We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #357 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have for some time wanted to stay at the Trafalgar. What a huge disappointment apart from the location. The check-in was somewhat laborious to say the least. I had booked what was described as a double room plus. I am also a gold card holder and had therefore expected a nice room. The room was rear facing and of very poor quality altogether. The lighting in the bathroom was the worst I have EVER experienced in any hotel anywhere. There was no light anywhere near the sink and mirror. The bath was small and the shower curtain a cheap and horrible plastic texture. There were cracks in a large number of the tiles surrounding the bath which was both unsightly and unhygienic. The hot water was not consistent as the temperature changed all the time and because the bath was rounded at both ends and the shower was obviously above one end of the bath it proved impossible to actually stand under the shower itself.
We left a telephone message asking for a turn down and fresh towels but I had little faith that we would receive them as the phone had rung for 4 minutes without answer and eventually I was asked to leave a message. I therefore asked the front desk for fresh towels when we went out for the evening.If I had not done so then I am sure that we would not have received them. When we returned later that evening there were new towels on the bed but all the used towels were still lying on the bathroom floor.
On checking out we were never asked if our stay had been pleasant which is normally the case.
Taken individually many of these criticisms may appear minor but overall they all add up to a rather poorly run hotel and certainly not the sort of standards one would expect in a 4/5 star hotel
Given the high prices charged I felt completely underwhelmed with the service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 426.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colingduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Trafalgar Hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your time with us and that we did not have the opportunity to address specific issues during your time here.

The boutique, intimate feel of The Trafalgar Hotel is indeed very different to that of most typical hotels but is in fact what most of our regular guests love about this hotel. I am however sorry that this was not to your taste.

Please accept my apologies on behalf of our teams, who on this occasion have not delivered the high standards of service you rightly expect when choosing to stay at The Trafalgar Hotel. Your response have been fully discussed with our teams.

I am sorry that you did not find your experience at The Trafalgar as enjoyable as others on this site did but would like to thank you for your feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    866
    403
    146
    90
See reviews for
517
1,107
153
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Well what can I say. Just over a year ago I gave this hotel a glowing 5 star review but that's all changed after my latest experience.

It's a long story which ends with the hotel over-charging me £400 incorrectly and I am still trying to get this resolved weeks later. So be warned, it's a great place to stay until something goes wrong and then no accountability is taken to resolve an issue. The staff and service have also gone down hill rapidly and as very high cost 4 star hotel it's value for money is not so good anymore.

The only good thing about my stay this time was the location of the hotel. It has gone down hill every other way in my estimations and I'll finally be using the rest of my Hilton Honors points and staying with a different hotel group in future.

Email for more details of exactly what went down.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We are disappointed that we could not speak to you personally regarding your frustrations as it is always our intention to deal with any queries on a personal level over the phone, which helps to resolve any issues quickly and efficiently. We are pleased that the issue has now been resolved following a misunderstanding with Hilton Honors and that we have been able to work closely with our Corporate office to ensure you received a credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is THE PLACE to stay if you want to be in the middle of the action. You can walk to many of the most important museums and tourist venues - including Picadilly Circus, Leicester Sq, Buckingham Palace, and the London Eye. The hotel itself has upscale (but not luxurious) accommodations. There is not much storage space so if you are staying more than a few days, you might have difficulty living out of your suitcase. The hotel's rooftop bar is a popular spot in town. The regular restaurant (in the basement) serves an excellent breakfast including the traditional English breakfast and several choices of benedicts, including eggs royale and florentine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time in order to provide The Trafalgar Hotel with your constructive feedback following your recent stay.

We very much appreciate your kind and positive feedback regarding the service received from our teams. We do appreciate your honesty when providing your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
282 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Trafalgar on business. It seems to attract a rather him crowd (hip, not tony) whose companies are the footing the bill, so they act as if they own the place.
The staff was charming and helpful, the deluxe room with a view of the square comfortable, and the breakfast well done.
Perhaps it is a trifle expensive for what it is, but everything in London is overpriced, and the location is prime.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently stayed in the Trafalgar Hotel and have to say the overall experience was fantastic, the room was basic but modern, nice and clean with everything you need. The staff were fantastic and did everything they could for you, the only disappointment was a slightly unorganised breakfast system and had to wait to have our tea/coffee order and was never offered toast.
The best aspect of the hotel was certainly its location, with all major tourist attractions a short walk away. We found our way there easily getting the train to kings cross and the tube to Piccadilly circus.
Another thing to add is that although we understand prices are high in hotels such as this but adding a 12.5% service charge to each bill made having a drink in the bar expensive. We were also disappointed that the rooftop bar wasn’t open due to poor weather conditions, but we understand this is beyond the control of the hotel.
Overall a wonderful stay in a fantastic hotel 

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience whilst staying with us at The Trafalgar and would like to thank you for posting your wonderful comments.

Your feedback regarding breakfast has been passed on to our teams for their attention and where necessary training will take place to ensure that the breakfast service continues to meet our usual high standards.

The hotel is certainly a fabulous location for any London visitor and hopefully next time you visit, the weather will be better and you will also be able to experience the fabulous rooftop terrace with views across London

We are proud of our service at the hotel but please note for future stays that our service charge is discretionary and is noted on the bills presented to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

We work in London but had a dinner event so decided to stay in London. I booked through last minute.com and for £120 got a double room at the trafalgar hotel. We were up graded which was very kind and the room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the staff were very helpful. The downside was that the room was slightly tired but apart from that it was excellent value for money. It really is a fantastic position and if it is even remotely warm you should have a drink in the vista bar on the rooftop which is great. All in all we had a good night.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us and we are delighed that you enjoyed your visit.

In particular we were pleased that you enjoyed evening drink in Vista, our rooftop terrace, and as you mentioned it is absolutely delightful in the evenings with views across London.

We do hope you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Reception was just good looking, nothing else. Three people were not able to do a check in. The gave us the wrong room. The room was dirty, hair of the former clients everywhere. The bar was o.k.. However very bad service...the hotelmanager is not worth to be an employee of hilton. what a pitty for the extraordinary location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pasci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We were disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience at The Trafalgar Hotel and we are sorry that you did not ask to speak to the Hotel Manager, who would have been able to resolve any frustrations or issues at the time. With reference to your other comments, we would like to thank you for your feedback and will be investigating the issues you have mentioned immediately with the relevant Heads of Department, as this certainly does not reflect the experience that we provide our guests at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#197 of 1,067 in London
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#255 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing