We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now, this is how to run a B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #602 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 June 2013

What a find! We spent literally hours trawling the net for somewhere to stay without being ripped off. Located only 5 mins walk from Russell Square tube, is this superb B&B which has recently been refurbished. Our double en suite room was compact but clean, fresh and very comfortable. It didn't have a tv (big lounge downstairs with huge tv) but has a hair dryer. The shower looked brand new and there was plenty of hot water. We paid £91 for both of us which included cereals, fruit and a cooked breakfast and you could have as many eggs and as much bacon as you wanted. The chap was so polite and charming and kept coming round topping up our tea cups and offering more toast. We even watched the news whilst munching.
Absolute bargain and a real gem. They also have a family room so we shall definitely come back!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor and they were very accommodating. Lovely view too.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Browneyes569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Last minute booking, read reviews, most are spot on. Our room on ground floor had a huge window looked out over a garden with green parrots in the trees! After 4 days in paris looking at scaffolding in an air shaft for 3x the price this was a welcome surprise!

Location just cannot be beat, near 2ntube stops, between russell square and bloomsbury parks and across from the FREE British museum, walk to soho for nightlife.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked a room here on a spur of the moment decision to stay overnight and we weren't disappointed. Compact but clean rooms, brand new shower room and a great breakfast in the morning with exceptional service. We'll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayflower1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

After looking around for a room for myself, my partner and son, I found The Ruskin on trip advisor. It was one of only 3 places that I could find that let a 15 year old share a room. I read the other reviews and thought for the price offered we would give it a try.

I was very apprehensive as we have not stayed in many hotels over the years as we normally camp.

We arrived late which was not a problem. The owner gave us a local map showing where the hotel and tourist attractions were, took payment, gave us the room key and told us the wifi password and breakfast arrangements. We were in room 102 from where we could still use the wifi. It was newly decorated and had a double bed, single bed, double wardrobe, desk, sink, kettle and hair dryer. There were two large windows which faced the side of the British Museum (well worth a visit and free entry). There was a toilet straight across from the room and a shower room with another toilet next door to this. Both bathrooms were newly fitted out and newly tiled and both were also spotlessly clean. The bedroom and beds were all immaculately clean and very comfortable.

Breakfast is served in the basement and is cooked to order. If you want more than one egg, slice of bacon or sausage just ask. Along with the cooked english breakfast there are cereals, fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast.

The location is great as it is an easy walk to theatre land and Covent Garden and is also close to the tube and is on a bus route.

All staff were pleasant, polite and helpful.

We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can access the wifi still. The lift was out of order when we went and may h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Not 4-star or 5-star by any means; the elevator didn't work, the stairway was narrow & cramped, the bedroom was tiny, and the bathroom, er, loo was a communal affair as opposed to having an indivdual bathroom connected to the bedroom.

Still, consdering that I planned my London trip (October-November 2011) at the spur of the moment and on a tight budget, I still got more than my money's worth. Conveniently across the street from the British Museum, a short walk from the Russell Square Tube station, pleasant neighborhood, friendly staff, qaint and comfortable lobby, courtesous staff, and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrojanSkyCop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

i phoned the hotel to say i'd be late with 2 of my kids (11pm) the receptionist was very polite and helpful, he just said ring the bell.
on arrival door was answered straight away, and staff were very helpful, we stayed in a 3 bedded room which was very big and had comfy beds, wardrobes and a sink, direct dial telephone and leather chairs.... No tv in our room,
we had a shared bathroom which we knew before we came, Shower was nice and constant hot and clean.
we wasnt going to bother with breakfast which is included in price, but glad we did, as it was well cooked and tasty (fully English) and you could have cereal, tea, coffee , fresh juice too, all in the price of the room... Again the staff were very friendly.
we checked out at 12 noon, with quick key deposit box..
would i stay here again .... YES
would i recommend hotel ..YES
it's a good base hotel, about 10 mins walk from Euston Station (Main hub),, and hotel is great for a base to go out an explore London all within walking distance if you dont want to take tube..
there is also a bike rental depot 50 yards from hotel for cheap bike hire, with many bike hubs across city for 1 way hire.
if i return to London i'd prob stay here for the price they give, why pay a lot more to sleep the same.
only down side was the weather .. lol

Room Tip: rooms are big
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shukokai2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst visiting friends in London. We had a double room with a shared bathroom (right next door) and really loved being in the centre of London. It's about 3 blocks walk to the tube (Piccadilly and central lines) with easy connections. There is a supermarket and laundromat also a few blocks away. It was inexpensive with daily servicing of rooms and was very clean. The room next to the toilet was a bit noisy but for the price it was fine. Breakfast is a winner, toast, cereals, tea, coffee and bacon/eggs/beans/tomato/sausages. Staff were polite and helpful and wifi was available downstairs. A good find!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#506 of 1,072 in London
547 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#659 of 1,072 in London
338 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#549 of 1,072 in London
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#583 of 1,072 in London
647 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#564 of 1,072 in London
322 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#574 of 1,072 in London
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23-24 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #602 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruskin Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruskin Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing