We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and civilised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gilbert Scott

The Gilbert Scott
Ranked #774 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$70
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great British dining is executed perfectly at Marcus Wareing's The Gilbert Scott with a menu featuring British produce cooked to perfection. The beautifully grand Gilbert Scott bar presents fine bespoke cocktails and an imaginative wine list. There is a private dining room for large parties and the Kitchen Table is perfect for an extravagant meal, close to the lively hub of the kitchen.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet and civilised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent restaurant at St.Pancras station - service and food are good and I didn't feel hurried at all over my meal. I've used it a couple of times to meet friends of the Eurostar. Good cocktails too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHouseMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    496
    288
    128
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went there, all 12 of us and had a private room. The service was exemplary, the food and wine delicious and they went to so much trouble to accommodate a serious nut allergy guest much to her delight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New versions of classic cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Service was initially terrible. 3 of us had gone to the bar before so we had drinks. But no one came up to us for 25 minutes. The guy I got blamed me for the lack of service. Not even any water.

I'm patient because I know Americans are over the top. But after I requested our initial service, it got better. Although my papa would disagree...he asked for a Jack Daniels on rocks & got it with Coke. Luckily, we didn't see that guy again.

We loved the first course...my DH and I ordered, but they brought samples of the Jersey potato soup for the others. Also, their butter is amazing. My mum's haddock was tender. My papa & I had rack of lamb...good flavor, bit of fat, need to figure out how to order doneness.

Bread & butter pudding was warm & surprisingly light. The banana didn't overwhelm the pudding.

Giancarlo knows a lot about wine & can advise you well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kcoombs1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“deserves a high rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

this is a top restaurant - vaulted ceiling, friendly and knowledgeable service and most importantly great food - whether high end or comfort food such as the chicken kiev I had.
The starter of ducks egg and mushrooms is well worth trying

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prosaic and not value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Second visit and after very disappointing battered haddock first time stayed away for a couple of years but it was the only so called reputable restaurant to eat at in kings cross that was not booked out that evening - and I had recently seen Marcus Wareing on master chef waxing on about restaurant standard food - so we gave it a go; sadly still disappointing - best thing was the bread. Mushroom cobbler had a too thick and gloopy and over salted sauce and for £15 had 12 button mushrooms - I would have expected some variation on interesting mushrooms; cauliflower pudding was plain cauliflower cheese with nothing to recommend it beyond that. Battered haddock remained disappointing to the two that had it , over battered and under seasoned. The chips were pleasant. The cherry bake well tart was overpoweringly almond and the cherries are still on the tree! The wine we chose was glorious from a respectable list and the service was superlative.


The restaurant needs a shake up - there was no excuse for the mistakes on the table , and at that price - fortunately there are excellent restaurants in kings cross - I will book in time or eat at home before we visit the Gilbert Scott again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hooliganlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gilbert Scott also viewed

 

Been to The Gilbert Scott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing