We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class - Best Hotel in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #359 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“First Class - Best Hotel in Town”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

As a seasoned business traveller I have experienced hotels all over the world and The Trafalgar has to rank as one of my favourite hotels anywhere! I recently stayed here for a special birthday and the staff were wonderful, the room was amazing with great views to nelson's column and the breakfast complete with live music was stunning. I recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordringstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Rashida - Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
A very BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY! We are pleased that you enjoyed your special celebration with us. As both a business guest and indeed seasoned traveller, your experienced opinion is really valued.

Please do come back and see us soon and do be sure to contact us on the occasion of your next stay in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    865
    401
    145
    88
See reviews for
511
1,095
153
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this very well located hotel and would comment on the excellent soundproofing (considering it's location) spacious comfortable room and bed, excellent service, and good breakfast experience.

It is certainly not a typical Hilton, and is not cheap (but what is in London!) but we liked the atmosphere and the ease with which we could walk out to sights, restaurants and theatre. A convenient, but expensive public car park is just behind the hotel.

Had a minor plumbing problem in the bathroom which was quickly sorted, and walk-in shower floods the bathroom (triumph of design over practicality) which resulted in some signs of wear, but these were not dealbreakers.

Nice linens - but do think that duvet should be a quality natural one in this standard of hotel.

Would stay again, and recommend, except perhaps to traditionalists!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Rashida - Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Greetings from The Trafalgar!

We thank you for the great review of our hotel. Noise is a concern to most guests who book our centrally located hotel. Be it one of our guests on business or our guests who stay to sightsee in London, our property certainly caters to all. I can honestly say that having had the opportunity to trial our guest rooms, that this hotel is one of the quietest I have experienced…..for a city location.

Glad you managed to get the ‘plumbing problem’ sorted out. Our stand up showers are scheduled to be replaced from the end of this month so no more leaks ….YIPEE!

We are glad that you are planning to stay with us once again……see you soon 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I picked this hotel for the location, which was great for the covent garden restaurants and theatre we were going to. Slight confusion finding it, as no Hilton signs but apparently this is part of a re-branding for this hotel. Also bit bemused by checkin desk, which looks more like a restaurant checkin but quickly given our room, which was ready early as requested. The room (410) didn't quite fit with the rest of the hotel, which is smart and modern. The public areas are well maintained but the room wasn't wearing well and just didn't live up to the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was suffering in the obvious places like grouting peeling away, or going black, as well as a loose control in the shower. Floor tiles also looked a bit shabby, just a bit disappointing for the price.
The bed also felt saggy and worn, which I've not found at other Hiltons. Whole room just looked tired and in need of either some very deep cleaning or replacement.

Ate lunch on the roof terrace, which was good, although a shame it was closed for a private event in the evening as this had particularly appealed when booking. Staff mentioned it is often closed in the evening for private functions.

I was a bit surprised at the lack of information in the room. Although there is a room service menu, there is nothing giving breakfast hours, checkout time etc or any local information. There is a well stocked mini bar but it wins most expensive I've ever seen (more than the Savoy, or the Manhattan Hilton...)

It's in a useful spot, but the room just wasn't worth the price. I picked the hotel because it was a Hilton (member of Hilton HHonors), looked modern (thought rooms would be too) and because of the location. Lots of hotels in the area, wouldn't be tempted back unless improvements were made.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Rashida - Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your recent experience with us. As for our location, we are right on the south-west corner of ‘Trafalgar Square’ and yes we do not display any blue ‘Hilton’ signage as part of our logo. Previous reviewers have made mention of this, we have since then taken steps towards making directions easier for our arriving guests. Moving forward, I hope that this review proves of further help to any guests wishing to stay with us in the future for the first time. We are also known as ‘The Trafalgar Hotel’ and not the Trafalgar Hilton as many would assume. Having said this, we are a ‘fully fledged’ Hilton Hotel with more of a lifestyle/boutique feel about us. This is represented in our hotel logo, décor and general style of the property.

I have raised your concerns regarding the specific room that you were assigned during your stay, be rest assured that this has been looked into by my colleagues within both our housekeeping and maintenance departments. The points you raised are not typical of our rooms and I am surprised to hear of your comments.

You will be pleased to know that our new in-room guides are on the way. This is feedback we have received previously from our first time staying guests and we hope to have these in all of our guest rooms very soon.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Excellent overall experience. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in our package and was a steal considering London prices. A big breakfast gets you through a lot of sightseeing. Lounge had a definite hipness. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeDBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Rashida - Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Greetings Joe!
Glad you loved our hotel and had a great time in London. Come back and see us soon.

THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is lovely--very modern design with large rooms and bathrooms. The location is wonderful too--right on Trafalgar Square. However, the wi-fi was prohibitively expensive; and breakfast was average with few choices. I expect more from a Hilton hotel--especially since the Hiltons are famous for their breakfast spreads-- and one that charges so much per room. I had asked for a twin room but received a double after being told no twins were available. Was a fine hotel for one night, but would not stay here for longer than that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. Our internet charges (as mentioned in previous reviews) are a standard charge which can across many of the London Hilton properties. It is not a charge level that we specifically set as a hotel and of course this is advertised clearly at the given rate. I must differ on your comments regarding the breakfast service we offer. Of course, I am not familiar with your frequency of stays at Hilton properties however; our breakfast is renowned to be a hit with the vast majority of our guests. Although our menu choice is slightly smaller in choice, we certainly do maintain the breakfast luxuries you would expect from a London Hilton property. Our chefs and breakfast team are also always happy to accommodate any additional or specific request that our guests may have. With regards to your allocated room type, I am sure this was addressed at the time of check-in. It is on an extremely rare occasion that this occurrence happens in addition, we give priority to the room type booked in the first instance. Any requests (i.e. not booked) are then assigned upon availability. If there may be anything that we could further address regarding your last stay with us, then please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel. I would be more than happy to personally look into this for you. We would like for all of our guests to receive a more than satisfactory experience, therefore, in the seldom eventuality of issues experienced during your stay we aim to fix prior to your departure date. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I have stayed at this hotel probably 5 times in the last year, am a frequent visitor from the US.

In short it is an awesome hotel. Got the best combination of location, style and service of any hotel i know of in London.

As a Diamond member with Hilton I am frequently upgraded which is always appreciated and to rooms that are very spacious and cool. The showers are also great, an important and rare feature in London.

Having been here several times I can say the service is consistently excellent, friendly, efficient and quick to fix things if there is a problem.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willfchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
Many of our ‘deluxe’ and ‘deluxe-plus’ room types feature spacious separate bath and showers. Our ‘standard’ and ‘standard –plus’ rooms usually have a combined shower and bath style design. Overall, our bathrooms are quite large and we are happy to accommodate any requests that guests may have prior to arrival. We really appreciate all of our loyal Diamond members and we are certainly honoured that you choose to stay with us during your business trips. As a frequent guest, you will know to contact any of us should you need anything arranged in advance of your next stay. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I visited this hotel in December of 2007 on a trip for my mother's 60th birthday. The hotel was kind enough to let us use a room when we got there very early to shower and nap. The hotel is right off Trafalgar Square and is maybe 1/4 mile (.4 km) from Charing Cross rail station and the Embankment tube stop -- meaning that everywhere in London is very accessible. It is also about 1 km/.6 mile from Piccadilly Circus.

The accommodations were very good as well. We had very large rooms with plenty of space. The staff were also excellent -- very accommodating and quick to help to make our stay excellent.

The downside to all this is price -- it's not a cheap hotel, so don't expect one.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawgfan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your special occasion. As a Hilton Hotel it is our aim to of course tailor-make every guest experience and assist where possible in making your stay as ‘hassle-free’ as possible. With regards to the price, we are a 4 star deluxe property which a price bracket which is quite comparative to similar style properties in the local area. Because of our ideal location for both business and our home and overseas leisure travellers, it is often a great idea to book in advance and catch the amazing deals that can be sometimes be found via the Hilton website…..just a little handy tip! Once again, thank you ALL for staying with us, see you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#257 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing