We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #361 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

At the Trafalgar Hotel we experienced some really great staff. Team member Austin arranged for soft drinks while we waited just a few minutes for our room to be ready. They were attentive and cautious regarding my daughter's food allergies. A lobby bar team member (sadly, I didn't make note of his name) even sent a snack to our room for her because she couldn't eat the chips (fries) in the restaurant. And one front desk team member, Ibby, came to our room to fix a snowy TV rather than have us wait for maintenance. Five stars for the staff. The hotel itself is great for the younger, hipster crowd. The bar area is pretty vibrant in the evening (read noisy). The rooms are large and great for a family. The two queen bed room is the typical size of an American hotel room. The common areas are renovated but the rooms feel a bit dated, not bad - just not recently updated. Hence, the four star overall rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor and for your kind words regarding Austin and Ibby.

I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    865
    401
    145
    88
See reviews for
511
1,095
153
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked to stay at this hotel for my 30th Birthday and had been looking forward to it for some time, I have to say we were not disappointed. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and dropping our bags off before check in so we could make the most of London was no problem at all. We had a beautiful room over looking the square. I also received a complimentary selection of cakes as a birthday gift which went down a treat! If you have a room over looking the Square expect to hear some road noise but this is to be expected if staying somewhere so central. We would defiantly stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much fro taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your birthday and that we were able to make it even more special for you.

I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Don't get me wrong.... This by no means is a shabby hotel at all.... But the location is outstanding, the arquitecture beautiful but the service was average.... ok I was there with a Huge group of people... we must have been some out overwhelming but the rooms were small, the food was average, except for the slow roasted herbed chicken they had at that time which was superb....! And i didn't get to enjoy any of the amenities.... So try it out and see.... who knows maybe its a lost gem....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to see that your stay was not up to your expectations. I do hope that you return to our hotel and have the opportunity to experience everything our hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This has got to be one of the best locations for a city hotel anywhere. The Traflgar is a Hilton but it has its own unique styling and this theme is carried through from the lobby to the lifts to the bedrooms. The rooms are a decent size and there's a large bathroom with shower and bath. Despite the central location opposite Traflgar Square, the rooms are well soundproofed and I got a good night's sleep. Altogether it is a high four star standard although a bit on the pricy side. Staff were friendly and professional throughout and breakfast was above average.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilofEnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Trafalgar on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a great hotel if you want to be close to everything in London. I stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and it made an impression on me back then. It is a minimalist hotel in the sense that the rooms are designed in a minimalist fashion. However; the rooms are really small by any standards, especially as it relates to London hotels. Bathroom was well appointed and also with a minimalist design...very cool.

The food at the hotel was ok...the breakfasts on the weekend were very good. The dining area is not all that large so pay attention to the friendly notes the staff leaves you regarding the best time to secure breakfast. We were downstairs by 9 on Saturday and Sunday and never had to wait.

The bar that you walk thru to get to the reception area is really nice...and the staff were truly amazing. The music that played continuously at the bar was really nice...house music with class.

Despite an active bar scene, there was never any noise heard in the upstairs rooms...I was on the third floor.

Though this is a hilton hotel, the hotel really does not ever let you think you are in a hilton property...the trafalgar, unlike other hilton properties utilizes different soaps and shampoos than the other hiltons....just a funny little add to this review.

Oh, the Charing Cross tube station is less than two blocks from the hotel...very convenient.

Did I mention great staff...these folks seem to actually enjoy their jobs.

If you can get past that this is right on Trafalgar Square, you should give this hotel a stay. I travel to London 4-6 times a year, I will definitely stay at the Trafalgar Hotel when I travel to London again in 2 months.

L

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you are planning to return in two months!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent in many, many ways. From customer services to rooms and locations, we had no complains. Awesome location, very near entrance to charing cross and walking distance to big attractions such as Trafalgar Square, Leicester square, Westminster etc.
definitely would be our accommodation of choice on next trips!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yinniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Trafalgar on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay, having travelled up from Essex to see a show down The Strand. .If you are looking for somewhere close to Theatreland & all that London can offer then The Trafalgar is perfect, located on the corner of the Square and literally just a short walk from everything - and it has style. But now the "not so good bits":
The stated check In time is 3pm, However, when we arrived we were told our room would not be ready until 3.30pm....but we could be "upgraded" to a room that was ready - for an extra £30.00.(Err, thanks but no thanks, that is just trying to get me pay more.)
Anyway,we came back at 3.30pm & indeed our room was now ready. It was only after we had been in the room for a while that we came to the conclusion that Room 410 obviously hadn't been used for a while, or has got a bit of a problem with the shower drain - as the walk in shower cubicle in the bathroom (NO BATH) had a terrible smell. You can't open windows in Hotels these days so the only option was to keep the bathroom door closed for the entire stay and this overcame the problem. Room carpet could also do with a bit of TLC as there was a massive stain on the way in.
To be fair though, the room was very well equipped & had everything you could want.
You will either love or hate the lifts - no to everybody's taste. Bit like a cross between being in an undertakers & a a nightclub!!
Can't comment on the breakfast etc as we were on room only basis. (There are great places to get breakfasts nearby, for a lot less the hotels charge.)
So to sum up, certainly not a bad place to stay, but to be honest I don't think we'd stay here again For roughly the same price both The Royal Horseguards or Rubens at The Palace are just a bit better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianandLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed our location and it made your night hassle free. I was disappointed to see that you had some issues with your room. I would like to assure you that I have passed your comments on to our Chief Engineer and he has assured me that all points raised will be addressed immediately.

I hope that you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and that you return to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing