We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Eurostar”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #265 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here one night in Oct after a long flight. Arranged for pickup from airport. Service was very dependable. Room was small but we were aware of that from the reviews. Breakfast was good but you did not feel like you could linger very long.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manslick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

For an inexpensive place to stay for a night the Alhambra is a good choice. My room was fairly small, but clean & tidy with a decent bed. I had a good night's sleep followed by a nice cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors if you're not good with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymt1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was there with my parents for a night in Dec 2013. Very good service and quality! highly recommended for a very good price. It was very easy to find with the GPS and fairly close to Euston Station. If you travel light, you can even walk there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arguapacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place was amazing, after staying in Europe in hostels and then the Royal national down the road this place was like heaven. Full english breakfast included and close to the tube, just a nice family atmosphere it didnt feel much like a hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahM1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My experience surpassed expectations. This hotel was the perfect setting for my few brief hours in London, as I rested in between a journey from Pitlochry to King’s Cross and my next travel from Euston to Birmingham International. I had a meeting set in St Pancras Station, I visited the British Library and explored the environs of Queen Alexandra Mansions in adjacent Judd Street, in the course of my studies of the artist, Dorothy Woollard! All these places were in the close orbit of the Alhambra Hotel.

The hotel is exceptionally clean and remarkably well maintained. It is brightly lit and I sense that it is decorated daily! The inner courtyard as seen from my room, number 22, was wonderfully tidy. To see a communal area in such condition surprised and delighted me. There is obviously a joint purpose among the owners and occupiers of these twenty or so properties to maintain good standards. I sense also that the local Fire Officer may have persuasive powers in this aim. The young staff are polite and friendly, without being intrusive. My breakfast in the superb basement refectory was very enjoyable. I noted, in my former life as an Environmental Health Officer, that the food hygiene and safety rating for the food premises was five stars out of five. In other words excellent! I chose a room without en suite facilities but the ones I shared were stunning in their simplicity, decorative order and function. There are en suite rooms available and the increased cost is very reasonable.
There is no lift so hauling heavy cases up to the second or third floors will be demanding for less able and less fit persons. The corridors and staircases are narrow.

This is a lovely and charming family run hotel! It looks good from the outside on Argyle Street and it does not disappoint when you step inside. I had my best sleep ever in London, considering the action packed area of King's Cross. I also slept with my window open! There was a beautiful selection of tiny hand made biscuits on the counter at reception, for all guests to sample. This little act means a lot to the guest and traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had a one night mid-week stay in this B&B. The location is excellent, only 2minutes from St Pancras and Kings Cross stations, and only a 5min stroll to Euston station. There are excellent tube and bus connections only 2mins walk away. Despite the very busy Euston Road being nearby, I slept soundly. The hotel is clean and bright and the staff were friendly and efficient. My room was very clean, the décor was fresh, and had ample space with a small double bed and reasonable wardrobe space. The room also had a safe, TV, and a good standard of tea/coffee. The shared toilet/shower facilities were clean, and the shower was especially good. Breakfast was served hot, quickly, and it was to a good standard - although I would expect a vegetarian breakfast to consist of more than beans and mushrooms! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had Room 29 on the third floor. The climb to the third floor with luggage was moderately taxing. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseThistleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked this hotel for a business trip to London. Location is great for transport links, being literally on the other side of the road to King Cross/ St. Pancras stations. Check in was friendly. My room was quite small, which I expected, but had recently been refurbished by the look of it. Bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. Bathroom was about as small as you can get, but still useable.

Just one bit of feedback for the management. As your room numbers seem to be quite randomly located better signage of what rooms are on what floor would be useful for guests.

Overall though no complaints, I thought the hotel was great value for money (for London).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunxR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,782 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#405 of 1,077 in London
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#554 of 1,077 in London
947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,283 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £62 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alhambra Hotel, located in Kings Cross, St Pancras, has a family tradition of over 45 years. We aim to provide a Clean and Comfortable Accommodation, together with a Fresh Breakfast and a Friendly Service. It offers a very Central and Convenient location with a great Transport network served by Tube, buses and trains. The Eurostar, St Pancras International is only a couple minutes walk from the Hotel. Close to the British Museum and British Library with many chic cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing