We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #61 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The hotel is ideal for walking to covent garden, shaftesbury ave etc. We stayed for one night and paid £133 plus VAT for a double room. The room was nice and clean but quite dark. There was tea/coffee making facilities, bath and shower. There is a nice bar and restaurant, large lobby area where you can order drinks etc. when the bar is closed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,327 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

Fab hotel, would return again! Great location for Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford street. Excellent rooms - comfiest bed I've ever slept in. Plenty of bars and restaurants in area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This hotel is beautiful, warm and stylish and the staff are very friendly. You enter the hotel to be greeted with a gorgeous huge reception area with lovely decor and beautiful fitments.
Our room was lovely and clean and well fitted. They kept our party together so we were in adjoining rooms.
The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts Ive had - lots of choice - I had a homemade waffle and maple syrup!
The bar was atmospheric and stylish and the drinks were a good price for london I thought
Just one thing as mentioned by somebody else - the check in was quite late and our room wasnt ready. When you've had a long journey I think 2 pm would be an acceptable checkin time!
In conclusion - a gorgeous place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We booked a room at the Bloomsbury specifically because of it's location - walking distance to theaters, restaurants, the musuem, etc. We arrived early around 1PM and were told that our room was not ready yet, so we left our bags and went out for lunch. When we returned we were told the hotel was overbooked and there was no room for us (we were also told that other people were in the same situation as some sort of consolation that we weren't the only people they did this to).

While I think this is totally unacceptable, they did the only thing they could and re-booked us at their sister hotel, the Kensington. That hotel was excellent, but it is in a completely different area of the city. While they paid for a cab to take us to the other hotel to check in, we still had to pay for our transportation to go out in the evening because we couldn't walk to the restaurant/theater. We also asked if they would compensate us for that, but they said no.

The final thing that bothered me about the whole situation was that when we arrived at the other hotel they booked for us, the front desk there seemed to have no idea about our situation or that they owed the cab driver for our fare. They had to call back to the Bloomsbury to confirm our new reservation and made the cab driver wait to pay him (this was a bit uncomfortable). The Bloomsbury could have called ahead to make sure that things went more smoothly.

So, they lobby looks very nice, but unfortunately we never got to see the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Seat24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

First impressions count for a lot. From the moment the doors are opened for you by 2 doormen on your arrival you know you have arrived somewhere you want to stay. Reception was friendly and efficient and offered to help with theatre bookings, dinner bookings etc. Incredibly we were offered a smoking room which we took. This turned out to be on the top floor of the hotel but the speedy lifts made light work of that.
Stunning views from the window over the rooftops towards the BT Tower made me glad I am a smoker. The room was not large but was certainly adequate for our needs, after all how much time do you actually spend in your room when you are a tourist in London.
The room was clean and was cleaned every day of our stay, the bathroom had heated floor and heated mirror which is a godsend for shavers!
All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and approachable.
The location is excellent, within 2 minutes walk you can be in the British Museum or Oxford Street.
One word of caution, if you book through an agent such as Booking.com or Expedia keep your booking confirmation, you may need it. When we came to check out the hotel tried to charge us their standard rate which was £40 dearer than the rate we had got through the agent. If we had not had the agent's receipt we may have struggled.
Apart from that slight niggle we had an excellent stay at The Bloomsbury and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussBrighouse_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We had a one night stay for a theatre trip and found The Bloomsbury excellent. We were welcomed and all the staff were polite and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. We decided to have the pre-theatre dinner in the hotel rather than hunt around for a place to eat, and were very glad that we did - the food was delicious, beautifully presented (and good value for money) and all the staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was a treat, and again we had excellent attention. Thank you Bloomsbury, we hope to do it again sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We stayed here for one night. We liked the style of the hotel, funky and really nicely furnished. The building is beautiful and has plenty of historic features.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (after 3pm) which was disappointing but we were offered an upgrade to a suite (albeit a smoking room). As non-smokers we were not really keen but wanted to get into the room and also were tempted by the upgrade!

Although the room was pleasant and spacious, I would not describe it as a suite as it was similar in size and amenities to a deluxe room our friends were staying in. There was a separate dressing room area and a part of the bedroom was set aside for two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was lovely with separate shower and a large bath with a tiled-in TV.

Although we were happy with the room initially, later on we had problems with temperature - despite the air conditioning being set to the lowest temperature of 16 degrees celsius, the room was uncomfortably warm. Unfortunately, as well as being ineffective, the air conditioning was very noisy. Like some other hotels of this genre, the lighting was subtle (i.e. wholly inadequate) in the bedroom.

Our biggest problem was with the underfloor heating in the bathroom. By the following morning the floor was so hot it was too hot to walk on. It couldn't be controlled from inside the room and had to be adjusted from a cupboard in the hallway. This did improve matters a bit but the whole room was made so unbearably hot we were glad to check out.

Breakfast could only be described as chaotic. There were insufficient numbers of staff, so that they did not have time to clear tables - one long table became a dumping ground as they - and other guests - cleared away used crockery. It took nearly 15 minutes for us to get a menu and order tea/coffee. When we eventually got our breakfast (which was perfectly nice), they further let themselves down by providing an empty bottle of sauce and leaving half-used pots of jam.

Overall, I would not return to this hotel. We may have been very unlucky with room and breakfast but there are much better places to stay in London in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelier311, Manager at The Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay.

First of all, thank you for your positive comments regarding the appearance and features of the hotel.

However, I would also like to extend my apologies regarding the issues you experienced with regards to the room category, temperature, under floor heating, and breakfast. I was disappointed to read this, as we strive to provide our guests with memorable luxury and high levels of service. I apologise this was not what you received during your stay.

Once again, my sincerest apologies. Should you wish to contact me further, I invite you to do so, and assure you that all feedback is taken seriously.

Kind Regards,

Michael Neve
General Manager, The Bloomsbury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,295 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#62 of 1,076 in London
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#59 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £183 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing