We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirit of Chartwell, 23/24 June”

Spirit of Chartwell Thames Day Cruise
Southend, Essex
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spirit of Chartwell, 23/24 June”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was booked by our daughter and sone in law for the celebration of our golden wedding anniversary. We went with no preconceived ideas, but it was very disappointing. On booking our daughter informed the company that she was coeliac, but no special diet was arranged for her. No toast for breakfast and no afternoon tea. On leaving the ship on Sunday morning, it was found that there was a Tesco supermarket within 200 yards........ and the bread at least would have been available. When our daughter was eventually able to go to her cabin, another couple came in and were expecting to get changed there. Could have been highly embarrassing. Although the dining chairs were comfortable to sit in, they were definitely too low for sitting at a dining table. All in all a very disappointing celebration for us and our daughter and son in law..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superlative experience far exceeding expectations”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Booked well in advance to celebrate my partners birthday along with 2 other friends. Having read some other reviews was a little uncertain but the trip was one of the most special experiences I have had in recent years with memories which will last a long time. Weather beautiful, service unhurried. Amazing high quality meal - I chose sea trout with samphire and capers for main - and the high tea was absolutelybeautiful. We travel regularly on Orient Express day trips and is high quality restaurants and this was absolutely on that level. We had so much to talk about as we passed all the sites in extreme comfort in our pullman seats that we listened to little of the commentary but that shows how unobtrusive it was if you are seeking privacy. Would strongly recommend to anyone seeking a special experience - well worth the £145 we paid each - and we will definitely be booking again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Wonderfully Special Sunday”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband had a 70th birthday to celebrate this year and the 'Sunday Glory' cruise on 22nd July fitted the bill to a tee. Weather was mercifully very kind after our dreadful so far summer. Sipped bubbly on the top deck in the sun at 11.30 before departing from the tranquility of Imperial Wharf, Chelsea during lunch. The food was excellent. We had 3 course lunch with a choice of main and a lavish tea later. The ambiance very special. Service attentive. The staff had a long day and worked hard. Best of all was the unhurried service and time to relax. We shared a table for 6 which worked well for us. The commentary was most interesting from a very knowledgeable young man with a little humour and a soothing voice. We cruised to just below the Thames Barrier via Greenwich where we embarked for 45 minutes. The cruise varies due to tide and this summer, rainfall. We left Greenwich at 6pm and cruised sitting on the top deck all the way to Imperial Wharf in bright sun and a clear sky - 'straight down the middle' through all the centre arches of the bridges including Tower Bridge which was a thrill. So much to see on the Thames. Arriving back at 7.30 the whole thing was a very regal experience. Best for mature people.
Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nhulunbuy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need to do more of these, terrific”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Informative and at times very entertaining host for the cruise we were on. It's a simple cruise that gives a great overview of the local areas and Thames history. Couldn't imagine it on a normal London day but ours was bright blue skies which made it all the more memorable.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NhulunbuyGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocking value”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Don't know where to start, the departure point was changed twice and the weather prevented the boat leaving on time but that was unavoidable. We were on deck, in unpleasant weather, for an hour and a half and the promise of unlimited chapagne and canapes turned out to be cheap prosecco and frozen nibbles which ran out very quickly. The bar was not open so we had no option but to stand in the wind and stay thirsty. The guests were shocked to see the 'lunch' menu-pea soup and a choice of cold chicken slices or a prawn cocktail on a sea of salad which the crew did try to dress up but everyone was very dissapointed. When we did sail the trip east was accompanied by a very dull commentary by the owner and the way back was broken up by a stop at the roadside at Millbank-quite pointless. At almost £500 for the two of us with a nice bottle of wine this was probably the most shocking value for money in history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank opobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of Chartwell Thames Day Cruise also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing