We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good located but expensive and poor in quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton London Paddington
Ranked #412 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very good located but expensive and poor in quality. Located in Paddington Station, where you arrive with the Heathrow Express. However this is used for charging high prices for everything (accomodations as well as room service and so on) while the quality is mediocre

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Klaus B. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I was disappointed to read that whilst appreciating our very central location, you felt that you did not receive value for money. I would be very happy to discuss this with you in more detail and would ask that you send me further information so that I may be able to address your concerns in more detail. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

What Hilton calls a "King Size Bed" was actually two twins pushed together with a protruding and very uncomfortable ridge right down the middle of the bed. And, the in-room wireless, for which they charge a hefty price was so slow it was useless.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Lance R. Thank you for your feedback on your stay. Your comments are important to us as we have not previously had any negative feedback on our Hollywood Twin beds. Whilst we only have a few of these bed types, we are now looking at how better to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay when staying in these rooms. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to London. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Actually you get free wifi if you're a HH gold or platinum member, and if you're there on business your company probably picks up the tab, so it's only the poor old tourist or occasional traveller that gets fleeced directly. This rather soured the impresssion of my stay which otherwise was pretty good. The location is excellent, my room was spacious, well appointed and clean with good quality bed linen and towels. Reception was so so. I was surprised it wasn't slicker but there were no problems. Having to evacuate at 6.30am probably wasn't the hotel's fault but that could have been slicker as well. To emerge into a side street in one's pyjamas after walking down 4 flights of stairs to find no member of staff to direct you where to go next or to give a clue as to what was happening was pretty unprofessional. Bottom line tho' - would I stay there again? Yes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Anne001_12. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It would appear that overall you had enjoyed your stay with the exception of the Wi-Fi cost. Your comments have been noted and I am working with our suppliers to gain better understanding on how we might be able to further reduce this charge. In the mean time, I would encourage you to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi in the public areas for the downloading of personal emails and basic usage. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was our last night of a 2 week vacation. Stayed in an executive room which was spacious and gives you access to the well stocked lounge for happy hour and breakfast. The extra cost did seem worth it. The shops at Paddington station provide an opportunity for last minute shopping and are entered through the back of the hotel.
This hotel is in a busy neighborhood but was still fairly quiet for light sleepers like me.
Heathrow Express is 1 minute away in the station.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doclinda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear doclinda65. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton London Paddington. The team and I were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you slept well. We look forward to seeing you again, when you are next flying to London. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

In October we stayed 6 nights at the Paddington, the former Great Western Hotel at Paddington Rail Station. Hilton took over the management in the early 2000s and remodeled but kept the beautiful architectural details. We enjoyed a large,quiet room decorated in art deco style. Because we were awarded Executive Club privileges, we ate breakfast and early evening hors d'oeuvres in a pleasant lounge looking out at the rail station's interesting interior. The food and service were excellent in the lounge, and the staff members throughout the hotel were pleasant and very helpful. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Having landed at Terminal 5 at Heathrow, we rode the 15 minute nonstop Heathrow Express from Terminal 5 to Paddington Rail Station. After walking a few feet we took an escalator to the hotel. When we wanted to ride the underground transit system, we rode an elevator two levels down to reach several train lines of the underground system. It was perfect and eliminated a hassle with luggage and other means of transportation. The hotel is ideal for visiting London.

Room Tip: The Executive Lounge access is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Joan36806. Thank you for your wonderful review. The team and I were delighted to hear that we were able to make your trip to London even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at the London Paddington for 2 nights in an Executive Room with Lounge access. It was well worth paying the extra for. Room was large and very comfortable. Large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Our room was at the front of the hotel and room was quiet.
All members of staff were very friendly but Steven the Concierge and the Executive Lounge staff deserve a special mention for their level of service.
Heathrow Express took less than 15 minutes to take us right to the hotel which is accessible from the train station. Paddington tube station is directly facing the hotel and taxis
Executive Lounge provide a good complimentary breakfast and a wide variety of hot and cold snacks throughout the day. Complimentary drinks were served from 6pm - 8pm.
Wi-Fi was available free in the Lounge and public areas.
Nipa Thai restaurant is approximately 10 minutes walk away and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book Executive Rooms with Lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54JCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear OCT04, Thank you for your report. The team and I were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and obviously I was happy to hear that Steve and the Executive Lounge team made your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Convenient for a last minute 1 night stop

Great spacious room possibly better than we had paid for with a sofa and some chairs.

I had stayed a number of times in the past but not reviewed. Not been for a while as it has been relatively expensive last minute good rates probably as a big show at the hotel may have cancelled some rooms.

Car parking at station you could walk undercover through station At the weekend think its only £10 a day good for London. Careful where you park though as selfish/poor parkers could make escape difficult.

Works on cross rail is going on next to the hotel so a road closure for a while’ We didn’t hear works on the 5th floor facing the works good window sound proofing.

Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom

As well as the station underground exits and entrances nearby

Pull in in front of the hotel is busy and possibly over watched.

No help offered by porters. Only interest was on departure was to check why I was picking up. No help offered with bags folk preferred talking to themselves. Even on exit when asked why I was parking I said I was there “ pick up wife and bags” no help offered

Good room service meal when we were tired

Too much of limited general lounge space occupied by business folk bumming a free meeting some didn’t even seem to have ordered even a coffee

Small space in minibar for your own stuff

Hotel wi fi is now run by BT as in common with many Hiltons in the UK so BT customers may benefit from free connection regardless of HHonors category.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Hilton London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear BasilsTravels. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. It sounds like overall you had enjoyed your stay apart from the service that you had received from my Concierge team. I shall discuss this matter with them and ensure that they are more focused on our guests and their needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#205 of 1,075 in London
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Paddington

Address: 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Business Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Family Hotel in London
#315 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £138 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Paddington has the luxury of being located 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport and is only a footbridge walk away from Paddington station. From the West End to the theatre District in London, nothing is too far away from this hotel. There is a fitness center and a business center with 18 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 350 guests. Hilton London Paddington also has Wi-Fi in each of the hotel rooms and throughout the rest of the hotel. When it comes to dining, choose from the Brasserie Restaurant or the late night chic Steam Bar, both of which provide excellent quality cuisine to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Paddington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing