. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully furnished and everything you need or want, also the most important aspects beautifully clean, comfy beds and pillows. My second stay was for our Anniversary and minutes after checking into our room there was a knock on the door and the hotel had sent up a beautiful slate platter wrapped up really prettily with gorgeous fruit and pastries also an Anniversary card such a lovely surprise and so unexpected a really nice gesture.
Whilst I appreciate there are a lot of great hotels in London now I have found this one I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel any time I visit London in the future and would highly recommend it as was done to us. A little haven in the heart of a big City!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and a belated congratulations for your anniversary celebration. I am thrilled that we have made such an overwhelming impression, we all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our hotel room was lovely as well as comfortable. The hotel itself not only looked elegant but also smelled amazing! The breakfast far exceeded expectations. However, the best part of the Bloomsbury, is its staff. Brian, the concierge, made recommendations, drew countless maps and inquired each day about our adventures. His friendly, professional, caring attention really made us feel cared for. The lobby staff and restaurant staff were all so friendly and helpful! I wouldn't dream of coming to London and staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different but just ask for what you need and the staff will accommodate you!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Zxcvbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very proud of our breakfast offering and service, and most importantly of our staff. I will enjoy sharing this with Brian too, he is the perfect example of true professionalism and genuinely, his knowledge of London continues to amaze me.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed two nights 50/50 social and business. The whole experience was perfect in every respect. The staff are superbly trained and managed and the rooms are extremely well thought out - right down to the heated bathroom floors. I had breakfast and a business lunch twice and both were professionally managed. I usually avoid hotel breakfasts because I find the crowded industrial fast-feeding systems uncomfortable, but this was pleasantly different.

It would be very difficult to find a better hotel, with more welcoming and efficient staff, in any location in London. I travel extensively for business and spend many (too many) nights in hotels but I would very happily return to the Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am so pleased that your stay with us was ‘perfect’ and that we met with your expectations in both business and pleasure.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Recently spent 3 nights at The Bloomsbury. From the moment we arrived we had a first class stay.
The staff were polite and friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is well situated for Theatreland, shopping and sight-seeing. The surrounding area has many good cafés bars and restaurants to suit all tastes.

The breakfast at The Bloomsbury is fantastic. A good start to anyone's day! Rooms were clean and well-appointed apart from a lack of drawer-space. The lighting was a little dowdy in the rooms for our taste too but I am 'nit picking' now. Overall a lovely break in a lovely hotel. I would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is so pleasing to hear that you had a great time with us and of course in the Theatreland of London. I couldn’t agree more, breakfast is essential to a good start for the day. Our team take great pride in our offering and will undoubtedly be energised with your comments.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were lucky enough to win two nights in London and had a choice of three hotels.
We were so happy we picked The Bloomsbury Hotel,
Location, very pleasant staff, and a lovely room.
It was our first time in London, so we needed some help, Underground etc
Overall a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wexfordmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and of course a belated congratulations. We are delighted to have hosted you both, perhaps next time you will visit one of our other London Hotels when you are next in the capital.

If there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,072 in London
2,265 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,072 in London
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £179 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing