We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Without Being Cold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trafalgar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #348 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Without Being Cold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

This hip Hilton brand hotel is located at Trafalgar Square, a perfect location to explore London's swish areas, experience the theatre scene, or be in the middle of the cool urban vibe of the city. Our room was huge, even by North American standards, with all the mod cons needed in today's world, with generous high-end amenities provided by Temple Spa. The most startlingly thing about this hotel, though, is the incredible staff overseen by a Canadian general manager. This made our stay the most pleasant we had ever experienced in all four corners of the world. We had never felt so welcomed and so at home. The staff accommodated us when our previously-booked hotel experienced a flood while we were enroute to London, and we booked The Trafalgar at Heathrow and were given the rate quoted by the first hotel. In fact, we are so taken with The Trafalgar, that we are currently planning a return trip. London is spectacular, and at the end of a busy day, we simply go home to The Trafalgar.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPrincess007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager - Rashida at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2009
Hi Both,
Thank you for your great review…I can honestly say that having your presence here with us was a complete pleasure. What can I say other than we really look forward to having you both back with us……bring more CANADIANS with you to experience our hotel too  In fact, you’d both be perfect to join our Trafalgar Team here ! Hope you had a peaceful Thanksgiving holiday and wishing you lots of fun over the festive period. Best wishes, Rashida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    850
    386
    141
    83
See reviews for
498
1,070
150
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

The Hilton Trafalgar rocks! The location was awesome- everything was walking distance from this hotel and very only a block from the tube. I was there in early Dec and Christmas lights and markets were in full swing, and it was just so easy to hop out of the hotel to go somewhere. One night we hung out at the Trafalgar Square as they had some performers at a "Talking Lion" in the Square. The hotel beds were heavenly (especially after 2+weeks of traveling in Spain and Portugal staying in non-chained hotels). The bathroom was huge. The breakfast at the hotel was awesome, they even had a guy playing the guitar. I sat there for a few hrs as he had a nice voice and reminded me of JAck Johnson. The hotel also has a hip bar, so it was easy to grab a drink with friends at night. I just love this Hilton! It's just too bad that the Hiltons oversees are so much better then the Hiltons in the country!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager - Rashida at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2009
Hi Jessica,
Oh we love you too and I will certainly pass on your comments to Hugh our lovely guitarist who I am also a big fan of….now I just wish I had time to sit and have breakfast whilst listening to his melodies….you lucky guests !!!
We really want you back and appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Great picture by the way  Best wishes, Rashida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Attentive staff, very welcoming. Clean rooms, particularly spacious for area. Convenient location - many restaurants within easy walking distance, underground stations, bus stops aplenty.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrostyTexas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I guess, we were really lucky that we decided on staying at this Hilton property. Even though, the Trafalgar is part of Hilton family, there is no sign of Hilton you can see on the building. It is located in the heart of London - Trafalgar Square. The reception area is part of a very nice lounge / bar. The lounge serves breakfast in the morning and turns into a place to party at night with a DJ. The hotel has one of very few Rooftop restaurants in the area - with a view of all major London attractions - Trafalgar Square, London Eye, Houses of Parliament, St. Paul Cathedral, etc. The staff is very friendly and will go above and beyond to help you. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and luxurious. Our teenage kids also loved it. We all enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wished we had few more days to spend there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkywinky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

London was a beginning and ending point for our trip. The hotel is very conveniently located. Buckingham palace is a nice stroll away as are Big Ben and Parliment, not to mention Trafalgar square. The tube is very close, walking distance even with luggage. They have a wonderful breakfast spread and the rooftop bar offers wonderful views, especially at night, during the warm season. Other than the fire alarm that went off at 7am and then consiquently having to evacuate the building in our PJ's, it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Partner and I stayed here for three nights at the conclusion of our holiday around France and UK. Of the hotels we stayed at in UK this was by far the best - I just wish the hotels I stay in for work in Australia were this fantastic!

The location is central for lots of activities - being right in Trafalgar Square, yet the hotel itself is pleasingly quiet. I had a room facing into a laneway - but I never spend much time in the hotel room, so who cares about the view.

The staff were exceedingly helpful and honest. Had a drink at Upper Rockwell on the first evening in London and had intended for dinner at Lower Rockwell. The bar staff recommended dinner in the bar because it is a more relaxed environment.

Overall - the rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, hotel environment is well maintained, and the staff are easy to deal with.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrafalgarTrooper09, Guest Relations Manager - Rashida at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
I hope you had an amazing trip to Europe, thank you for choosing us during your stay in London. Our rooms that have a front facing view are of course limited, although we do try to accommodate where possible based on the room type booked.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon. Best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

My wife and I recently returned from our first trip to London. We are very particualr about hotels and usually lean toward Hiltons because of their service and high standards. The Trafalgar Hotel is a Hilton hotel but it is not marketed as such. The first thing that you will notice upon entering the hotel is the minimalist decor. You enter through a very "hip" bar and at first glance the reception area is not obvious. It is quietly tucked away in a corner with no signage. As you enter your room it is sparkingly clean and crispy decorated. The bathroom is very large by European standards and has a seperate glass enclosed shower and over-sized tub. Our room was on two levels. The first level housed the king-sized bed. Three steps up led to the second level with a television and chaise lounge. The over-sized window looked out to Trafalgar Square. Because of the double-paned window th eroom was absolutely quiet. The service is impeccible. The concierge will take care of your every need from booking trips to making reservations for restuaruants & theatres and confirming transportation bookings. The rooftop bar on the 6th floor offers a commanding view of London. Breathtaking! Walk outside your door and there in front of you is Trafalgar Square, the BEST location in London. This hotel is close to everything: theatres, shopping restaurants, the tube etc. London is fantastic and the Trafalgar Hotel made it that much better! Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing