We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and convenient”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #250 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was very impressed by my night at The Alhambra. The staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was good. I got a good deal through LateRooms.com. The room was pleasant and quiet being at the top of the hotel at the back. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnT_Godalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us, specially that you found our staff friendly and efficient. For over 40 years, as a small independent family business, we offer a room that is CLEAN, BRIGHT and a FRIENDLY and EFFICIENT SERVICE.
Thank you again for your kind comments.
Kind Regards
Hotel-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    884
    228
    55
    27
See reviews for
464
698
221
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ditcheat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

OK - it is a budget B&B disguised as a hotel. Many reviews point out the tiny rooms. And I'm sorry, management, my room (18) was more minute than any other London hotel room I have been in, bar Tune . No excuse for no shelf in the bathroom even though it was too small to dry yourself in, even for me at 5'1". But all this was manageable for 1person, 1night. BUT in the middle of the night the most disgusting smell from the drains. Hydrogen sulphide (bad eggs) so strong it kept me awake. The bathroom smelt pretty bad from arrival - musty stale drain smell - but this night time assault was appalling. I reported at reception next day and they looked surprised and apologised. But I did wonder - if this happens routinely is that why they get you to pay "before midnight" ? Breakfast is greasy as reported here and they say "eggs" plural when it is one. Not that I minded! One big plus: socket next to the bed! Bigger places fail with that. And it is clean. Apart from the drains....

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MrsKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry if you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
We looked at the issue raised with regards to the drains. We have already looked into the problem and it seemed to come from the shower drain which somehow was not allowing the water to rest on the drain and therefore was releasing the smells from the drain.
Unfortunately, we cannot control these issues when they happen but be rest assure that we deal with maintenance problems raised in a prompt manner.
With regards to room size I am afraid that the rooms are in general quite small in London but we offer a great Location and a decent Freshly Cooked English Breakfast in the morning, together with a Bright and Clean Room.
Again my apologies.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Alhambra has the best location and the stuff are SO helpful .
Breakfast has 3 version and you can eat as much as you wish
St. Pancars, King + st. and Oxford street are all walking distance which is another advantage

Room Tip: dont need a tube or bus to get to Oxford street - walk thru the British museum and enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avmr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the recent feedback. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed staying at the alhambra hotel. As a family business for over 40 years, customer service has always been our greatest success. Also we offer a location second to none. Just next to the St.Pancras International Terminal.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good points: Clean, well situated

Bad points: Overpriced, noisy, Room 12 is just behind the reception so you're woken by all the other guests all night. €140 for a room that seemed more like a closet and they don't even provide shampoo or conditioner! Hairdryer wasn't working. The bedclothes are paper-thin. The rooms would need to be a lot cosier to justify the price. It's so basic you feel like you're in a hostel only you're paying hotel rates. Breakfast: burnt toast served by a waitress whose level of English made ordering food difficult. The only reason Alhambra Hotel gets away with such extortionate prices is the location. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We take all comments seriously.
We are sorry to hear you did fully enjoyed your recent stay with us. As a small family run hotel, we do try hard.
We do offer shampoo facilities in every room in the shower room.
Also we have looked into the hairdryer issue and we found no fault with it. The main switch button seemed to be turned off. Our friendly staff would have been happy to assist with this matter or any other issues. We offer a room that is Clean, Bright and a Location that is in the heart of London.
Again my sincere apologies if we have not met yours expectations on this occasion.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton turf, Norwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

very friendly staff - breakfast not too large but adequate. Room clean but small and in an annex across the road - this was not a problem. However it was up 3 flights of stairs with no lift which could be a problem for anyone with restricted mobility Location excellent - 2 minutes from KingsX /St Pancras. Would happily stay again

Room Tip: check stairs if you cannot climb too well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very glad to know that you were satisfied with your stay and about our friendly staff.
With regards to lift facilities we are afraid that it is a listed building and therefore we are not allowed to add a lift, as it would require major internal alterations. Our staff is very helpful so we can always help with luggage if required.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantais vineyard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the second time and I have not been disappointed.
The hotel is pleasant and very clean with a helpful and nice staff.
Although the rooms and bathrooms are a bit small, they are provided with a large range of facilities (wifi, tv, complimentary tray, locker) and the beds are confortable.
Breakfast is served in a basement room which is a bit small so don't wake up too late if you don't want to queue. Breakfast is good and you have a large choice of food.
The location is very convenient, 5 minute's walk from St Pancreas Station, close to public transport and there is a large array of restaurants in the vicinity. I would recommend "the Lounge" an Indian restaurant and O'Neill's , a very good Irish pub.
I would definitely recommend this family-run hotel which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you find us good value for money compared to other London Hotels.
We hope to see you again soon with us...
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerth, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for one night, arriving at Kings Cross Station and leaving next day from St Pancras International. It was great - so near both stations. The reception was very friendly, we asked for a quiet room and that was what we got which is amazing in London. The overall impression is friendly, bright and modern. The room was really very small but we knew that, so that was OK. There was absolutely everything there we needed and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good-cereal, juice, cooked English breakfast, plenty of toast, tea and coffee. We would thoroughly recommend it for a short trip.

Room Tip: Our quiet room was room 2 on the ground floor out the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very glad you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, specially the Breakfast and our friendly and attentive staff.
We are happy to hear that when you come back to London you will consider staying at the Alhambra Hotel again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#370 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing