We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and stylish with excelent service”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #56 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This charming hotel and it's ever so friendly staff really took me by surprise! Maybe because I hadn't done much research, and therefore didn't know what to expect, but I couldn't stop smiling during our stay. They even picked up I had birthday, and delivered a birthday card to our room! The room was a bit on the small side, but it was clean and very smart decored. PS! Do not miss breakfast! Best hotel excperience in London, and it's been quite a few...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frode H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am thrilled that you feel breakfast is not to be missed, we receive so many positive comments – and it very warming to know that it is resoundingly an excellent experience for so many of our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,288)
There are newer reviews for The Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 3,288 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a great, reasonably priced and perfectly located hotel for the London visitor. The rooms are a good size for a city hotel. Comfy beds and well appointed bathroom. Quiet at night. Delightful bar and restaurant. We only partook of the hearty full English breakfast which was excellent (so you can skip lunch!). The barman and the doorman were particularly friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within very short walk of British Museum, Oxford St, Soho,Trafalgar Sq and the theater district but all of London's many attractions on both banks of the Thames are readily accessible on foot from this hotel. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank podge747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us, moreover, also I am thrilled that breakfast was such a hit. Perhaps next time you will have room for lunch, and more time to spend enjoying the jazz tones of our bar and extensive British cuisine offering

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel in early August. From the moment we we welcomed to check out, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were very well appointed, the concierge and staff were extremely helpful, and the breakfast outstanding. The hotel is a short walk to the British Museum and the HOHO bus. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda Atzinger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted you both had a cosy and relaxing stay with us, moreover, I am thrilled that breakfast was such a hit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

Best regards
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. We entered the hotel to a wonderful aroma of burning candles. The staff greeted us with warmth and friendliness and gave us a glass of fresh juice whilst we checked in. The hotel was stylish, perfectly located for the hub of the London sights and shopping. We had an anniversary cake and card delivered to our room, compliments of the staff of the hotel, which was a great personal touch. We dined on the terrace and the food was delicious and staff very attentive, polite and friendly. Worth a visit to the cocktail bar to finish off your evening with the jolly barman! We will definitely revisit and recommend it to anyone visiting the big city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, belated congratulations to you both for your anniversary, I hope you enjoyed the homemade cake.

The team in the bar would love to make you a cocktail on your next visit to Landseer Restaurant and Bar, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation
Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Bloomsbury and were very impressed. The room was a nice size, the bathroom was great and all was very clean. All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and attentive. The hotel is in a great location for London sites, theatre and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAlks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am grateful for your review, and time taken to comment on your stay, I am thrilled that you left the hotel ‘very impressed’

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I visited the bloomsbury for the night with my wife and I have to say I was not disappointed the staff were quick to assist and answer any queries. The rooms were 1st class we had a standard double it looked like a suite. The bar in the basement was quite discreet with the low lights and chilled ambience. And the full english breakfast was good quality next time iam in London I will be returning to the bloomsbury and to top it off the price was good considering it was in central London compared to hotels for more money for a lot less quality.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am grateful for your review, and time taken to comment on your stay. All of our rooms are finished to an equally high standard, whilst our rooms do vary in size, determined by the room category reserved.

Our entry level rooms begin at Standard, through Superior, Deluxe and Studio Suites. Furthermore, an excellence breakfast is something we work very hard to ensure is a pre-requisite of booking The Bloomsbury London.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although we only stayed one night the experience was first class and I've no doubt we will return.
Staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The choice for breakfast was varied beautifully cooked and presented. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel is ideally placed for access to the West End and Oxford Street. You weren't hurried out in the morning, which was really nice. In summary, " a really pleasant experience."

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirkHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielHealey, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, I am pleased that you are keen to return and moreover delighted we provided a first class experience for you both.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and if there is anything that I can assist with please do contact me directly at daniel_healey@doylecollection.com

With renewed appreciation

Daniel Healey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,260 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,072 in London
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £178 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing