We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you get a good rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #361 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not bad if you get a good rate.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the only hotel in Hilton's portfolio that is not branded as a Hilton, it was, if I remember correctly, going to be the start of a funky up to date sub brand and indeed it was probably ahead of its time when it opened quite a few years ago. Regrettably there are many other hotels that would fall into this funky category and the Trafalgar is looking a little dated. I liked the big rooms and amazing triple glazing when meant the room was very quiet, there was no hint of London traffic noise. As a Hilton Gold card holder I was well looked after and really have no complaints. A little bit of money needs to be spent, particularly on the bathrooms which are looking a little tired, and to bring the bedrooms up to spec.This could be a great hotel. As with other guests I feel sure a better system could be in place for the roof terrace bookings, I had a booking confirmed in an email, but discovered this meant nothing as there was a private function, so why give me a booking if I could not use it? It just annoys people! So don't rely on getting up there. Come on guys I am sure you could sort out a better system,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistant to General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your stay with us at The Trafalgar Hotel, in particular your comment regarding Vista bookings.

This exclusive area is a very popular venue for both our guests and for private functions and I am sure you will be delighted to hear, we have recently reviewed our booking process as a result. We now ensure we have more space for our in-house guests, however, we do recommend that they book in advance to avoid disappointment as we receive many reservations to enjoy this beautiful area overlooking Trafalgar Square. I am sorry that you experienced a problem with your reservation and I sincerely hope that you will contact us to discuss or to make another booking in the future.

Please accept our apologies and your comments have been forwarded to the Team for review.

Thank you again for posting your feedback and we hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again very soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    871
    406
    147
    92
See reviews for
522
1,115
153
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The location of the hotel could not be bettered and the staff were really excellent. However I did find the room a little 'tired' and the public areas rather 'tacky'. Slightly better lighting in the corridors would be good too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eii M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistant to General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest

We were pleased that you took the time to visit our Trip Advisor page and have noted your kind comments regarding our team. We were thrilled to read that you thought they were excellent as we do pride ourselves in our customer service.

Our hotel is a unique boutique property and is the only non branded Hilton hotel worldwide. As a result it does offer a slightly different experience for our guests in terms of decor and ambiance, particularly with the lighting and we are sorry that this wasn't to your liking.

We do hope that it will not prevent you from staying again with us and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel on sunday night with my husband and baby. The hotel was very helpful before arrival arranging a travel cot in the room , special amenties for my husbands birthday also and booked the hotel rooftop bar.
The corridors and lifts were very "funky" and our baby loved the colour changing lights and dance music in the lifts.
The room was very spacious and the hotel was in a great location.
The table that was reserved for us in the rooftop bar had a great view (there is no cover charge for hotel guests) - make sure you ask to sit at a table with the highstools with a view (otherwise you wont see anything). Drinks were expensive (but this is london and worth it for the view).
Breakfast was brilliant, great choice and all the staff were very accomodating and great with the baby. Overall we were mega chuffed with our choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistant to The General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest

We were delighted to welcome you and your family to the Trafalgar Hotel and thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with fellow Travellers. We were pleased to hear that your baby was fascinated too by the ambiance of the hotel.

It is always a pleasure when our guests leave the hotel delighted with their choice of stay and we would absolutely love to have you back soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location of the Trafalgar Hilton is excellent. Public transportation outside hotel door. Walking distance to many sights. Otherwise, the atmosphere of the hotel hallways and room was unpleasant. Food below par.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistant to The General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the ambiance of our unique boutique property here at The Trafalgar Hotel.

We do appreciate that the experience, decor and atmosphere is not to
everyone's liking and I am sorry that you left disappointed.

We would love to welcome you again and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is not worth the money they are charging. There lots of alternatives in city with better decor, ambience, better facilities and service. I only booked into this hotel as it was associated with the Hilton Brandy - I was expecting the usual Hilton quality and service and therefore was happy to pay the extra. I was very dissappointed. On the postive side, I was highly impressed by the V open restaurant. at the roof top. Great set up providing great views of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistant to General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our popular Vista rooftop bar and terrace, with it's enviable views across Trafalgar Square and London.

Needless to say it was disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy the unique boutique style, which is very untypical of a Hilton Hotel. We receive many positive comments regarding the contemporary style, however, we do appreciate that some guests would prefer our more traditional Hilton branded hotels and it is a personal choice of course.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Vista in the future and that we may be able to change your mind with another stay at the hotel.

Hope to see you back.

Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have been to London a number of times but this location is the best for sightseeing and convenience. Literally less than 100 metres away from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. Tube station less than 5 monutes away and an easy walk to the tourist hubs around Chinatown and Covent Garden. The hotel itself is not bad but not great either. Pros: free WiFi in the lobby and the breakfast is very good for a small diner, especially if you purchase the breakfast voucher. Rooms are quite spartan and no complimentary Wifi in the rooms. The hotel is trying to be stylish so can be a bit dark but hopefully you are spending most of your time outside sightseeing. I would stay there again, simply for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latebloomerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Executive Assistance to General Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Gues

Thank you for your honest feedback on our Trip Advisor Site

I was pleased to hear that you would return to stay with us again, We do understand our style is a little different from most Hilton branded hotels, but we do receive many positive comments regarding our contemporary boutique hotel.

We trust that you will return soon.

Kind regards
Sally Bell
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

You are in the middle of it all here. Fairly small property right off Trafalgar square with Charing Cross tube stop and multiple bus stops right outside hotel. Less than 1/4 mile from Buckingham Palace and you can hear the chimes of Big Ben from the rooftop bar. Small rooms (this IS Europe after all), but tastefully appointed. Our room was on 2nd floor right over a bus stop, but we heard no street noise at all. Hallways are dimly lit with blue mood lights, this can be disconcerting at first but the initial shock was actually quite relaxing.

As others have said the rooftop bar can be booked for private events in summer, but the one night of our 4 night stay it was available they had prime seats reserved for hotel guests. Basement restaurant has great breakfast, but lobby has a bar, and on weekend nights it is packed and noisy beginning early afternoons. The place feels more like a bar than a hotel, no room at all for guests other than a narrow walkway to elevators. That would be my only complaint about this place, all in all a fine location for a family of 4 to enjoy this fine city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlabsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,068 in London
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#100 of 1,068 in London
853 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#255 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing