We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kingcross hotel london” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Cross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King's Cross Hotel
Ranked #423 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Rotterdam
1 review
“kingcross hotel london”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

the room was small but clean, bed was okay, floor was not level so nothing else was, made me feel drunk without drinking. big downside was the bathroom and toilet was done the hall and a flight of stairs.
location is good, close to underground and trains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    47
    50
    87
See reviews for
44
84
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Before Arriving at the King's Cross Hotel, I called ahead to ask about parking. I was told there was no parking near the Hotel. On arrival, I noticed the were parking bays right in front of the Hotel ( Free over the weekend after 2000hrs Friday - 0830hrs. The receptionist was outside on the steps having a cheeky fag, which wasn't a problem. The problem was when he was checking us in, he was on a personal call throughout and asking me to pay cash when they had a card reader.

The room was basic... The room had not been cleaned properly as the flat sheet had been put over a dead body in a crime scene and a solitary cushion had been left behind the head board for months judging by the dust collection. The curtains were literally "Hanging" on by 3 clips each so was impossible to shut out the light from outside.

I went to hang my clothes in the wardrobe and the rail fell out. I tried to put it back up, however I was not able to as the top of the wardrobe. When informing the receptionist about the broken wardrobe, he replied "Oh"! There was a long silence... He then said he would get someone to look at it. This never happened.

I asked the receptionist for a taxi number so we could travel to a nearby venue under a mile away which he offered willingly (Channel Radio Cars). However, the taxi driver tried to charge us £12 for a £7 maximum fare! When the driver realised that I was actually a local to the area he dropped the price down to £10 and told me that the only reason the price was so high was because we booked from the hotel.

For £99 a night, I expected more for the price I knew there was a shared bathroom, but not between the whole of the hotel... I feel like I have been cheated and will not be staying they again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Basic hotel with friendly staff. Perfect location for us as we really only used the hotel as a base!
Breakfast was simply but staff were always helpful!
Clean room with nice facilities.
Great location near train station!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Actually to call this establishment a hotel at all is a bit rich as others have said. Dirty, shabby, tiny, overpriced turd of a room and very unwelcoming dodgy manager... (I was overcharged), no soap or towels or anything else...but so much for the highlights. One good thing: they have wi fi so I could write this review.

I was actually booked in to the hotel next door but they botched my booking. So I unfortunately rolled up to the next one down, The Kings Cross "Hotel".

Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: JUST DONT! bargin down the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#516 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#536 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#865 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#82 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#381 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#39 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cross Hotel

Property: King's Cross Hotel
Address: 60 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — King's Cross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your King's Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing