We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed in the bar”
Review of Mare Moto

Mare Moto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mare Moto
Ranked #307 of 556 London B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Should have stayed in the bar”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I had the dubious pleasure of 'dining' at this place last night as part of a large party of people out to celebrate a colleague's birthday. We sat down at 8.00 pm and had a set menu to choose from to keep down costs. So far so good. An hour and 15 minutes later the starter appeared; the food was well presented and tasted good. So far so good even though we had had to wait an age for service. After a further hour's wait the main deigned to put in an appearance.

The chef who produced the starter must have been on his break as the main I received was seriously below the standard of the first course. Beef stroganoff and MacDonalds style friess slopped on the plate looking balefully at me as if daring me to eat. Hunger overcoming fear I gave it a try. Wrong move - it seems the stroganoff wasn't daring me it was warning me off. No self respecting Italian would countenance the so called dish they served up that night. I didn't have dessert as I had to catch the train home and couldn't risk waiting another hour or so for that. The two courses I had weren't worth the £30 bill.
The service was non existent, the toilets were a health hazard - the hand dryers didn't work, there were no bins provided so people were just throwing paper on the floor, some of the cubicles didn't have any toilet paper and no facilities for a lady facing a certain time.
Still the majority of the rest of the party had a great time as by the time the food was served they were so full of vodka it really didn't matter. At least the birthday girl had a good time.
I like to say something good so I should say we had a nice time at the bar where the drinks weren't an extortionate price before sitting down to eat. Should have stayed in the bar!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    9
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I visited the club last night with friends and it was simply awful. The bouncers let far too many people in so the club is beyond cramped to the point that it feels dangerous. Their are only 2 ladies toilet cubicles which are manned by a toilet attendant who bangs on the door to hurry you along if you've been in there longer than a minute!

The club was so busy that you are constantly having drinks spilt on you and people barging into you.

I mentioned to the doormen that the club was so busy it felt dangerous but they didn't seem to care at all. I won't be going there again for sure!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank luisa_stravino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arranged a friends surprise birthday here. They couldn't have been more helpful for dinner, cake, decorations. The club played brilliant music and drinks were very reasonable! They sorted us out with table in the club - they were very efficient at emailing back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenshieldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

On a recent visit to London my wife and I had a very enjoyable meal at the Mare Moto. It was a Thursday night and the atmosphere was both friendly and relaxing. A gentleman called "Luigi" and his staff looked after us really well. The menu was extensive with a lovely selection of wines. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiha, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Customers,

It's a club-come-diner that is both awful and abrasive. I thoroughly recommend avoiding at all costs. The food is as terrible as the club and the staff seem to think they're working in macdonalds. Avoid for a night out, there's plenty of better options out there!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great lunch before Chelsea Football Match last Sunday and even if we had to wait a bit because the place was crowded, it was worth it ! The food was great and the service exellent! Good selection of wines! The prices are very competitive for the quality food you are served. We will definitely come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Giadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

About 14 of us went out for a meal in Mare Motto and I can't recommend it highly enough. We ordered a variety of things and every single dish was to die for. Later on it turns into a night club which is not so great.... but I was there for the food so........

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#208 of 1,067 in London
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#516 of 1,067 in London
138 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#560 of 1,067 in London
593 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#664 of 1,067 in London
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Moto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Moto

Property: Mare Moto
Address: 562 Kings Road | Fulham, London SW6 2DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing