We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Clean comfortable basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #606 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Ruskin at the end of a six week European trip. This hotel was a lesser standard than we had stayed in other countries, chosen because of the expense of hotels in London and its location.

It was clean and comfortable and each staff member was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was cereals, toast and cooked breakfast. All good.

The rooms did provide a bit of an awakening to my 15 year old used to the charm of 3 star plus hotels. Internet only worked in common room - basic comfortable room.

We used shared bathrooms, which were always clean. They have been renovated recently. There were two on the floor and two toilets and we experienced little inconvenience sharing.

I stayed in two rooms : a long thin twin one, with not so much space, and one with a double bed.

You won't find luxury here, but if you are looking for a cheaper kind of accommodation near the centre of London, Ruskin Hotel in Russell Square is comfortable enough, clean and the staff are courteous

Room Tip: From other reviews it seems there are some rooms that have been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in an en suite room and the hotel had recently been refurbished, it was excellent value good friendly service and clean. My expectation was for a low budget hotel and expected the worst due to bad reviews but noted most of them were pre 2014 and before the refurbishment, but was pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again. only small gripe was no tv in room but had laptop which was fine. The location and price is what sets the hotel apart and warrants 5 stars.

Room Tip: go for an ensuite room, nice modern clean bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tstl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice standard hotel, cheap and cheerful in walking distance to west end etc. Room was fine and bath room seemed recently fitted clean and fresh, great for the price. Will stay again!
Many thanks A****

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I had a very comfortable stay here. Our room appeared freshly renovated, and while cosy, was well organised so you could make the best use of the space. The window let in a lot of light, but the blinds ensured the room stayed dark till you opened them, and the window was sound proof. We had a shared bathroom and even though one toilet on the floor was out of order, we hardly ever had to wait for toilet or the shower (and the hotel was booked out most nights we were there). House keeping always did an excellent job.

Its location next to the British Museum was perfect for us - we walked to Trafalgar Square and the area around Parliament to do the attractions there, but also found it easy to catch busses and trains to other attractions (e.g. to the Tower of London, the Victoria and Albert Museum, and Camden Markets), as there are many bus stops and underground stations nearby. There was a convenience store on Bury Place open 24/7, and several pubs and other restaurants within walking distance, plenty of choice. Also a Laundromat on Boswel Street, around a 7 minute walk away. It is around a 20 minute walk away from St Pancras (where the tunnel trains leave from).

The breakfast was a delight, with cheerful service and yummy food. Although I found the hot food quite plentiful, you can fill up on muesli and cereals if you are still hungry. Compared to the ridiculous prices of other accommodation in London, this place is value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Perfect location in the heart of London right next to British Museum, you can either explore the city by foot or catch one of several busses nearby. The tube is also just 5 min away.
The staff is very friendly and helpful - no complaints there.
Our room had a view to the back - very quiet and nice garden view.
The bathroom was newly refurbished and very clean, the beds were comfortable and not too small. (Those over 6 feet tall however might have their feet dangling down at the end).
The room itself and the lobby looked a bit old and would need a new coat of paint but is otherwise OK, the lift is a bit rickety.
Breakfast was so-so, don't expect a great buffet. You'll get english breakfast however no tomatoes or mushrooms and other than that just cdereals and jam. Tea and coffee were in fact rather bad.
Overall I would recomend the hotel for those who are not too fussy and are looking for a hotel in good location and for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iffygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Ruskin is basically a guesthouse, and if you go in expecting that you'll not be disappointed. The breakfast wouldn't be accused of being generous in portion size, but was served by friendly and efficient staff. My room faced into the garden and was nice and quiet. My bathroom and shower were most definitely excellent - recently updated, clean, and a good shower (none of this electric pump shower nonsense you can find).

In terms of negatives: My bed was poor in terms of comfort by hotel standards (the most notable problem was lumpy pillows), and there was internet in only some rooms (not mine). The lounge closes at 11pm. If you would miss having a television in your room, this is not the hotel for you. Finally, the windows are single-pane and not particularly air-tight - weather when I was there was fine, but I don't know how it'd be in a storm or cold weather.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground and first floor likely to have access to internet. Back of hotel overlooks a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mieslep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel Last minute as a base for a night out in London. Tube stations are within walking distance - I think Russel Square (Picadilly line) was nearest but Holborn (Picadilly & Central) and Tottenham Court Road (Central & Northern) line stations are all within walking distance.

The room was very basic and in need of modernisation but clean and functional. Only found one plug socket in the room to charge my phone by the kettle. The room had a shaver socket, hairdryer and tea making facilties in a twin basic room.

D2hsred bathrooms were clean and functional and there was a tiny lift to travel between floors. TV lounge was homely and breakfast was reasonable and included in the rate.

Great location for tourists in central London on a budget.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Si_uk_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#661 of 1,076 in London
347 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#783 of 1,076 in London
57 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#579 of 1,076 in London
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#547 of 1,076 in London
947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#558 of 1,076 in London
566 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,076 in London
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Bed & Breakfast

Address: 23-24 Montague Street, London WC1B 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £52 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruskin Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ruskin Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing