We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but perfectly formed”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #250 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

this was a last minute booking as I normally stay in chain hotels for business trips. Very welcoming and efficient check-in, room small but with all the essentials including workspace and free wifi. All areas scrupulously clean and well-maintained. Very close to tube, offered vegetarian breakfast and breakfast service swift and efficient. could teach larger hotels a lot about effective hotel management and customer service. Recommend very highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    884
    228
    55
    27
See reviews for
464
698
221
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Alhambra was a reasonably priced hotel in a great location. We took the tube direct from Heathrow right to Kings Cross station and walked about 2 blocks to the hotel. It is in Bloomsbury and walking distance to beautiful Russell Square and the British Museum. Then you can hop on the tube at Kings Cross or St. Pancras and be anywhere in London very quickly. It is on a very quiet street and the staff and owners are extremely helpful, kind, and accommodating. For the price ( and London is incredibly expensive for lodging) it is great. .Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and my husband went to London in November 2011 to watch a soccer match. We had a great time there. The breakfast, cleanness of the room, and staff were great.
Thank you to all the staff there, they were great.
Andrea from Chicago-USA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaChicago_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A friend and I booked this family run hotel as a one night stop over in London on our way to Paris. We were very happy with the location as it was so close to St. Pancras. We found the room, although small, very clean and quite adequate for our stay. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The kitchen was very busy on the morning of our stay but the staff remained friendly even finding time to talk with us. We would fefinitely stay here again and would recommend it to others,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a vacation in London, and we stayed at the Alhambra on the recommendation of our travel agent. What a find!

The room was absolutely immaculate. A little small but certainly adequate. Wonderfully pleasant staff, great breakfast in the morning, and the location was tremendous. It's right at Kings Cross/St. Pancras and from there we were able to catch virtually every Tube station from that station, so getting around London was easy.

We'd definitely stay there again -- no question!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHoosierCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Really pleased with our choice for a convenient central London base. From it's kerb appeal alone, it was the best place on the street and only 2 mins walk from KX.
A quick and easy check-in and we headed out to return later to our luggage being in our room in the building owned by the hotel literally across the street. Do not fear, this is not a problem at all.

The double room had everything you need for a city break - plenty of storage, flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The towels were decent and the bed very comfy. The bathroom was a tardis, clever use of a open plan rain-shower in the corner which saved on space and everywhere was so clean!

After a decent night's sleep - minimal noise - but remember you are in central London - we headed over the road to the breakfast room. Swift service, Oj, full english - really delicious, rounds of toast with jam or nutella! and a hot drink and we were ready for the day ahead.

Can't recommend this place enough. A great price and you can tell that the staff are bothered. They could certainly teach the bigger chains a thing or two! We were both REALLY impressed. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here while in London for work. The location was great, only a minute or two from Kings Cross. Also the size of the rooms was fantastic for London. The room was very comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast offered was really good too, and they were more than happy to make veggie options for the hot breakfast.
The only problem that I had was with the seeming lack of soundproofing for the rooms. I could easily hear the guests in the surrounding rooms, to the point where it was very difficult to sleep. Also, my room was at the front door, so the noise of people coming and going (all night) did not help with being able to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 21 - it is right at the front door, and the sound of this closing repeatedly throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#370 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing