We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this Pub”
Review of Friar's Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friar's Inn
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this Pub”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found this great pub right down the street from our hotel. Lucky us! Has a nice outside patio for dining and genuine pub-like atmosphere inside. Extensive menu and great beers on tap. Portions were so large we couldn't finish all that we ordered. Ribs were delicious. Steak, not so much! Great appetizer list. We tried to return on our last night in London as a treat but it was too crowded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast food done well”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This little café / take away was around the corner from our hotel. We ate in one night and also had a take away another night. Tasty food served by friendly staff. Lovely big portions which went down a treat. Worth a stop in if you are in the area for a quick bite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robert1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN LONDON”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have been coming here for years. It is right next to Victoria Coach Station and is popular with travellers and coach staff and drivers. The Cod is cooked to perfection along with the chips. The chips taste better when you order the takeaway, probably the mixture of salt and vinegar added on. When you dine in, you have to add your own salt and vinegar.The batter is crispy and the fish tastes fresh. The side orders are also good such as mushy peas and bread and butter. The prices are reasonable and slightly cheaper at the take away section. The restaurant part has changed decorations over the years, I am not that impressed with the modern art hanging on the wall. I prefered it when it had the traditional theme. The serving staff are from Poland and are very polite and welcoming. The owner has a few other fast food outlets on the same street. This means that you can also order in the restaurant food from the other outlets and it will be served to you in the restaurant. Dishes such as kebabs are not on the menu but they are happy to have it delivered to your table from their outlet next door if you ask them. Drinks are reasonably priced and the mug of tea seems to be a favourite of most. This is the best place in central London to get traditional Fish and Chips.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oratory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Ate here while waiting to catch a bus at Victoria Coach Station. Ordered the 'Fish Bites', thinking it would be a small entree, since it cost only 5.95 GBP, and was shocked when it arrived. A HUGE portion of Cod pieces and fries, so much I couldn't finish. It was a great deal with fast and friendly service. Definitely go here if you want a quick cheap sit down meal of fish and chips.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best value "Fish & Chips" and close to Coach Station”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Friars Inn (23 Elizabeth St., close to Victoria Coach Station). If like me, you want something reasonably priced to eat before getting on your coach home, you will hard pushed to beat Friars Inn for value. It is a "sit down" fish & chip restaurant with a good choice of the traditional fayre. The service was quick and all the food was freshly cooked. Portions were so large it became a "challenge" to finish it. I took Maltese friends, on my latest visit, and they really enjoyed it. Now a regular feature when I visit London.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PebblesDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing