We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trafalgar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We love staying at Trafalgar, because:
1. Location - obviously, Trafalgar Square, but also a quick walk to Leicester Square, tube stations handily nearby, bookshops and cafes nearby, and really just about all of greater London at your doorstep.
2. Modern, clean, comfortable - the bed, the shower, those things that matter at the end of a long day, are excellent.
3. Breakfast - that lovely breakfast each morning, down in the breakfast room, comfortable, serene, delicious.
4. Roof Top Bar - just great, afternoon or evening, and wonderful views too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank west0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraMonteiro, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your stay here at The Trafalgar.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy the wonderful Vista bar, it is truly a magical experience.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast, the Kitchen team were thrilled to read your comments.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, when we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Best wishes


Kara Monteiro
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    851
    386
    141
    83
See reviews for
498
1,072
150
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great hotel with great staff in a great location. The rooms are clean and well decorated and I spent several weeks at this hotel. Let down a little by the food, and during my stays there was often a private function in the bar which meant you would would struggle to have a quiet drink! The location is what really sells this hotel, you could not get any more central if you tried. Be warned, because its so central there is quite a lot of noise from outside.

Room Tip: Higher floor will help with the noise. Also, its great to have a room overlooking Trafalgar square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraMonteiro, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your time.

I am delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay and foudn our rooms to be of high quality.

I am sorry that you found our food offering below expectations, I am delighted to inform you that we have recently appointed a new Head Chef who has already implemented some new and exciting dishes which I hope you will be able to enjoy on your next visit.

Rockwell bar is a very popular venue and is regulary full to capacity, we do always have an alternative bar available which is less busy than Rockwell.

Thank you again for your review, I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes


Kara Monteiro
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

At the Trafalgar Hotel we experienced some really great staff. It has a brilliant roof top bar, with great views and great service. The location is simply amazing-close to Piccadilly circus, Oxford Street , parks, Buckingham Palace and well connected to the underground. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varunhegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraMonteiro, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review, we really appreciate it.

I was delighted to read your comments following your stay, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

The team were thrilled to read that you our service to be excellent, we are all committed to delivering excellent standards of service, I am pleased you were able to experience this.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with everyone, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Kara Monteiro
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 10 nights with my husband and 19 and 21 year old daughters. The location is simply amazing-close to theaters, parks, Buckingham Palace and the underground. Lots of restaurants nearby. Vista rooftop bar has fantastic views-it is weather dependent and definitely make a reservation requesting a view. Breakfasts were good and staff excellent. Would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraMonteiro, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you and your family had a excellent stay with us during your 10 nights and were able to experience our Vista bar which has the best views in town.

The team here were delighted to read your feedback, such feedback serves as a great motivator to us all.

I very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon when we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Best wishes


Kara Monteiro
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Trafalgar Hotel has a brilliant roof top bar, with great views and great service. All the bar staff were friendly and helpful, it was a chilly evening, but there were patio heaters available and plenty of shelter to get out of the wind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.I am very glad to see that you enjoyed our Vista Bar and I hope that I have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

At the Trafalgar Hotel we experienced some really great staff. Team member Austin arranged for soft drinks while we waited just a few minutes for our room to be ready. They were attentive and cautious regarding my daughter's food allergies. A lobby bar team member (sadly, I didn't make note of his name) even sent a snack to our room for her because she couldn't eat the chips (fries) in the restaurant. And one front desk team member, Ibby, came to our room to fix a snowy TV rather than have us wait for maintenance. Five stars for the staff. The hotel itself is great for the younger, hipster crowd. The bar area is pretty vibrant in the evening (read noisy). The rooms are large and great for a family. The two queen bed room is the typical size of an American hotel room. The common areas are renovated but the rooms feel a bit dated, not bad - just not recently updated. Hence, the four star overall rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor and for your kind words regarding Austin and Ibby.

I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked to stay at this hotel for my 30th Birthday and had been looking forward to it for some time, I have to say we were not disappointed. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and dropping our bags off before check in so we could make the most of London was no problem at all. We had a beautiful room over looking the square. I also received a complimentary selection of cakes as a birthday gift which went down a treat! If you have a room over looking the Square expect to hear some road noise but this is to be expected if staying somewhere so central. We would defiantly stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben D, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much fro taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your birthday and that we were able to make it even more special for you.

I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing